Beresford Hotel

2 stars
635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
369 reviews
Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location... See full review

  • Happy Campers I
  • Sep 3, 2013
Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars,... See full review

  • KonnieKatt
  • May 26, 2014
Victorian style, family atmosphere and free breakfast near Union Square

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Hotel Map

37.7887 -122.4109
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International and (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
Located near Powell Street Cable Car, China Town, theaters, shopping, dining, museums, galleries and nightclubs.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (369)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
369 out of 369
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 30, 2007

friendly

Although the rooms seem to be small and air condition isn't used the staff in this hotel are very hospitable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

near the Philippines consulate only a short walk away from dining and shopping at Union Sq.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Darwin
USA
May 22, 2007

Good Value, Good Location

Room was comfortable, although small. Conveniently located to pretty much everything in downtown San Francisco, close to all methods of transportation, Chinatown, shopping, two blocks from Union Square with many restaurants in the area. Stall was very friendly and helpful. Amenities are basic but hotel is a good value for the money, I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus stop across the street from the hotel. Short walk to market street you can catch the cable cars and trollies.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
franklin
USA
May 18, 2007

My review of Beresford Hotel

Good faily central location. Front desk slow and confused at check in. Oaky at check out and seemed helpful. Good continental breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Apr 29, 2007

It's the Location

This hotel suited me because I knew it was the location I wanted. (Near Union Square) I could walk to museums, galleries, shops and restaurants. It was also close to public transportation. I found the staff friendly; they recommended a local coffee shop (which I preferred) instead of a chain. The breakfast (included) was ample for me; fresh fruit*, coffee and cereal. There was also juice, decaf, milk and pastries. (*bananas, oranges, apples, strawberries) The room was small. It would be crowded for two, and a little noisy, being on the front, and, as there was no air conditioning, the window was open. I could have changed to a room in the back, but I live in the city and preferred the noise to looking at an air shaft or alley. There was a fan in the closet if needed. I mentioned the room size to the staff and they said they had a sister hotel (The Beresford Arms on Post) about a block or two away that cost a little more. I was going to check it out for the future but didn't.) I did check out a couple hotels nearby and found them a lot more expensive for a little more in amenities. I would stay there again. If I went with a friend two rooms here is less expensive than sharing a double somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Maiden Lane is charming. Many designer shops here for looking. Westfield Center is close by with Nordstroms and Bloomingdale's, and many smaller stores, and also a food court. I prefer the many nearby restaurants. My last dinner was at a coffee shop with excellent lasagne and salad.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 22, 2007

What a mess!!!

The Beresford Hotel was not too cozy. The room was tiny with TWO tiny little twin size beds that we barely fit on. Our room had NO A/C, and it stunk like it had not been cleaned. Our stay was just not very pleasant. Literally, our room was the size of a closet, and we could barely stand in the bathroom. The location was farely decent...right near the shopping and sights; as well as the Trolly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of night clubs right near the hotel; as well as the huge Westfield shopping center. Lots of convenience stores and the Trolly and bus. Many restaurants nearby as well.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Georgann
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 14, 2007

Great City Experience

The location of the Beresford Hotel was the key selling point. The urban experience, accessability to downtown and the availability of public transportation were things I appreciated. The breakfast was a welcomed amenity. The room was small, but clean and serviced well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is a short walk and the cable car runs right by the nearest corner.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Swiss Guys in the US
Basel, Schweiz
Sep 15, 2013

OK, aber kein WIFI und teures Parking

Wir haben uns für dieses Hotel entschieden, weil es günstig und an einer guten Lage war. Und das bekamen wir auch: anständiges Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis an der besten Lage der Stadt. Das Hotel war OK für den Preis, hatte aber einige Mängel: - Das Duschfenster war kaputt und deshalb die ganze Zeit halb geöffnet (Lärm und Kälte im Zimmer) - Kein WIFI im Zimmer - Parking musste man zusätzlich bezahlen und war glaube ich über 30$ pro Nacht Aber wir hatten ja auch nichts anderes erwartet für diesen Preis und waren deshalb zufrieden mit dem Hotel. Es war aber das schlechteste auf unserem dreiwöchigen Trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter N
Austria
Sep 4, 2013

Hotel in guter Lage mit einer super Kneipe

Ein gutes Mittelklassehotel in einer sehr attraktiven Lage nur zwei Blocks von Union Square entfernt. Die sehr schöne Pub bietet uA Trumer Pils um 4 $ an. Das Frühstück is inkludiert und für US Verhältnisse nicht schlecht. Ruhige Zimmer vorhanden.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macys & Co...

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julien0801
toulouse, france
Dec 3, 2012

Great location

We stayed one week at the hotel in November 2012. PROS: - greatest location closed to union square and market street (all bus & subways reachable under only 5min walk !) - Nice staff - breakfast included (mainly muffins, orange juce, coffe) - No internet in the room, but free wireless internet in the lobby. CONS: - We got a small room (the smallest I have ever seen!). I was very disappointed. - Not cheap room. - sometimes a bit noisy (noise from the street) but quite OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Seven Eleven and Wallgreens very closed to buy cheap lunch or dinner (sandwiches)

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pierrot19
Boussy-Saint-Antoine, France
Jan 17, 2012

Pas si Mal

Hôtel pas très bien Équipé et fort bruit de clim la nuit. Vitre simple vitrage à 2 m des caisson clim.... Petit Déjeuner Moyen. Personnel serviable et située à 4 min du centre ville à pied et des Cable Car. Bref si le prix vous va et que vous pensez passer plus de temps dehors que à l'intérieur ça ira.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Laissez votre voiture au voiturier de l’hôtel ... ça coute un peu d'argent mais le parking à SF dur d'éviter la fourrière ou amende.

Back to menu Return to top