$153 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
363 out of 363
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carl single traveller
Business
Greensboro,North Carolina
Sep 13, 2012

Perfect Location

Have stayed at the Beresford five times over the last six years and have always had a good experience. Much better than staying at one of the larger more expensive hotels in the Union Square area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Shelton Theatre is just two blocks from the Beresfordmand offers a great live theatre experience at a very reasonable ticket price

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Omar H.
Business
Bay Area, CA
Sep 4, 2012

Nice place, awesome location

I enjoyed my stay at the Beresford Hotel in Union Square. The location is AWESOME and cannot be beat. Fot the price, everything was better than expected. Clean rooms, friendly staff and great tenants as well. Easy to find location, a fair rate for valet overnight parking and an enjoyable free breakfast. I recommend this place and I will be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Swig. Great lounge with spectacular drinks and live music/djs.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mother panda
Business
wisconsin
Aug 1, 2012

3 day stay

We spent 3 enjoyable nights at the Beresford. The location was very acccessible to the cable cars and buses. The staff were very helpful and we found their information to be accurate. The morning breakfast was a good start to the day. We appreciated the computer accessibility but think that perhaps a sign could be posted to suggest a time limit for an individual guest. Our only real concern was the window in the bathroom, I believe it is called a jalousie window. It was very drafty in the bathroom and made taking a shower despite the warm water a cold experience. We kept the bathroom door closed most the time to prevent the cold draft from entering the bedroom. Don't understand why this type of window is needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
San Fran Sweethearts
Business
Tennessee
Jul 21, 2012

Nice for a short stay

The architecture is from the early 1900s. We enjoyed that and the cozy pub, the white horse, connected to the hotel lobby. The hotel room including the bathroom was very clean with impressive turn of the twentieth century style new furniture. The carpets were a little worse for the wear but overall it's a nice place for a short stay. Close to cable car line and great shopping. We would recommend this to a friend but with a full disclosure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
heffy
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 12, 2012

Very nice

enjoyed our time at the Beresford Hotel. The service was excellent, our room was clean and comfortable. The location downtown SF was very convenient and the concierge car service was prompt. We were within walking distance from many sites and able to get any necessities that we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Humboldtpat
Business
Trinidad, CA
Jul 4, 2012

fun location in San Francisco

Older hotel with lots of clasic elegance. The room and furniture where clean and comfortable. the room was a little small, and crowded. We had a window overlooking Sutter St. Saturday night had a lot of street sounds form the people partying until the bars closed. Plenty of places to eat near by. Only fault was the hot water would not shut off in the shower; but I fiddled with it and it did stop. Good luck to the next resident! But that was just 1 room, and it was a old hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Orpheum theatre is within 1 mile of the hotel

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robin V.
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
May 26, 2012

Perfect value for money

The Beresford hotel is very reasonably priced for the very central location it has and the complimentary services it offers (such as free breakfast, pcs at disposal with free printing, et cetera).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cliff Y
Business
Burlington, MA
May 25, 2012

Good Location

Walking distance to Union Square, Cable Cars, MUNI and BART. Room was OK considering the price. WiFi only available at 1st floor lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bobby Booshay
Business
Eastbay
May 24, 2012

Cool

needs better views otherwise your looking at walls but it was neat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super P
Business
San Fran
May 14, 2012

Great location!

This was a grand hotel. Had a wonderful time in San Fran thanks to the staff and Beresford Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top