$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
338 out of 338
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sedona, AZ
Aug 6, 2008

Great location and price!

Great location and price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to shoppingc dining and public transportation

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snoogle
Business
Canton/Akron, OH
Feb 13, 2008

My review of Beresford Hotel

The Bersford Hotel is a charming,serene,turn of the century(1900)establishment. This unpretentious hotel is located three blocks down from Nob Hill and just a bit further down to Market Street with all kinds of shopping in between. The staff was friendly and most accomidating. They seemed truly interested in the adventures of our days. The hotel offers a continental breakfast to all guests. Fruit,cereal,coffee,tea,juices,pastries were among the foods laid out. (We had a friend meeting us and asked what it would cost for them to join us for breakfast. The frontdesk person seemed hurt that we would ask and assured us that our friend was welcome at no cost!) We were given excellent advice and directions for dining and sightseeing. We enjoyed our stay and the Beresford and would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Beresford is located a short walkin distance from Saks,Bloomingdales,Tiffany,Cartier,the May Co.,William Sonoma, and many more. In addition, the hotel is one block from the cable car line and bus line connecting all over San Francisco. Chinatown begins about 8 blocks down the hill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SHIVERETTE
Business
ORANGE COUNTY CA
Nov 17, 2009

What San Francisco is all about

We did this trip on foot.Hotel is within walking distance to bart, muni and cable cars.Staff was very friendly ..loved the rooms .This was the place we were looking for ...From the big slide up windows ,radiator heaters and the sounds of the city. Loved it !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Jun 13, 2011

Pleasant for the price, inexp. parking

Convenient Union Square location, close to cable car line and Chinatown. Room was very clean, comfortable. Classy, old-style hotel feel. $24 valet parking was a big plus (compare at $60). Friendly, responsive staff. Adequate continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newnez
Business
calgary ab
Aug 16, 2009

Great small hotel

Hotel was renovated clean and cozy. Great hotel. Front staff were nice and helpful. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to all the shopping and the warf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caete
Business
Fresno, CA
Aug 20, 2009

Loved the hotel

My hotel room was in the front, 5th floor. No noise from the next room, some noise from the hall, street usually quiet. Comfortable bed, clean room. The carpet color made it look old at first glance but it's new & clean. If you're wider than 2' in more than 1 direction you won't fit through the shower door. The shower itself is full-size inside. Rooms a little small, but not claustrophobic. They probably used some space to add (tiny) en-suite bathrooms. The building is old but well maintained. I loved it and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi, Italian, American... just walk a few blocks in either direction and you'll find food to fit your mood. Seven blocks uphill from the Greyhound Station, pack light or take the tram.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carmel
Sep 30, 2009

Quiet hotel in a good location

This was the quietest San Francisco hotel we have ever stayed in. We will definitely book this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 20, 2008

Nothing Fancy, Great Location

I chose the Beresford Hotel for Location, not intending to spend much time in the room. The room was fine.An old-fashioned city hotel with all the basics. Not luxurious but clean and adequate. The staff was helpful. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant.The location is great for walking around the city. Overall good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great Italian meal try Fino on Post Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Feb 2, 2008

very friendly environment for families and business aswell

I was very happy staying in the hotel, it was fun, and also right in downtown, the hotel looks like an old hotel, but it is really well maintained, and adds to the city style. it is not a huge hotel, but it gives it the more familiar feeling, so I liked it, I would recommend it to friends and family, it was not too expensive either, and have breakfast incl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is a few blocks from the entrance to china town, and walk distance from many nice restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Escondido
May 23, 2008

Good location, great price

The Beresford Hotel on Sutter is only 2 blocks from Union Square, with plenty of shopping, restaurants, cable car stops, etc. Couldn't beat the price for such a location in SF. The room was small and no view at all. That didn't bother us as we were there to sightsee and get out, not laze around in the room. Continental breakfast was included and provided in small restaurant off of lobby. It was quite good with tons of fresh fruit, pastries, cereal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Get maps/brochures from lobby for ideas on sightseeing if you don't know. Alcatraz visit is very interesting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top