$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 3, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
363 out of 363
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Dec 17, 2007

a decent place to stay

The hotel is a small turn of the century structure, small and quit, walking distance to the city center and transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are many fine restaurants around the hotel.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 8, 2007

Great location

This hotel was a great location - just a couple blocks to Union Square and Chinatown. Very friendly staff. Old hotel - kind of thin walls and the beds were kind of uncomfortable. But, good for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

cable car line

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jamel
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 26, 2007

Great Value

Friendly and helpful staff, clean room, free breakfast, great location. I have no complaints. Great place to stay if you're traveling on a budget, or if you would just rather spend your money on something other than an expensive hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square, Mall, Restuarants, Public Transportation: Bus, cable car, and bart

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Sep 22, 2007

Very friendly and helpful staff

The Beresford Hotel in San Francisco was in a wonderful location, within walking distance to Union Square, China Town, Cable cars & many dining choices. One of the best meals we had was at the White Horse which is the restaurant at the Beresford. The hotel itself is very well kept and very attractive inside with a quaint, antique type atmosphere. Our room and bath facilities were kept very clean by the housekeeping staff. Our only complaint would be that there is no air conditioning in the hotel and we found that to be quite uncomfort- able. We had to open the window, which made it quite noisy at night from the street traffic. Also, it would be nice if they had a separate vanity area outside of the bathroom. Overall we would definitely consider staying at the Beresford again it they would install air conditioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1. If you eat at the White Horse Cafe, try the Crab Cake appetizer and for your entree try the Filet Mignon with Mashed potatoes and seasonal vegetables, both are wonderful and very reasonably priced.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Sep 22, 2007

Very friendly and helpful staff

The Beresford Hotel in San Francisco was in a wonderful location, within walking distance to Union Square, China Town, Cable cars & many dining choices. One of the best meals we had was at the White Horse which is the restaurant at the Beresford. The hotel itself is very well kept and very attractive inside with a quaint, antique type atmosphere. Our room and bath facilities were kept very clean by the housekeeping staff. Our only complaint would be that there is no air conditioning in the hotel and we found that to be quite uncomfort- able. We had to open the window, which made it quite noisy at night from the street traffic. Also, it would be nice if they had a separate vanity area outside of the bathroom. Overall we would definitely consider staying at the Beresford again it they would install air conditioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1. If you eat at the White Horse Cafe, try the Crab Cake appetizer and for your entree try the Filet Mignon with Mashed potatoes and seasonal vegetables, both are wonderful and very reasonably priced.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Sep 12, 2007

Beresford A+

The Beresford Hotel is an excellent choice for a trip to San Francisco. The room was small, but very clean and comfortable. It's right in the heart of SF and within walking distance to many of the touristy things. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Beresford is just up the hill a couple of blocks from Union Square, where you can find all the good shops!

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Sep 2, 2007

good bargain/location

Considering the age of the hotel, it was in fairly good condition, but we missed a few amenities taken for granted in newer facilities, i.e. hair dryers, air conditioning. Room was small, however, it was a cozy room, with excellent accessibility to most downtown attractions and dining. The restaurant was charming and good food for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Near to many style restaurants within a two block area. Also close to cable care line to Fisherman's Wharf.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, CA
Sep 1, 2007

Great Older Hotel

My stay was for three nights, The room was an end unit with two windows and was a delight to have the nice breeze coming through the windows.... the room was clean and neat, the hotel staff were very helpful, and the continental breakfast was great! I would recommend this hotel to everyone. It even had a computer downstairs for guests to use.......... The only drawback of all Hotels in San Francisco is the parking... This hotel's parking is aprox. 6 blocks away and cost $26.00 a day....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 26, 2007

location was the key

Good price for the central location. Nothing wrong with the room or the place in general. It was in good repair. Continental breakfast worth passing up. Go the 60's style diner down the street instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 26, 2007

location was the key

Good price for the central location. Nothing wrong with the room or the place in general. It was in good repair. Continental breakfast worth passing up. Go the 60's style diner down the street instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top