$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
334 reviews
Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location... See full review

  • Happy Campers I
  • Sep 3, 2013
Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars,... See full review

  • KonnieKatt
  • May 26, 2014
Victorian style, family atmosphere and free breakfast near Union Square

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (334)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
334 out of 334
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 23, 2008

not happy

Temperatures were over 95 degrees in the city that day, hotel had no air conditioning and room was on first floor, so couldn't safely open the window. Homeless congregating near and around entrance. Front desk clerk doing several things at one time, so no patience with questions. Left and found another hotel nearby, came back for my bags. Front desk didn't care that I was leaving! Later that evening discovered that I had left 2 tops hanging in the closet at the Beresford and called over there. They said there was nothing in the room and housekeeping had gone home. Nothing at the front desk either. It was 24 hours before anyone came up with my tops; again when I went to pick them up, no apologies or comments from clerk - just handed me the package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lori's Diner - great 50s type place to eat. Good food and reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alma, AR
Jun 7, 2008

Great location

This was a comfortable, charming Victorian-styled hotel with a great location. The only complaint was lack of storage in the bathroom since there was only a pedestal sink. We'd stay there again and recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, entertainment, and a ride on the cable cars and city buses are 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 27, 2008

kind of creepy

this hotel is in a great location - right in downtown, center of everything in san francisco. that's why we chose it. and for that it was good. but other than that it was really old and not in a nice way. the people at the front desk were not very nice and the room and bathroom definitely left something to be desired. and thank goodness we had a window that opened because the room kind of smelled!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

this hotel is in a great location for shopping!!!!! not such a good location for dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 26, 2008

tub drain clogged with hair!

YIkes the tub was clogged and the maintenance guy pulled out all this hair and showed us...what was he thinking!? I dont want to see it! THe light sockets werent working and had to have them come fix it. Found a good rate so that was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 25, 2008

Very family friendly

It's clean and comfortable. The location is great. This hotel is good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A few blocks from Union square shops and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Escondido
May 23, 2008

Good location, great price

The Beresford Hotel on Sutter is only 2 blocks from Union Square, with plenty of shopping, restaurants, cable car stops, etc. Couldn't beat the price for such a location in SF. The room was small and no view at all. That didn't bother us as we were there to sightsee and get out, not laze around in the room. Continental breakfast was included and provided in small restaurant off of lobby. It was quite good with tons of fresh fruit, pastries, cereal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Get maps/brochures from lobby for ideas on sightseeing if you don't know. Alcatraz visit is very interesting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 23, 2008

Excellent front desk, very helpful

Great location, you can walk to Union Square and china town. We actually walked to China town and then took Columbus street, an angeled street, goes thru little Italy, and walked to Fisher'sman wharf. Took the trolley back, $5.00 per person The front desk/hotel staff were VERY helpful with restaurant recommendations, too. Their are many good restaurants within walking distance and the hotel gave us a card with 10% discounts for a few. We enjoyed the free, contl. bkfst. too. We chatted with a delightful tour group from England each morning and they use this hotel a lot because of cleanliness, price and location. It was nice to actually see the owner on the premises, one day, too. The hotel room itself is not big or fancy but the beds were comfortable and new (2 twin beds). As I was traveling with my teenage daughter, I wanted a hotel that offered a safe location, at night also. We were very comfortable here. They also will arrange transfers back to the airport. The shuttles run around $16.00 ow/pp. However, if you call them for the return shuttle they offered a rate of $12.00 ow/pp. the BART runs right from the airport to Union Square and other central stops, but the arpt. info. people really pushed taking the shuttle services. Cost of the BART is about $5.00 pp/ow. We opted against it on the way back, as we had 3 bags and 2 people and didn't feel like dragging our luggage for a few blocks, plus the shuttle picks you up right at the front door. Beach Blanket Bayolon was recommended, to get insight into SFO culture, but we ran out of time. Also, we couldn't find the half price tkt booth in Union Sq, again ran out of time. Be sure to barter in China town, we still found some great deals. I recommend trying Dum Sing in china town and Dungeous Crab at the wharf, both are excellent. Renting bikes is a fun option, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great central location and great shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germantown
May 22, 2008

Excellent Value

This is a small hotel with small rooms which really is in need of some updating. However, the rooms and baths were very clean and there was a fully stocked honor bar in the room. The complimentary breakfast was well above average and the location is very convenient. Our stay got off to a bad start due to the lackadaisical attitude of the desk clerk... The rest of the hotel staff proved to be quite accommodating, but bad first impressions are hard to make up for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square has all the shopping that you could ever want...including Saks, Nordstroms, Williams Sonoma, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 4, 2008

Old-World Charm

The Beresford Hotel was very comfortable, clean and the room was exceptionally quiet. I thought for a hotel as old as this one, I could hear everything - this was not the case. The staff is very friendly and knowledgable. Their recommendations for restaurants and directions were on point. The location is perfect for shoppers. I would recommend this hotel to my friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Walgreens one block away - very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
May 3, 2008

OK for a quick trip

The room was clean and the staff was pleasant but furniture and bedding in the room was very outdated and run-down. The street outside our window was really noisy on Saturday morning with a large trash track driving by slowly for about an hour. The location next to Union square was fantastic, we found it easy to get around without a car using the BART to get to the airport, the trolley to get to tourist spots and found several restaurants, bars and clubs that we liked within walking distance. I think this would be an okay place to stay if you weren't planning on staying in the room except to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

1.Biscuits and Blues Jazz Club, good food, fun crowd and great music! 2. Ruby Skye was great for after hours. We payed cover and had our hands stamped then went to see a show and when we returned, we didn't have to wait in line. Check with the bouncers first though!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top