$153 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
339 out of 339
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland
Jul 1, 2008

Somewhat dissatisfied

The Beres Hotel is an older hotel which is understandable. The carpet in the room was very dirty and for several days it wasn't vacuum. There television is absolutely terrible you couldn't get any channels except for maybe 3. The location of the hotel was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh
Jun 30, 2008

Very Quaint & Nice

The Hotel Beresford is a very quaint and comfortable place to stay. It doesn't have the ammenities of larger hotels like a pool or fitness center but if you are just looking for a nice place to stay for a good price then this is the place for you. The room I shared with a friend was quite small and we had two twin beds. At first I was put off by this but soon realized that it was of little consequence. The room was quite comfortable and so were the beds. The hotel is very close to Union Square and public transportation. There are also a number of nice restaurants in the area to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot of great shopping. It is also within walking distance of the MUNI and other public transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Jun 30, 2008

Very good location

We especially liked the hotel's location. It was less than 2 blocks from the Powell Street cable cars, which saved us a long, uphill walk when returning from Market Street and very convenient when we wanted to head to Fisherman's Wharf. We thought the hotel reminded us of an old-style, European hotel, which can be good and bad. One example of this is that we had actual room keys, not one of those computer cards. For the price we knew we weren't going to be in a 5-star hotel, but thought the rooms were kept clean and the staff was very helpful. The breakfast buffet included rolls, cold cereal, fruit, juice, and coffee and was included in the price of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno
Jun 29, 2008

Older Property

Room cozy, shower had window to exterior that could not be closed intirely, made bathroom area drafty for showers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jun 24, 2008

Location

Great location - within walking distance to many attractions. Quaint but small older hotel - reminds me of an English lodge. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good bargain for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance to China Town. A little longer walk to Fisherman's Wharf which has lots of eating places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 23, 2008

not happy

Temperatures were over 95 degrees in the city that day, hotel had no air conditioning and room was on first floor, so couldn't safely open the window. Homeless congregating near and around entrance. Front desk clerk doing several things at one time, so no patience with questions. Left and found another hotel nearby, came back for my bags. Front desk didn't care that I was leaving! Later that evening discovered that I had left 2 tops hanging in the closet at the Beresford and called over there. They said there was nothing in the room and housekeeping had gone home. Nothing at the front desk either. It was 24 hours before anyone came up with my tops; again when I went to pick them up, no apologies or comments from clerk - just handed me the package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lori's Diner - great 50s type place to eat. Good food and reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alma, AR
Jun 7, 2008

Great location

This was a comfortable, charming Victorian-styled hotel with a great location. The only complaint was lack of storage in the bathroom since there was only a pedestal sink. We'd stay there again and recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, entertainment, and a ride on the cable cars and city buses are 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 27, 2008

kind of creepy

this hotel is in a great location - right in downtown, center of everything in san francisco. that's why we chose it. and for that it was good. but other than that it was really old and not in a nice way. the people at the front desk were not very nice and the room and bathroom definitely left something to be desired. and thank goodness we had a window that opened because the room kind of smelled!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

this hotel is in a great location for shopping!!!!! not such a good location for dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 26, 2008

tub drain clogged with hair!

YIkes the tub was clogged and the maintenance guy pulled out all this hair and showed us...what was he thinking!? I dont want to see it! THe light sockets werent working and had to have them come fix it. Found a good rate so that was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 25, 2008

Very family friendly

It's clean and comfortable. The location is great. This hotel is good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A few blocks from Union square shops and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top