$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
walterd
Hungary
Jan 29, 2013

Nice for city visit

descent hotel with perfect location. It is close to the downtown, China Town and most of the attractiona like Wharf, Golden Gate or park are in close distance. The rooms are small and descent condition. Wifi only available on the first floor, no cabl econnection in the rooms. Breakfast is minimal, some bakery stuff, but it is nice. The value for the price is excellent, it is a cheap hotel with descent service and perfect location. Perfect for city visit for couple of days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

To rent a bicycle in SF is an excellent idea. Visit the Golden Gate recreational Area, ride along the Wharf, ride in the city is perfect time to spend time. There are nice bike rentals in the city everywhere with nice predefined routes. Mybe it is not cheap, but for sure worth for the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 8, 2007

Great location

This hotel was a great location - just a couple blocks to Union Square and Chinatown. Very friendly staff. Old hotel - kind of thin walls and the beds were kind of uncomfortable. But, good for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

cable car line

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jamel
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 26, 2007

Great Value

Friendly and helpful staff, clean room, free breakfast, great location. I have no complaints. Great place to stay if you're traveling on a budget, or if you would just rather spend your money on something other than an expensive hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square, Mall, Restuarants, Public Transportation: Bus, cable car, and bart

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Sep 22, 2007

Very friendly and helpful staff

The Beresford Hotel in San Francisco was in a wonderful location, within walking distance to Union Square, China Town, Cable cars & many dining choices. One of the best meals we had was at the White Horse which is the restaurant at the Beresford. The hotel itself is very well kept and very attractive inside with a quaint, antique type atmosphere. Our room and bath facilities were kept very clean by the housekeeping staff. Our only complaint would be that there is no air conditioning in the hotel and we found that to be quite uncomfort- able. We had to open the window, which made it quite noisy at night from the street traffic. Also, it would be nice if they had a separate vanity area outside of the bathroom. Overall we would definitely consider staying at the Beresford again it they would install air conditioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1. If you eat at the White Horse Cafe, try the Crab Cake appetizer and for your entree try the Filet Mignon with Mashed potatoes and seasonal vegetables, both are wonderful and very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Sep 22, 2007

Very friendly and helpful staff

The Beresford Hotel in San Francisco was in a wonderful location, within walking distance to Union Square, China Town, Cable cars & many dining choices. One of the best meals we had was at the White Horse which is the restaurant at the Beresford. The hotel itself is very well kept and very attractive inside with a quaint, antique type atmosphere. Our room and bath facilities were kept very clean by the housekeeping staff. Our only complaint would be that there is no air conditioning in the hotel and we found that to be quite uncomfort- able. We had to open the window, which made it quite noisy at night from the street traffic. Also, it would be nice if they had a separate vanity area outside of the bathroom. Overall we would definitely consider staying at the Beresford again it they would install air conditioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1. If you eat at the White Horse Cafe, try the Crab Cake appetizer and for your entree try the Filet Mignon with Mashed potatoes and seasonal vegetables, both are wonderful and very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Sep 12, 2007

Beresford A+

The Beresford Hotel is an excellent choice for a trip to San Francisco. The room was small, but very clean and comfortable. It's right in the heart of SF and within walking distance to many of the touristy things. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Beresford is just up the hill a couple of blocks from Union Square, where you can find all the good shops!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Sep 2, 2007

good bargain/location

Considering the age of the hotel, it was in fairly good condition, but we missed a few amenities taken for granted in newer facilities, i.e. hair dryers, air conditioning. Room was small, however, it was a cozy room, with excellent accessibility to most downtown attractions and dining. The restaurant was charming and good food for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Near to many style restaurants within a two block area. Also close to cable care line to Fisherman's Wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, CA
Sep 1, 2007

Great Older Hotel

My stay was for three nights, The room was an end unit with two windows and was a delight to have the nice breeze coming through the windows.... the room was clean and neat, the hotel staff were very helpful, and the continental breakfast was great! I would recommend this hotel to everyone. It even had a computer downstairs for guests to use.......... The only drawback of all Hotels in San Francisco is the parking... This hotel's parking is aprox. 6 blocks away and cost $26.00 a day....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 26, 2007

location was the key

Good price for the central location. Nothing wrong with the room or the place in general. It was in good repair. Continental breakfast worth passing up. Go the 60's style diner down the street instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 26, 2007

location was the key

Good price for the central location. Nothing wrong with the room or the place in general. It was in good repair. Continental breakfast worth passing up. Go the 60's style diner down the street instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 21, 2007

This is Not a Chain

The Beresford Hotel in San Francisco is not your normal chain hotel. There is no spa or fitness room, but it is very comfortable, clean, and offers great service. People from all over the world were staying in this quaint Victorian style hotel. The rooms are not large, but it does have a closet and full bath. It was also nice having a refrigerator because I am a left-over type of person and we also love our cold beverages. It is conveniently located on Sutter Street between Taylor and Mason. We had super easy access to buses, cable care and street cars. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top