$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 30, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
337 reviews
Great Location & Historic

Located just blocks from Union Square.. This well maintained well ran historic hotel is really very... See full review

  • Rei S.
  • Jan 20, 2015
Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location... See full review

  • Happy Campers I
  • Sep 3, 2013
Victorian style, family atmosphere and free breakfast near Union Square

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (337)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germantown
May 22, 2008

Excellent Value

This is a small hotel with small rooms which really is in need of some updating. However, the rooms and baths were very clean and there was a fully stocked honor bar in the room. The complimentary breakfast was well above average and the location is very convenient. Our stay got off to a bad start due to the lackadaisical attitude of the desk clerk... The rest of the hotel staff proved to be quite accommodating, but bad first impressions are hard to make up for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square has all the shopping that you could ever want...including Saks, Nordstroms, Williams Sonoma, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 4, 2008

Old-World Charm

The Beresford Hotel was very comfortable, clean and the room was exceptionally quiet. I thought for a hotel as old as this one, I could hear everything - this was not the case. The staff is very friendly and knowledgable. Their recommendations for restaurants and directions were on point. The location is perfect for shoppers. I would recommend this hotel to my friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Walgreens one block away - very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
May 3, 2008

OK for a quick trip

The room was clean and the staff was pleasant but furniture and bedding in the room was very outdated and run-down. The street outside our window was really noisy on Saturday morning with a large trash track driving by slowly for about an hour. The location next to Union square was fantastic, we found it easy to get around without a car using the BART to get to the airport, the trolley to get to tourist spots and found several restaurants, bars and clubs that we liked within walking distance. I think this would be an okay place to stay if you weren't planning on staying in the room except to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

1.Biscuits and Blues Jazz Club, good food, fun crowd and great music! 2. Ruby Skye was great for after hours. We payed cover and had our hands stamped then went to see a show and when we returned, we didn't have to wait in line. Check with the bouncers first though!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 27, 2008

Family Friendly

The hotel was close to Time Square and Chinatown, great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to local shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Apr 14, 2008

Nice Staff and good location

The Beresford Hotel was very nice if you like staying in older Historical buildings. The staff was very friendly and helpful with any request. One night when we got back late we discovered the TV wasn't working. The staff offered to move us to another room right away. There were plenty of Restaurants within walking distance along with the visitor center and the Cable Car turnaround. We had no problem getting to the other parts of the city. If you drive the Hotel had Valet parking for an additional $24 a day. It was well worth it. We just had to call the front desk and they would call when our car had arrived. A very good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good Italian place just up the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 6, 2008

Good, inexpensive choice

The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. The continental breakfast offered lots of fresh fruit, dry cereal and pastries. My room was small as others have noted. It was quiet and clean. The bathroom was tiny. Neighborhood can feel a little deserted after dark if you're alone but it's only 2 blocks to the cable car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Sq. shopping - 3 blks. Buy a daily Muni pass ($11 covers all city transit). Ride cable car, 2 blks away, to Fisherman's Wharf then old trolleys along the Embarcadero. Stop at Ferry Building for great cheese, bread and lunch outside. Choose cable car, trolley, bus or BART back up the hill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Redgie2u
Business
Saginaw, MI
Mar 28, 2008

Great location

Nice retro hotel for lovers of 1800 feel hotels. The location is perfect for your SF excursions. Close to public transportation which will whip you around town. Dont use a car to go here since parking is scares and the hotel has none, not to mention traficed is dense. Great price/quality value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a day pass for the muni system, reserve Alcatraz visit a head of time if you like to go there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Mar 28, 2008

Great location and value

The Beresford Hotel was a great base for our family vacation to San Francisco. Although the rooms were small, we were barely in them due to sight seeing. The Hotel was centrally located to all public transit. The staff were friendly. We traveled with our four children ages 8, 6, 4, and 2, and my mother. Needless to say, if the hotel endured our family, and we felt welcomed and staff were helpful, then this hotel gets our repeat business!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was two blocks from the cable car stops!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 27, 2008

Bset Bet on Sutter St

The Beresford was excellently located, the old western ornate gives it a stand out look, the staff ever mindful and the shuttle service was ever present, the complimentry breakfast was the best I ever had!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The pirrah restaraunt and a Uniun Square at your footstep made for memorable mornings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
myunghwa
Business
USA
Mar 18, 2008

very convenience

very convenience transportation. easy shopping (near a lot of shopping mall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top