$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
602 reviews
Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location... See full review

  • Happy Campers I
  • Sep 3, 2013
Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars,... See full review

  • KonnieKatt
  • May 26, 2014
Victorian style, family atmosphere and free breakfast near Union Square

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7887 -122.4109
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International and (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
Located near Powell Street Cable Car, China Town, theaters, shopping, dining, museums, galleries and nightclubs.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (602)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
602 out of 602
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethesda, MD
Sep 29, 2009

HORRIBLE

When I arrived at the hotel, the staff gave me a room that was not yet cleaned, and was still absolutely disgusting. The room was very small with a tiny bathroom and crammed quarters. The staff was very inattentive. You could also hear noise from other rooms all along the hallway. Finally, there was no wireless internet reception in the room as well as terrible cell phone service. Thankfully, I had enough to do on my trip where I did not have to stay at the hotel very often. I would not recommend staying at this hotel...ever!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
florida
Sep 26, 2009

Great location

Good location, took the Bart from the airport and it was about a 5 block walk to hotel (uphill), easy going back. The cable car was only 2 blocks away. Easier to walk down where to get on cable car as going to Fisherman wharf the car was usually already full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
florida
Sep 26, 2009

Great location

Good location, took the Bart from the airport and it was about a 5 block walk to hotel (uphill), easy going back. The cable car was only 2 blocks away. Easier to walk down where to get on cable car as going to Fisherman wharf the car was usually already full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston, texas
Sep 25, 2009

Very Good Location

I missed Cophee and tea maker in the room. Bad ventilation, always smell in the room. Breakfast is ok. The staff is friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston, texas
Sep 25, 2009

Very Good Location

I missed Cophee and tea maker in the room. Bad ventilation, always smell in the room. Breakfast is ok. The staff is friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Sep 21, 2009

Beresford Hotel...not a great experience

I wish I had not booked at this hotel. From the moment i walked in. The staff was pushy and unorganized. I was on vacation and I got very stressed out just checking-in. I had two staff talking to me at once while checking-in. One being pushy about shuttle service from hotel to airport while I was just trying to check-in. Than i got to the room and it was extremely small. I couldn't even pull my bag between the bed and the dresser. There were no outlets, no air conditioning and no space to put any of our luggage. To keep the room "cool" we had to use a fan that was loud. On top of this there was steal stinch in the air that made all my clothes smell. I would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Sep 21, 2009

Beresford Hotel...not a great experience

I wish I had not booked at this hotel. From the moment i walked in. The staff was pushy and unorganized. I was on vacation and I got very stressed out just checking-in. I had two staff talking to me at once while checking-in. One being pushy about shuttle service from hotel to airport while I was just trying to check-in. Than i got to the room and it was extremely small. I couldn't even pull my bag between the bed and the dresser. There were no outlets, no air conditioning and no space to put any of our luggage. To keep the room "cool" we had to use a fan that was loud. On top of this there was steal stinch in the air that made all my clothes smell. I would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Twkster
Business
Macau, China
Sep 19, 2009

Beresford Hotel a different experience

Wanting something more than a overnight stay at an airport hotel, I chose the Beresford for it's value rate and proximity to Union Square. For a Victorian era small hotel it did not surprise me when the rooms were not air-conditioned and rather spartan by business travel standards. Is a great value for someone needing accomodation for a few days or more in a great downtown location. Walking distance to a lot of great restaraunts and clubs. The staff were friendly and courteous. My only complaint is that transportation is limited to BART or Airport Shuttle, which is to be expected from a downtown area hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great restaraunts on Powell Street..

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Twkster
Business
Macau, China
Sep 19, 2009

Beresford Hotel a different experience

Wanting something more than a overnight stay at an airport hotel, I chose the Beresford for it's value rate and proximity to Union Square. For a Victorian era small hotel it did not surprise me when the rooms were not air-conditioned and rather spartan by business travel standards. Is a great value for someone needing accomodation for a few days or more in a great downtown location. Walking distance to a lot of great restaraunts and clubs. The staff were friendly and courteous. My only complaint is that transportation is limited to BART or Airport Shuttle, which is to be expected from a downtown area hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great restaraunts on Powell Street..

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
atozcats
Mountain View, CA
Sep 17, 2009

Good value

I was only in the City for two days and had activities planned for the entire time. I was at the hotel only to sleep. The room was larger than many, very clean and comfortable. The service was efficient and friendly. I did not want to use the pool or anything similar. The White Horse, an attached pub, was small and lacking in atmosphere; the barkeeper was friendly. The kitchen was "under renovation" so no food was available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The location was convenient for an evening at ACT.

Back to menu Return to top