$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
332 reviews
Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location... See full review

  • Happy Campers I
  • Sep 3, 2013
Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars,... See full review

  • KonnieKatt
  • May 26, 2014
Victorian style, family atmosphere and free breakfast near Union Square

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7887 -122.4109
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International and (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
Located near Powell Street Cable Car, China Town, theaters, shopping, dining, museums, galleries and nightclubs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (332)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
332 out of 332
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 6, 2008

Good, inexpensive choice

The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. The continental breakfast offered lots of fresh fruit, dry cereal and pastries. My room was small as others have noted. It was quiet and clean. The bathroom was tiny. Neighborhood can feel a little deserted after dark if you're alone but it's only 2 blocks to the cable car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Sq. shopping - 3 blks. Buy a daily Muni pass ($11 covers all city transit). Ride cable car, 2 blks away, to Fisherman's Wharf then old trolleys along the Embarcadero. Stop at Ferry Building for great cheese, bread and lunch outside. Choose cable car, trolley, bus or BART back up the hill.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Redgie2u
Saginaw, MI
Mar 28, 2008

Great location

Nice retro hotel for lovers of 1800 feel hotels. The location is perfect for your SF excursions. Close to public transportation which will whip you around town. Dont use a car to go here since parking is scares and the hotel has none, not to mention traficed is dense. Great price/quality value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a day pass for the muni system, reserve Alcatraz visit a head of time if you like to go there

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield, IL
Mar 28, 2008

Great location and value

The Beresford Hotel was a great base for our family vacation to San Francisco. Although the rooms were small, we were barely in them due to sight seeing. The Hotel was centrally located to all public transit. The staff were friendly. We traveled with our four children ages 8, 6, 4, and 2, and my mother. Needless to say, if the hotel endured our family, and we felt welcomed and staff were helpful, then this hotel gets our repeat business!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was two blocks from the cable car stops!

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 27, 2008

Bset Bet on Sutter St

The Beresford was excellently located, the old western ornate gives it a stand out look, the staff ever mindful and the shuttle service was ever present, the complimentry breakfast was the best I ever had!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The pirrah restaraunt and a Uniun Square at your footstep made for memorable mornings.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
myunghwa
USA
Mar 18, 2008

very convenience

very convenience transportation. easy shopping (near a lot of shopping mall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 14, 2008

great location

The hotel is perfect for walking to everything. It's near great restaurants,shopping in Union Square and close to the bus line and trolly. The rooms are small but very clean and the staff is most helpful. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

One can take the Bart from the airport and walk to the hotel.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 7, 2008

Small, Friendly, Well Situated Hotel

The Beresford Hotel is a quiet remnant of the San Francisco of old. Although not updated, the hotel is kept immaculate and is situated in the heart of San Francisco. Great restaurants and bars are everywhere in the neighborhood. Very friendly staff. Powerful showers. At the very fair price charged, it's a charming little option in San Fran. Don't bring a car! As in most of the city, parking is outrageously expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the little bar right beside the building. Classic old school San Fran.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 3, 2008

Lots of character for a low price

The beresford was a great value. It offered lots of character with it's little tavern and old stylings. It was also really close to the cable cars and downtown area. I'd say it was a perfect location if it weren't located across from the art school dorms. The students like to hang out and make a lot of noise all through the night which bothered my dad. The hotel offered to move our room. I personally liked the noise of the city. We left our window open most of the time. The strange thing about the hotel is that the room seemed to stay a constant comfortable temperature. It seems odd, since we left the window open to the cold night. Good breakfast. It is not however, a luxury hotel. I had to battle with tub which didn't drain well. Everything else was fine. If you want luxury, go next door. We ate dinner at the neighboring hotel restaurant that overlooks the city. But, if you're used to chain hotels this will be just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square is within walking distance. catch the old cable cars just a block away. Get a pass to ride these and and all the other transportation for much less. I was in town to attend a concert at the Great American Music Hall. It's a short cab ride away (and you'll want a cab because it's in a shady area).

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 2, 2008

My wife and I have never ...

My wife and I have never stayed in downtown San Francisco. Until recently, when we wanted to do something different to celebrate her birthday and be close to a huge monthly antiques fair across the Bay in Alameda. We selected the Beresford for its location in the Union Square area. We were very pleased. The establishment has its own charm. Our room was small, but everything was well-maintained. The Continental breakfast the next morning was an added bonus and made us wish we'd eaten dinner at the White Horse Pub (the Beresford house restaurant)the night before. There are alternatives to the big chains in San Francisco -- who knew? (Obviously, not us -- but we are glad we found out.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

For my wife, shopping IS entertainment, The hotel is close to Union Square without the hassle of the sleazoid atmosphere, Chinatown, restaurants, art galleries, theaters etc.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 23, 2008

Good work

I think you should get internet in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Huge Macy's real close to this hotel...along with many other attractions in Union Square. Try E&O Trading company for a place to eat.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search