Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caete
Single
Fresno, CA
Aug 20, 2009

Loved the hotel

My hotel room was in the front, 5th floor. No noise from the next room, some noise from the hall, street usually quiet. Comfortable bed, clean room. The carpet color made it look old at first glance but it's new & clean. If you're wider than 2' in more than 1 direction you won't fit through the shower door. The shower itself is full-size inside. Rooms a little small, but not claustrophobic. They probably used some space to add (tiny) en-suite bathrooms. The building is old but well maintained. I loved it and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi, Italian, American... just walk a few blocks in either direction and you'll find food to fit your mood. Seven blocks uphill from the Greyhound Station, pack light or take the tram.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Carmel
Sep 30, 2009

Quiet hotel in a good location

This was the quietest San Francisco hotel we have ever stayed in. We will definitely book this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Sep 20, 2008

Nothing Fancy, Great Location

I chose the Beresford Hotel for Location, not intending to spend much time in the room. The room was fine.An old-fashioned city hotel with all the basics. Not luxurious but clean and adequate. The staff was helpful. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant.The location is great for walking around the city. Overall good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great Italian meal try Fino on Post Street.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Orlando, FL
Feb 2, 2008

very friendly environment for families and business aswell

I was very happy staying in the hotel, it was fun, and also right in downtown, the hotel looks like an old hotel, but it is really well maintained, and adds to the city style. it is not a huge hotel, but it gives it the more familiar feeling, so I liked it, I would recommend it to friends and family, it was not too expensive either, and have breakfast incl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is a few blocks from the entrance to china town, and walk distance from many nice restaurants.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Escondido
May 23, 2008

Good location, great price

The Beresford Hotel on Sutter is only 2 blocks from Union Square, with plenty of shopping, restaurants, cable car stops, etc. Couldn't beat the price for such a location in SF. The room was small and no view at all. That didn't bother us as we were there to sightsee and get out, not laze around in the room. Continental breakfast was included and provided in small restaurant off of lobby. It was quite good with tons of fresh fruit, pastries, cereal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Get maps/brochures from lobby for ideas on sightseeing if you don't know. Alcatraz visit is very interesting.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Sacramento, CA
Jun 17, 2007

Heart of the City

If you want to be near the hustle and bustle of central SF, then this is an excellent place to stay. Particularly if you enjoy the shopping of Union Square, then Hotel Beresford is in a prime location -- just a block and a half from the square itself. China Town is a short walk as is the SFMOMA and the Powell Street BART station. There isn't exactly a pelethora of night time entertainment spots; however, considering my relative inexperience partying in SF, there were plenty of establishments (upscale and low scale alike) in the neighborhood. The hotel was very clean, and even though the room was a bit small, I found the place to be quite comfortable and pleasant. It certainly beat the big chain hotels' lack of warmth and comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

union square is lined with plenty of big name shops. just a block and a half away.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Nogales, Arizona
Jul 13, 2010

Perfect Getaway Location

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was easy to access local transit, sightseeing locations were close. Loved the little restaurant. Enjoyed our stay, very relaxing atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The areas everyone visits in San Francisco can easily be accessed from this area. We saw the main attractions and never had to drive our own vehicles.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
humboldt,ca
Oct 5, 2010

love this hotel

The staff was helpful and courteous even though it was a really busy weekend in the city! One staff member couldn't get through to a cab company on the phone so she spent fifteen minutes hailing us a cab on the street! What service! And the minibar was delightful with a very reasonable beresford brand house table wine, a small selection of beers and sodas. Very charming atmosphere and great location in the city for shopping and site seeing. We even stayed an extra night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
st louis
Aug 4, 2009

good location

quite comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Domenica
Business
Newark, NJ
Feb 14, 2008

Service and amenities

Overall the Beresford hotel room was clean and comfortable. Even though I did not have dinner at the hotel, I must say the free breakfast buffe was rich, healthy and delightful. Even though the computer room was small and the maintance was OK, I did get internet service. Thus, the service was satisfating. Mostly, important, the Beresford Hotel is located in a area where you can actually walk to China Town, Union Square, and other known places. And if you need to commute trams and trains are close by the hotel. Indeed, I would recommend this hotel to friends and acquaintants. Best of fun to the next person who choses the Beresford hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is about three blocks from the hotel, about 10 min walk. Here you find shopping centers, nightlife, dining places of all kind. Then, if you want to move further out you can just get on the train which is about four blocks away from the hotel, about a 15 minute walk from the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top