$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
602 reviews
Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location... See full review

  • Happy Campers I
  • Sep 3, 2013
Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars,... See full review

  • KonnieKatt
  • May 26, 2014
Victorian style, family atmosphere and free breakfast near Union Square

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7887 -122.4109
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International and (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
Located near Powell Street Cable Car, China Town, theaters, shopping, dining, museums, galleries and nightclubs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (602)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
602 out of 602
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bakersfield, ca
Aug 21, 2009

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

We ordered a room and bed for 3 peopel, there was room for 2 peopel only

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Aug 21, 2009

Worst Experience EVER. DONT STAY HERE

This was one of the worst experiences with a hotel i have ever had. First off they changed our reservation from 2 beds to 1 bed (still don't know why), and then couldn't put us in a different room because they were all booked up. Our TV was broken, and only 1 of 4 lights in the room worked. They made us use their overpriced valet parking, and then the valet driver stole things from our rental car. I had to sleep on the floor, which affected my job the next day due to my back hurting and being upset that i had to sleep on the floor. The worst part was the service, as after telling them how upset i was that they changed our reservation they laughed in our faces. The Beresford is not a hotel that should be used by people who expect what they pay for, because we did not get what we payed for. Even worse is that i sat on the phone for 2 hours with Orbitz and the hotel the next day trying to receive some sort of comensation, and only to both of them blaming the problems on each other, ultimately shafting me having to pay for the WORST HOTEL STAY IN MY LIFE. It has been 4 days of me waiting for Orbitz to return my call, and i can honestly say that if i am not treated fairly like a longtime customer should, not only will i never stay at the Beresford (a given), but i will no longer continue to use Orbitz, because they need to regulate more on the hotels they do business with. HORRIBLE STAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't stay here, or ask them for help, because every hotel person we dealt with had a serious attitude and made me felt like i shouldn't be asking them to do their jobs

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bakersfield, ca
Aug 21, 2009

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

We ordered a room and bed for 3 peopel, there was room for 2 peopel only

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Aug 21, 2009

Worst Experience EVER. DONT STAY HERE

This was one of the worst experiences with a hotel i have ever had. First off they changed our reservation from 2 beds to 1 bed (still don't know why), and then couldn't put us in a different room because they were all booked up. Our TV was broken, and only 1 of 4 lights in the room worked. They made us use their overpriced valet parking, and then the valet driver stole things from our rental car. I had to sleep on the floor, which affected my job the next day due to my back hurting and being upset that i had to sleep on the floor. The worst part was the service, as after telling them how upset i was that they changed our reservation they laughed in our faces. The Beresford is not a hotel that should be used by people who expect what they pay for, because we did not get what we payed for. Even worse is that i sat on the phone for 2 hours with Orbitz and the hotel the next day trying to receive some sort of comensation, and only to both of them blaming the problems on each other, ultimately shafting me having to pay for the WORST HOTEL STAY IN MY LIFE. It has been 4 days of me waiting for Orbitz to return my call, and i can honestly say that if i am not treated fairly like a longtime customer should, not only will i never stay at the Beresford (a given), but i will no longer continue to use Orbitz, because they need to regulate more on the hotels they do business with. HORRIBLE STAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't stay here, or ask them for help, because every hotel person we dealt with had a serious attitude and made me felt like i shouldn't be asking them to do their jobs

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caete
Fresno, CA
Aug 20, 2009

Loved the hotel

My hotel room was in the front, 5th floor. No noise from the next room, some noise from the hall, street usually quiet. Comfortable bed, clean room. The carpet color made it look old at first glance but it's new & clean. If you're wider than 2' in more than 1 direction you won't fit through the shower door. The shower itself is full-size inside. Rooms a little small, but not claustrophobic. They probably used some space to add (tiny) en-suite bathrooms. The building is old but well maintained. I loved it and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi, Italian, American... just walk a few blocks in either direction and you'll find food to fit your mood. Seven blocks uphill from the Greyhound Station, pack light or take the tram.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caete
Fresno, CA
Aug 20, 2009

Loved the hotel

My hotel room was in the front, 5th floor. No noise from the next room, some noise from the hall, street usually quiet. Comfortable bed, clean room. The carpet color made it look old at first glance but it's new & clean. If you're wider than 2' in more than 1 direction you won't fit through the shower door. The shower itself is full-size inside. Rooms a little small, but not claustrophobic. They probably used some space to add (tiny) en-suite bathrooms. The building is old but well maintained. I loved it and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi, Italian, American... just walk a few blocks in either direction and you'll find food to fit your mood. Seven blocks uphill from the Greyhound Station, pack light or take the tram.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
CA
Aug 17, 2009

nice laste minute getaway

Great location, close to Union Square and easy to reach. Only thing I missed was wireless in rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, AZ
Aug 17, 2009

Great for the price

We booked this place mainly because of the price. We figured that since we would only needed a place to lay our heads it wouldn't matter where we stayed. We were pleasantly surprised to find out that we were just 2 blocks away from the cable car, union square and 3 blocks from the entrance to Chinatown. The hotel is also near major bus lines, the metro-rail and BART. There was a restaurant in every direction we walked, so there are plenty of choices for eating near the hotel. The accommodations are very retro and they actually give you a real key for your room and not cards. The front desk staff was generally helpful, except one guy was trying harder to push a city tour on us than to help us. The happy hour special was get a free appetizer with a drink purchase, great and cheap! However, skip the continental breakfast and walk up the street to Sugar Cafe or down the street to Cesario or Perssimon for breakfast. Overall, a great stay for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase a 1-day, 3-day or 7-day pass for unlimited rides on cable cars, MUNI bus system and MUNI metro-rail. We bought the 3-day pass for $18. Way cheaper than paying $5 for a one-way ride on the cable car. Also, during the high season be prepared for either a long wait time for the cable car or to walk a few blocks before catching a cable car because it is sooooo crowded.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
CA
Aug 17, 2009

nice laste minute getaway

Great location, close to Union Square and easy to reach. Only thing I missed was wireless in rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, AZ
Aug 17, 2009

Great for the price

We booked this place mainly because of the price. We figured that since we would only needed a place to lay our heads it wouldn't matter where we stayed. We were pleasantly surprised to find out that we were just 2 blocks away from the cable car, union square and 3 blocks from the entrance to Chinatown. The hotel is also near major bus lines, the metro-rail and BART. There was a restaurant in every direction we walked, so there are plenty of choices for eating near the hotel. The accommodations are very retro and they actually give you a real key for your room and not cards. The front desk staff was generally helpful, except one guy was trying harder to push a city tour on us than to help us. The happy hour special was get a free appetizer with a drink purchase, great and cheap! However, skip the continental breakfast and walk up the street to Sugar Cafe or down the street to Cesario or Perssimon for breakfast. Overall, a great stay for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase a 1-day, 3-day or 7-day pass for unlimited rides on cable cars, MUNI bus system and MUNI metro-rail. We bought the 3-day pass for $18. Way cheaper than paying $5 for a one-way ride on the cable car. Also, during the high season be prepared for either a long wait time for the cable car or to walk a few blocks before catching a cable car because it is sooooo crowded.

Back to menu Return to top