$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
334 reviews
Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location... See full review

  • Happy Campers I
  • Sep 3, 2013
Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars,... See full review

  • KonnieKatt
  • May 26, 2014
Victorian style, family atmosphere and free breakfast near Union Square

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (334)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
334 out of 334
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Siegmar
Not Provided
Jun 22, 2011

The room in the hotel was small

The room in the hotel was small , but one gets used to it. It was need and compact and clean, right in the middle of Hollywood. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 14, 2008

decent

Older very basic hotel. Room was okay- kinda had a funny smell. Not a hotel to hang out in the room in. Glad we were seeing the city most of the time. Overall- it wasn't horrible for how cheap it was- but id probably fork out the extra cash next time. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

very central location- we ended up taking public transportation everywhere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snoogle
Business
Canton/Akron, OH
Feb 13, 2008

My review of Beresford Hotel

The Bersford Hotel is a charming,serene,turn of the century(1900)establishment. This unpretentious hotel is located three blocks down from Nob Hill and just a bit further down to Market Street with all kinds of shopping in between. The staff was friendly and most accomidating. They seemed truly interested in the adventures of our days. The hotel offers a continental breakfast to all guests. Fruit,cereal,coffee,tea,juices,pastries were among the foods laid out. (We had a friend meeting us and asked what it would cost for them to join us for breakfast. The frontdesk person seemed hurt that we would ask and assured us that our friend was welcome at no cost!) We were given excellent advice and directions for dining and sightseeing. We enjoyed our stay and the Beresford and would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Beresford is located a short walkin distance from Saks,Bloomingdales,Tiffany,Cartier,the May Co.,William Sonoma, and many more. In addition, the hotel is one block from the cable car line and bus line connecting all over San Francisco. Chinatown begins about 8 blocks down the hill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 8, 2008

Great Location

This was our first trip to San Fran and found the hotel to be more than adequate. The location is perfect -- easy to get to transportation and most sights from the hotel. The on site restaurant was great. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. It is an old hotel with smaller rooms than the new ones, but clean and adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 3, 2008

walking distance froom any thing

the enployes werenot very talkative and my room was to small. Other wise it is the area a need to be for work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Feb 2, 2008

very friendly environment for families and business aswell

I was very happy staying in the hotel, it was fun, and also right in downtown, the hotel looks like an old hotel, but it is really well maintained, and adds to the city style. it is not a huge hotel, but it gives it the more familiar feeling, so I liked it, I would recommend it to friends and family, it was not too expensive either, and have breakfast incl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is a few blocks from the entrance to china town, and walk distance from many nice restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 2, 2008

Good location, small rooms

The Beresford Hotel was in a prime location in downtown San Francisco Union Square neighborhood. It was convenient to walk to nearby attractions, but parking was minimal and the rooms were really small and the walls too thin. We could hear our neighbors the entire time we were in our rooms. The double rooms only came with twin beds, versus full or queens in most other hotels. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel to guests due to the size of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to Cable Car pick up and Union Square Mall...good shopping!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Dec 17, 2007

a decent place to stay

The hotel is a small turn of the century structure, small and quit, walking distance to the city center and transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are many fine restaurants around the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 8, 2007

Great location

This hotel was a great location - just a couple blocks to Union Square and Chinatown. Very friendly staff. Old hotel - kind of thin walls and the beds were kind of uncomfortable. But, good for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

cable car line

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jamel
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 26, 2007

Great Value

Friendly and helpful staff, clean room, free breakfast, great location. I have no complaints. Great place to stay if you're traveling on a budget, or if you would just rather spend your money on something other than an expensive hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square, Mall, Restuarants, Public Transportation: Bus, cable car, and bart

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Sep 22, 2007

Very friendly and helpful staff

The Beresford Hotel in San Francisco was in a wonderful location, within walking distance to Union Square, China Town, Cable cars & many dining choices. One of the best meals we had was at the White Horse which is the restaurant at the Beresford. The hotel itself is very well kept and very attractive inside with a quaint, antique type atmosphere. Our room and bath facilities were kept very clean by the housekeeping staff. Our only complaint would be that there is no air conditioning in the hotel and we found that to be quite uncomfort- able. We had to open the window, which made it quite noisy at night from the street traffic. Also, it would be nice if they had a separate vanity area outside of the bathroom. Overall we would definitely consider staying at the Beresford again it they would install air conditioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1. If you eat at the White Horse Cafe, try the Crab Cake appetizer and for your entree try the Filet Mignon with Mashed potatoes and seasonal vegetables, both are wonderful and very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top