$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
340 out of 340
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waverly
Oct 7, 2008

beds very uncomfortable

On top of that, this bed was like sleeping on a rock. I thought I was in Alcatrez. The TV only had 8 channels and the remote did not work. Overall, good location but I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from Union Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Thousand Oaks
Oct 5, 2008

Feels old and run-down

there is no air conditioning and if you want heat, you have to call the lobby and the person at the lobby has to call the manager and the manager will decide if it is the right time to turn on the heat! The Continental Breakfast is simply old donuts and old croissants and some fruit and cheap coffee. The floors make creaking sounds as you walk to your room and the hallways smell bad. The bathroom is very, very small. The window in the bathroom is a shade/blind type glass that doesn't completely close so the sound from air conditioning units of the surrounding buildings are loud and clear from your bed. The lobby/staff consists of a person behind a window downstairs who is always in a rush and unprofessional. The location is the only positive about this hotel. It is located near Union Square retail stores and downtown San Francisco. There is no parking. You have to Vallet your car for $24/day. We will never go to this hotel again. Not even for as little as we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Davis, CA
Oct 4, 2008

Good Location

With a good locaton to Union Square,the hotel hasn't been upgraded in the past few years. The check-in staff was very nice and helpful. Checking out was a different story. The clerk did not seem interested in what I call customer service. The room was small and adjacent to a open space to the adjacent building. Night sounds such as talking, and yes, once some screaming, distrupted sleep. The pillows were....most likely leftovers from a sorority pillow fight. Bring your own or even an inflatable The bathroom was small and the climb in shower (converted bath tub) very tight. The bed was not very comfortable but adequate after a long day of walking through GG Park. The complimentary continental breakfast was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Marine Memorial, a few doors down, has an excellent lounge and dinner. Max's Deli on 4th and Geary has great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 30, 2008

Worst Hotel Stay Ever

The location was good and close to the shopping mall but not a part of town to be out in the evening by yourself or with another person. Staff and maids were friendly, clean towels, clean sheets,hot water. Beds were twin-very small. No bathtub, very small bathroom. Handle on toliet was nearly off the unit. Bathroom walls were torn and you could see the inside of the wall. Bedroom wall had holes in the wall with a small closet-large enough for one to hang clothes. No central air or heat-had one fan to keep cool. One large window with a small lock on it to keep it locked on a fire escape. Walls were thin and you could hear outside in the hallway..Noisy. This hotel needs a total renovation. Stayed here 5 nights and it was the worst vacation I have ever experienced. I will never stay here or recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Two restaurants near but both were Italian food. Two blocks from Starbucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Cruz
Sep 21, 2008

very small rooms

the rooms are very small, the furniture looks like sears cast off...bathrooms are really small...there wasn't even a hair dryer in our room....sheets & pillows had a harsh smell to them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is close to union square, shopping & dining....neighborhood is ok, no problems

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 20, 2008

Nothing Fancy, Great Location

I chose the Beresford Hotel for Location, not intending to spend much time in the room. The room was fine.An old-fashioned city hotel with all the basics. Not luxurious but clean and adequate. The staff was helpful. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant.The location is great for walking around the city. Overall good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great Italian meal try Fino on Post Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pacific Grove
Sep 19, 2008

fair value for Union Square

This was one of the least expensive hotels near Union Square in San Francisco. Small room but clean and good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gatineau
Sep 15, 2008

Noisy but nice

The Beresford Hotel was very charming, well decorated but unfortunately a bit noisy. There was no bath tub in the room, no table and no chairs, not very practical for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A good herb chicken across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge
Sep 7, 2008

good place for the price

... the only problem is that the room was smelling sigarettes... like a smoking room!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Little Rock
Sep 2, 2008

fine for one night

The Beresford was fine for one evening. I was there with two of my elementary age kids and we were just in town for the night. The location was easy to get to many of the tourist attractions - we walked or used public transportation. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is older and the street was a little noisy at night. The first room we were placed in had a broken window - when alerted we were moved to another room. This is an older hotel and fairly small. This would not be a place I would stay for anything longer than a couple of nights. But if you are not planning on spending a lot of time in the room and you want something fairly priced - it will work fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are not far from Chinatown. The cable car line is just a few blocks away as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top