$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 23, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
May 3, 2008

OK for a quick trip

The room was clean and the staff was pleasant but furniture and bedding in the room was very outdated and run-down. The street outside our window was really noisy on Saturday morning with a large trash track driving by slowly for about an hour. The location next to Union square was fantastic, we found it easy to get around without a car using the BART to get to the airport, the trolley to get to tourist spots and found several restaurants, bars and clubs that we liked within walking distance. I think this would be an okay place to stay if you weren't planning on staying in the room except to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

1.Biscuits and Blues Jazz Club, good food, fun crowd and great music! 2. Ruby Skye was great for after hours. We payed cover and had our hands stamped then went to see a show and when we returned, we didn't have to wait in line. Check with the bouncers first though!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 27, 2008

Family Friendly

The hotel was close to Time Square and Chinatown, great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to local shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Apr 14, 2008

Nice Staff and good location

The Beresford Hotel was very nice if you like staying in older Historical buildings. The staff was very friendly and helpful with any request. One night when we got back late we discovered the TV wasn't working. The staff offered to move us to another room right away. There were plenty of Restaurants within walking distance along with the visitor center and the Cable Car turnaround. We had no problem getting to the other parts of the city. If you drive the Hotel had Valet parking for an additional $24 a day. It was well worth it. We just had to call the front desk and they would call when our car had arrived. A very good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good Italian place just up the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 6, 2008

Good, inexpensive choice

The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. The continental breakfast offered lots of fresh fruit, dry cereal and pastries. My room was small as others have noted. It was quiet and clean. The bathroom was tiny. Neighborhood can feel a little deserted after dark if you're alone but it's only 2 blocks to the cable car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Sq. shopping - 3 blks. Buy a daily Muni pass ($11 covers all city transit). Ride cable car, 2 blks away, to Fisherman's Wharf then old trolleys along the Embarcadero. Stop at Ferry Building for great cheese, bread and lunch outside. Choose cable car, trolley, bus or BART back up the hill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Mar 28, 2008

Great location and value

The Beresford Hotel was a great base for our family vacation to San Francisco. Although the rooms were small, we were barely in them due to sight seeing. The Hotel was centrally located to all public transit. The staff were friendly. We traveled with our four children ages 8, 6, 4, and 2, and my mother. Needless to say, if the hotel endured our family, and we felt welcomed and staff were helpful, then this hotel gets our repeat business!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was two blocks from the cable car stops!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Redgie2u
Business
Saginaw, MI
Mar 28, 2008

Great location

Nice retro hotel for lovers of 1800 feel hotels. The location is perfect for your SF excursions. Close to public transportation which will whip you around town. Dont use a car to go here since parking is scares and the hotel has none, not to mention traficed is dense. Great price/quality value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a day pass for the muni system, reserve Alcatraz visit a head of time if you like to go there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 27, 2008

Bset Bet on Sutter St

The Beresford was excellently located, the old western ornate gives it a stand out look, the staff ever mindful and the shuttle service was ever present, the complimentry breakfast was the best I ever had!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The pirrah restaraunt and a Uniun Square at your footstep made for memorable mornings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
myunghwa
Business
USA
Mar 18, 2008

very convenience

very convenience transportation. easy shopping (near a lot of shopping mall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 14, 2008

great location

The hotel is perfect for walking to everything. It's near great restaurants,shopping in Union Square and close to the bus line and trolly. The rooms are small but very clean and the staff is most helpful. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

One can take the Bart from the airport and walk to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 7, 2008

Small, Friendly, Well Situated Hotel

The Beresford Hotel is a quiet remnant of the San Francisco of old. Although not updated, the hotel is kept immaculate and is situated in the heart of San Francisco. Great restaurants and bars are everywhere in the neighborhood. Very friendly staff. Powerful showers. At the very fair price charged, it's a charming little option in San Fran. Don't bring a car! As in most of the city, parking is outrageously expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the little bar right beside the building. Classic old school San Fran.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top