$153 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Baggio
Business
St. Louis, mo
Jul 8, 2010

Disappointed, not worth it

Very small room, the carpet was very dirty, and there was no air-conditioning in the room. The front desk gave us a room next to the elevator, it was so noisy!!!! The street was not quiet neither. In addition, there was no wifi in the room, had to go downstairs. The breakfast was fine. Generally, it's not worthy to stay here. I could found a much better place in union square for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miserables
Business
Colorado
Apr 7, 2013

Six days of Horror

A pathetic experience. They boast about free airport shuttle. But it is not free at all. No internet at room. Even the internet at the lobby is very slow. Breakfast is very ordinary. Overall, it is a nightmare with all false promises. I will never recommend anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Horrible experience!

We called Beresford a head of time to change reservations from twin to double bed and add another night. Was given the okay, but when we got there extra night had been added, but bed request had not been changed. Spent the first night in twin beds. The next morning we had to move to another room with the double bed. The gentleman wanted us to wait until the second room was available around noon to move ourselves in. They finally told us they would move our things to the new room while we were enjoying the city. The faucet in sink would not turn off and the bathroom itself was so small your knees hit the sink when on the toilet. All that would have been something to laugh at had the front desk staff not been unbelievably rude. Had a wonderful time in San Francisco, but the staff at Beresford clearly need to work on their customer service skills!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 21, 2009

Beresford Hotel...not a great experience

I wish I had not booked at this hotel. From the moment i walked in. The staff was pushy and unorganized. I was on vacation and I got very stressed out just checking-in. I had two staff talking to me at once while checking-in. One being pushy about shuttle service from hotel to airport while I was just trying to check-in. Than i got to the room and it was extremely small. I couldn't even pull my bag between the bed and the dresser. There were no outlets, no air conditioning and no space to put any of our luggage. To keep the room "cool" we had to use a fan that was loud. On top of this there was steal stinch in the air that made all my clothes smell. I would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 23, 2008

not happy

Temperatures were over 95 degrees in the city that day, hotel had no air conditioning and room was on first floor, so couldn't safely open the window. Homeless congregating near and around entrance. Front desk clerk doing several things at one time, so no patience with questions. Left and found another hotel nearby, came back for my bags. Front desk didn't care that I was leaving! Later that evening discovered that I had left 2 tops hanging in the closet at the Beresford and called over there. They said there was nothing in the room and housekeeping had gone home. Nothing at the front desk either. It was 24 hours before anyone came up with my tops; again when I went to pick them up, no apologies or comments from clerk - just handed me the package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lori's Diner - great 50s type place to eat. Good food and reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tallmadge
Aug 23, 2008

Once in our room it did ...

Once in our room it did not smell like smoke, but it was recently painted. The windows were painted shut. The room was small and with the fumes, it was noxious. We could not open the window and had to have someone from the front desk (the only nice person we interacted with) came up and forced the window open. Finally we went to use the restroom and there was no soap. So we called front desk again were the man asked why we didn't take it from our previous room. After this statement, I had no hope for a positive stay. The hotel was in a good location, the shower had hot water, breakfast buffet was decent, there were two beds and the one guy at the front desk was great. On the flip side, there were only the main 5 channels on tv, the bed was uncomfortable, the window had no screen, there was no fan, the main desk clerk was incredibly rude, etc. Your call, but good luck if you do go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a couple great neighborhoods close by, the museum and plenty of shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sleepless in SF
Business
San Fransisco, East union square
Jun 29, 2009

Won't be on my fab five list

We came to enjoy a fabulous play "Wicked" great show, great city, terrible hotel and stay. Check-in was terrible the clerk was coughing and sneezing all over. Made no apologies. Room was tiny, bathroom was even smaller, I could brush my teeth, wash my feet while sitting on the toilet. Don't get me started on the noise. At one point I was woken up with a person standing on my fire escape. Grant it no air condition or ventilation in the room thus, the window was open to the entire street traffic, sidewalk and oh yes, the visiting person on the fire escape. No apologies from the hotel at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MsTiggerlicious
Business
Turlock, CA
Jun 29, 2009

YUCKY!!!!

There was no air conditioning in the room and had to open the window and to me it wasn't safe. The smells of the rooms and the hotel was like it was really OLD. It took almost 30 minutes for our truck to be brought around from the Valet Service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family Vacation Planner
Business
St. Louis, MO
Mar 3, 2009

Total mispresentation

The rooms were not as representated. They were small, had torn shades, worn spreads and broken and mismatached furniture. It looked like it was furnished from motel salvage. The sink in the bath wouldn't drain and there was no hot water in the shower (no tub). We asked to be moved and looked at 4 rooms, all were the same. We asked to see the room pictured in the phamplet at the front desk and were told that those rooms did not exist in this hotel. The only positive was the location which was excellent - 2 blocks from Union Square. When we complained at the front desk, we were told, "What did you expect for the price?" We've never been burned like this in 7 years of staying at Orbitz hotels. We will really investigate further in the future though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Every dining experience you could imagine was within a short walk. Sitting in the plaza of Union Square was lovely. It's great for people watching.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Aug 21, 2009

Worst Experience EVER. DONT STAY HERE

This was one of the worst experiences with a hotel i have ever had. First off they changed our reservation from 2 beds to 1 bed (still don't know why), and then couldn't put us in a different room because they were all booked up. Our TV was broken, and only 1 of 4 lights in the room worked. They made us use their overpriced valet parking, and then the valet driver stole things from our rental car. I had to sleep on the floor, which affected my job the next day due to my back hurting and being upset that i had to sleep on the floor. The worst part was the service, as after telling them how upset i was that they changed our reservation they laughed in our faces. The Beresford is not a hotel that should be used by people who expect what they pay for, because we did not get what we payed for. Even worse is that i sat on the phone for 2 hours with Orbitz and the hotel the next day trying to receive some sort of comensation, and only to both of them blaming the problems on each other, ultimately shafting me having to pay for the WORST HOTEL STAY IN MY LIFE. It has been 4 days of me waiting for Orbitz to return my call, and i can honestly say that if i am not treated fairly like a longtime customer should, not only will i never stay at the Beresford (a given), but i will no longer continue to use Orbitz, because they need to regulate more on the hotels they do business with. HORRIBLE STAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't stay here, or ask them for help, because every hotel person we dealt with had a serious attitude and made me felt like i shouldn't be asking them to do their jobs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top