$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
338 out of 338
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
walterd
Hungary
Jan 29, 2013

Nice for city visit

descent hotel with perfect location. It is close to the downtown, China Town and most of the attractiona like Wharf, Golden Gate or park are in close distance. The rooms are small and descent condition. Wifi only available on the first floor, no cabl econnection in the rooms. Breakfast is minimal, some bakery stuff, but it is nice. The value for the price is excellent, it is a cheap hotel with descent service and perfect location. Perfect for city visit for couple of days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

To rent a bicycle in SF is an excellent idea. Visit the Golden Gate recreational Area, ride along the Wharf, ride in the city is perfect time to spend time. There are nice bike rentals in the city everywhere with nice predefined routes. Mybe it is not cheap, but for sure worth for the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BHT4
Business
Danville, CA, USA
Mar 31, 2012

Classes at the Westin

I was very happy with the kind consideration by the staff, location great, and everything was neat and clean. Unfortunately, I was put next to the elevator and heard that going by, but it dropped off as the night went on and was not a big problem. Excellent hotel and stay, but I don't think it would hurt them to have a hair dryer in each room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best lunch, Lefty O'doell's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobby Booshay
Business
Eastbay
Mar 12, 2012

Good place for a night~!

place was a nice location, staff was so so. and wifi was in the lobby only. room was tiny probably the smallest Ive seen...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a parking spot!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobby Booshay
Business
Eastbay
Mar 12, 2012

Good quick place to stay in SF for the night

I liked it, not like the Marriott, but it was still not bad. Wifi only in lobby. And I thought the room was tiny with no view outside basically a wall. But besides that it was fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Find good parking and you can walk to the Close by places. Mall, Chinatown, etc...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Farflyer
Business
City of London, UK
Oct 26, 2011

Pretty good and excellent value for money

The only very minor drawback of this hotel is that there is currently no wi-fi in the rooms and that to get internet access it is necessary to use a room on the ground floor. Otherwise I agree with many other reviewers on this site that it represents really excellent value. The room was good and also quiet, the staff extremely friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast perfectly adequate. Union Square is only minutes away and there is an excellent Italian restaurant within yards. I would stay there again very happily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gollum's friend
Business
Montana
Oct 21, 2011

Good Experience, good value

Room was small and more like a London room, but clean and quiet, staff very courteous and helpful. Location is good, the only improvement might be addition of an in-room coffee maker. I especially enjoyed the included breakfast at the adjacent White Horse Pub. Look for the 19th century pound notes in the corner hutch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If staying for several days consider buying a City Pass, especially for Muni transportation (except BART). Trolley is fun, but lines and wait times can be long. Bus and street rail are more frequent, convenient, and cover a much greater area. Attractions in the pass are also worth seeing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sleepless in San Francsco
Business
Chicago
Sep 11, 2011

Very disappointing stay

One of the draws to this hotel was the relatively low price for parking. Upon arrival, while the rest of my party sat double parked on the street, I ran in to find out about the parking. The desk attendant very rudely told me to park in the garage a few addresses from the hotel. When we parked the attendant gave us a receipt fo have validated by the hotel. Upon check out the clerk validated the receipt and when we presented it to the parking garage, we were told that they did not accommodate guests from this hotel. We wound up paying $35.00 per night. The toilet was broken and was repaired the following day. The floor in the restaurant used for the complimentary breakfast was very sticky. The WIFI only was occasionally accessible. The hotel was very noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
flojo
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Aug 26, 2011

getting ready for college

I found that the location was great, right near my daughter's school dorm and it was convenient to shopping and restaurants. muni bus service was down the street. I found the hotel interior to be average, bureau missing handles, bathroom was sorely in need of an update. room was small and cramped. staff was very busy, had to wait for service, would probably not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
No Fuss Traveler
Business
Woodbury, MN, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Affordable way to see San Francisco

My husband and I stayed at the Beresford Hotel for 4 nights/5 days during our recent trip to San Francisco. We were in room 319 (towards the back of the building). The room was crisp and cool, and we opened the windows during the day, but during the evening shut them as the San Francisco nights are quite cool. Overall our room was very clean and, although it was a bit small, it sufficiently met our needs for rest each evening. The beds were quite comfortable and we felt that the room was a great value for the evening rate compared to other hotels in the area. We were a short walk to the Powell line cable cars (quite fun to ride all the way to fisherman's wharf) and the Union Square shops. There were many restaurants in the area of varying levels (a great burger place around the corner and down the street was a great french restaurant - Le Central). We would recommend the Beresford for a no fuss traveler that is looking for an affordable room with clean, comfortable beds in a convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Getting a Clipper Card will get you access to all of the metro transit, cable car, and BART systems where purchasing a BART or MUNI card will only get you access to a single system. The Clipper Card is the best value and prevents going home with unused funds!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
big craig
Business
sacramento, CA
Aug 7, 2011

affordable for the theater district

great central location, comfortable beds. A lot of ambient noise from a big air conditioning unit on the roof next door, but ear plugs solved the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iowagrrl
Business
Cedar Falls, IA
Aug 5, 2011

Nice, historic hotel

We were in San Francisco to run the marathon. The Beresford is very close to the embarcadero and a Muni stop--great location. The rooms are totally adequate--but if you're used to ginormous Marriott suites, you'll be disappointed--this is a hotel whose room sizes would have been considered generous before Americans got size-crazy. The only weird part was the front desk service was a little weird. Adequate, but the men were functional, not overly friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top