$153 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jun 24, 2008

Location

Great location - within walking distance to many attractions. Quaint but small older hotel - reminds me of an English lodge. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good bargain for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance to China Town. A little longer walk to Fisherman's Wharf which has lots of eating places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 23, 2008

not happy

Temperatures were over 95 degrees in the city that day, hotel had no air conditioning and room was on first floor, so couldn't safely open the window. Homeless congregating near and around entrance. Front desk clerk doing several things at one time, so no patience with questions. Left and found another hotel nearby, came back for my bags. Front desk didn't care that I was leaving! Later that evening discovered that I had left 2 tops hanging in the closet at the Beresford and called over there. They said there was nothing in the room and housekeeping had gone home. Nothing at the front desk either. It was 24 hours before anyone came up with my tops; again when I went to pick them up, no apologies or comments from clerk - just handed me the package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lori's Diner - great 50s type place to eat. Good food and reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alma, AR
Jun 7, 2008

Great location

This was a comfortable, charming Victorian-styled hotel with a great location. The only complaint was lack of storage in the bathroom since there was only a pedestal sink. We'd stay there again and recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, entertainment, and a ride on the cable cars and city buses are 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 27, 2008

kind of creepy

this hotel is in a great location - right in downtown, center of everything in san francisco. that's why we chose it. and for that it was good. but other than that it was really old and not in a nice way. the people at the front desk were not very nice and the room and bathroom definitely left something to be desired. and thank goodness we had a window that opened because the room kind of smelled!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

this hotel is in a great location for shopping!!!!! not such a good location for dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 26, 2008

tub drain clogged with hair!

YIkes the tub was clogged and the maintenance guy pulled out all this hair and showed us...what was he thinking!? I dont want to see it! THe light sockets werent working and had to have them come fix it. Found a good rate so that was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 25, 2008

Very family friendly

It's clean and comfortable. The location is great. This hotel is good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A few blocks from Union square shops and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Escondido
May 23, 2008

Good location, great price

The Beresford Hotel on Sutter is only 2 blocks from Union Square, with plenty of shopping, restaurants, cable car stops, etc. Couldn't beat the price for such a location in SF. The room was small and no view at all. That didn't bother us as we were there to sightsee and get out, not laze around in the room. Continental breakfast was included and provided in small restaurant off of lobby. It was quite good with tons of fresh fruit, pastries, cereal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Get maps/brochures from lobby for ideas on sightseeing if you don't know. Alcatraz visit is very interesting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 23, 2008

Excellent front desk, very helpful

Great location, you can walk to Union Square and china town. We actually walked to China town and then took Columbus street, an angeled street, goes thru little Italy, and walked to Fisher'sman wharf. Took the trolley back, $5.00 per person The front desk/hotel staff were VERY helpful with restaurant recommendations, too. Their are many good restaurants within walking distance and the hotel gave us a card with 10% discounts for a few. We enjoyed the free, contl. bkfst. too. We chatted with a delightful tour group from England each morning and they use this hotel a lot because of cleanliness, price and location. It was nice to actually see the owner on the premises, one day, too. The hotel room itself is not big or fancy but the beds were comfortable and new (2 twin beds). As I was traveling with my teenage daughter, I wanted a hotel that offered a safe location, at night also. We were very comfortable here. They also will arrange transfers back to the airport. The shuttles run around $16.00 ow/pp. However, if you call them for the return shuttle they offered a rate of $12.00 ow/pp. the BART runs right from the airport to Union Square and other central stops, but the arpt. info. people really pushed taking the shuttle services. Cost of the BART is about $5.00 pp/ow. We opted against it on the way back, as we had 3 bags and 2 people and didn't feel like dragging our luggage for a few blocks, plus the shuttle picks you up right at the front door. Beach Blanket Bayolon was recommended, to get insight into SFO culture, but we ran out of time. Also, we couldn't find the half price tkt booth in Union Sq, again ran out of time. Be sure to barter in China town, we still found some great deals. I recommend trying Dum Sing in china town and Dungeous Crab at the wharf, both are excellent. Renting bikes is a fun option, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great central location and great shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germantown
May 22, 2008

Excellent Value

This is a small hotel with small rooms which really is in need of some updating. However, the rooms and baths were very clean and there was a fully stocked honor bar in the room. The complimentary breakfast was well above average and the location is very convenient. Our stay got off to a bad start due to the lackadaisical attitude of the desk clerk... The rest of the hotel staff proved to be quite accommodating, but bad first impressions are hard to make up for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square has all the shopping that you could ever want...including Saks, Nordstroms, Williams Sonoma, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 4, 2008

Old-World Charm

The Beresford Hotel was very comfortable, clean and the room was exceptionally quiet. I thought for a hotel as old as this one, I could hear everything - this was not the case. The staff is very friendly and knowledgable. Their recommendations for restaurants and directions were on point. The location is perfect for shoppers. I would recommend this hotel to my friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Walgreens one block away - very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top