$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
334 reviews
Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location... See full review

  • Happy Campers I
  • Sep 3, 2013
Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars,... See full review

  • KonnieKatt
  • May 26, 2014
Victorian style, family atmosphere and free breakfast near Union Square

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (334)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
334 out of 334
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old Writer
Sacramento, CA
Feb 2, 2013

Great Old San Francisco Hotel

As a former San Franciscan, I discovered the Beresford about 15 years ago and always stay there when I am in town. Perfect downtown location, clean rooms with a San Francisco feel. Nice staff. Quiet. And the price is unbeatable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Farflyer
Business
City of London, UK
Oct 26, 2011

Pretty good and excellent value for money

The only very minor drawback of this hotel is that there is currently no wi-fi in the rooms and that to get internet access it is necessary to use a room on the ground floor. Otherwise I agree with many other reviewers on this site that it represents really excellent value. The room was good and also quiet, the staff extremely friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast perfectly adequate. Union Square is only minutes away and there is an excellent Italian restaurant within yards. I would stay there again very happily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gollum's friend
Business
Montana
Oct 21, 2011

Good Experience, good value

Room was small and more like a London room, but clean and quiet, staff very courteous and helpful. Location is good, the only improvement might be addition of an in-room coffee maker. I especially enjoyed the included breakfast at the adjacent White Horse Pub. Look for the 19th century pound notes in the corner hutch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If staying for several days consider buying a City Pass, especially for Muni transportation (except BART). Trolley is fun, but lines and wait times can be long. Bus and street rail are more frequent, convenient, and cover a much greater area. Attractions in the pass are also worth seeing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sleepless in San Francsco
Business
Chicago
Sep 11, 2011

Very disappointing stay

One of the draws to this hotel was the relatively low price for parking. Upon arrival, while the rest of my party sat double parked on the street, I ran in to find out about the parking. The desk attendant very rudely told me to park in the garage a few addresses from the hotel. When we parked the attendant gave us a receipt fo have validated by the hotel. Upon check out the clerk validated the receipt and when we presented it to the parking garage, we were told that they did not accommodate guests from this hotel. We wound up paying $35.00 per night. The toilet was broken and was repaired the following day. The floor in the restaurant used for the complimentary breakfast was very sticky. The WIFI only was occasionally accessible. The hotel was very noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
No Fuss Traveler
Business
Woodbury, MN, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Affordable way to see San Francisco

My husband and I stayed at the Beresford Hotel for 4 nights/5 days during our recent trip to San Francisco. We were in room 319 (towards the back of the building). The room was crisp and cool, and we opened the windows during the day, but during the evening shut them as the San Francisco nights are quite cool. Overall our room was very clean and, although it was a bit small, it sufficiently met our needs for rest each evening. The beds were quite comfortable and we felt that the room was a great value for the evening rate compared to other hotels in the area. We were a short walk to the Powell line cable cars (quite fun to ride all the way to fisherman's wharf) and the Union Square shops. There were many restaurants in the area of varying levels (a great burger place around the corner and down the street was a great french restaurant - Le Central). We would recommend the Beresford for a no fuss traveler that is looking for an affordable room with clean, comfortable beds in a convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Getting a Clipper Card will get you access to all of the metro transit, cable car, and BART systems where purchasing a BART or MUNI card will only get you access to a single system. The Clipper Card is the best value and prevents going home with unused funds!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
flojo
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Aug 26, 2011

getting ready for college

I found that the location was great, right near my daughter's school dorm and it was convenient to shopping and restaurants. muni bus service was down the street. I found the hotel interior to be average, bureau missing handles, bathroom was sorely in need of an update. room was small and cramped. staff was very busy, had to wait for service, would probably not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
big craig
Business
sacramento, CA
Aug 7, 2011

affordable for the theater district

great central location, comfortable beds. A lot of ambient noise from a big air conditioning unit on the roof next door, but ear plugs solved the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iowagrrl
Business
Cedar Falls, IA
Aug 5, 2011

Nice, historic hotel

We were in San Francisco to run the marathon. The Beresford is very close to the embarcadero and a Muni stop--great location. The rooms are totally adequate--but if you're used to ginormous Marriott suites, you'll be disappointed--this is a hotel whose room sizes would have been considered generous before Americans got size-crazy. The only weird part was the front desk service was a little weird. Adequate, but the men were functional, not overly friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anamaru
Business
Tijuana, Mexico
Jul 23, 2011

Excellent location, good price

Family vacation for a whole week in San Francisco, the Beresford Hotel is a good option for its price, and excellent location very close to Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, shopping and touristic places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redding, CA
Jul 23, 2011

Great location, cute hotel

We booked a stay for 1 night in SF to see a concert at the Bill Graham auditorium. The hotel is very cute with a British/European feel. Check in was quick and easy. The room was neatly furnished and appropriate for the price. It was also within walking distance of the concert venue. My only complaints are it had a slight musty smell and our room was noisy (it sounded like some sort of machine was running outside our window). There was no view as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stahovey
Business
colorado
Jul 5, 2011

Comfy and in the heart of everything!

We stayed Thurs-Sun over 4th of July weekend. The hotel was clean, comfy and close to everything. Just a few blocks from the Powell BART station - no need to take a shuttle or cab to the airport and also close to the Mason-Powell or Hyde-Powell cable car lines. Because it was few blocks from Union Square we were able to get around the entire city quickly and easily. Tons of stuff to do close by and it was nice having a quick bowl of cereal or a muffin and coffee to start our day. Also the fresh fruit was a nice snack each afternoon - we grabbed a couple of apples for the road each morning! The staff was friendly and helpful and the amenities were clean and nice. Great water pressure too!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the BART to Powell street station....Buy a 3 day MUNI pass at baggage claim at the airport for 21.00. The cable cars are $6.00 PER PERSON one way so the pass pays for itself in the first day!!! We hopped on and off all day as well as the F line streetcar which goes from fisherman's wharf all along market street to Castro district. We also took the #30 stockton bus to the exploratorium...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top