$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 24, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 18, 2008

Great Value for Location

Its an old hotel and the rooms are small and not sparkling, but the value is great. The staff is friendly and helpful. If you're looking for a no frills room that's clean with a nice continental breakfast and very close to downtown (2 blocks from Union Square shopping, dinning, and transportation) then this is a nice little spot. No hairdrier or air conditioning, but a mini fridge and iron in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Domenica
Business
Newark, NJ
Feb 14, 2008

Service and amenities

Overall the Beresford hotel room was clean and comfortable. Even though I did not have dinner at the hotel, I must say the free breakfast buffe was rich, healthy and delightful. Even though the computer room was small and the maintance was OK, I did get internet service. Thus, the service was satisfating. Mostly, important, the Beresford Hotel is located in a area where you can actually walk to China Town, Union Square, and other known places. And if you need to commute trams and trains are close by the hotel. Indeed, I would recommend this hotel to friends and acquaintants. Best of fun to the next person who choses the Beresford hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is about three blocks from the hotel, about 10 min walk. Here you find shopping centers, nightlife, dining places of all kind. Then, if you want to move further out you can just get on the train which is about four blocks away from the hotel, about a 15 minute walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 14, 2008

decent

Older very basic hotel. Room was okay- kinda had a funny smell. Not a hotel to hang out in the room in. Glad we were seeing the city most of the time. Overall- it wasn't horrible for how cheap it was- but id probably fork out the extra cash next time. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

very central location- we ended up taking public transportation everywhere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snoogle
Business
Canton/Akron, OH
Feb 13, 2008

My review of Beresford Hotel

The Bersford Hotel is a charming,serene,turn of the century(1900)establishment. This unpretentious hotel is located three blocks down from Nob Hill and just a bit further down to Market Street with all kinds of shopping in between. The staff was friendly and most accomidating. They seemed truly interested in the adventures of our days. The hotel offers a continental breakfast to all guests. Fruit,cereal,coffee,tea,juices,pastries were among the foods laid out. (We had a friend meeting us and asked what it would cost for them to join us for breakfast. The frontdesk person seemed hurt that we would ask and assured us that our friend was welcome at no cost!) We were given excellent advice and directions for dining and sightseeing. We enjoyed our stay and the Beresford and would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Beresford is located a short walkin distance from Saks,Bloomingdales,Tiffany,Cartier,the May Co.,William Sonoma, and many more. In addition, the hotel is one block from the cable car line and bus line connecting all over San Francisco. Chinatown begins about 8 blocks down the hill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 8, 2008

Great Location

This was our first trip to San Fran and found the hotel to be more than adequate. The location is perfect -- easy to get to transportation and most sights from the hotel. The on site restaurant was great. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. It is an old hotel with smaller rooms than the new ones, but clean and adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 3, 2008

walking distance froom any thing

the enployes werenot very talkative and my room was to small. Other wise it is the area a need to be for work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 3, 2008

walking distance froom any thing

the enployes werenot very talkative and my room was to small. Other wise it is the area a need to be for work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Feb 2, 2008

very friendly environment for families and business aswell

I was very happy staying in the hotel, it was fun, and also right in downtown, the hotel looks like an old hotel, but it is really well maintained, and adds to the city style. it is not a huge hotel, but it gives it the more familiar feeling, so I liked it, I would recommend it to friends and family, it was not too expensive either, and have breakfast incl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is a few blocks from the entrance to china town, and walk distance from many nice restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 2, 2008

Good location, small rooms

The Beresford Hotel was in a prime location in downtown San Francisco Union Square neighborhood. It was convenient to walk to nearby attractions, but parking was minimal and the rooms were really small and the walls too thin. We could hear our neighbors the entire time we were in our rooms. The double rooms only came with twin beds, versus full or queens in most other hotels. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel to guests due to the size of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to Cable Car pick up and Union Square Mall...good shopping!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Dec 17, 2007

a decent place to stay

The hotel is a small turn of the century structure, small and quit, walking distance to the city center and transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are many fine restaurants around the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top