$153 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
340 out of 340
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 20, 2008

Nothing Fancy, Great Location

I chose the Beresford Hotel for Location, not intending to spend much time in the room. The room was fine.An old-fashioned city hotel with all the basics. Not luxurious but clean and adequate. The staff was helpful. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant.The location is great for walking around the city. Overall good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great Italian meal try Fino on Post Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pacific Grove
Sep 19, 2008

fair value for Union Square

This was one of the least expensive hotels near Union Square in San Francisco. Small room but clean and good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gatineau
Sep 15, 2008

Noisy but nice

The Beresford Hotel was very charming, well decorated but unfortunately a bit noisy. There was no bath tub in the room, no table and no chairs, not very practical for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A good herb chicken across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge
Sep 7, 2008

good place for the price

... the only problem is that the room was smelling sigarettes... like a smoking room!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Little Rock
Sep 2, 2008

fine for one night

The Beresford was fine for one evening. I was there with two of my elementary age kids and we were just in town for the night. The location was easy to get to many of the tourist attractions - we walked or used public transportation. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is older and the street was a little noisy at night. The first room we were placed in had a broken window - when alerted we were moved to another room. This is an older hotel and fairly small. This would not be a place I would stay for anything longer than a couple of nights. But if you are not planning on spending a lot of time in the room and you want something fairly priced - it will work fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are not far from Chinatown. The cable car line is just a few blocks away as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tallmadge
Aug 23, 2008

Once in our room it did ...

Once in our room it did not smell like smoke, but it was recently painted. The windows were painted shut. The room was small and with the fumes, it was noxious. We could not open the window and had to have someone from the front desk (the only nice person we interacted with) came up and forced the window open. Finally we went to use the restroom and there was no soap. So we called front desk again were the man asked why we didn't take it from our previous room. After this statement, I had no hope for a positive stay. The hotel was in a good location, the shower had hot water, breakfast buffet was decent, there were two beds and the one guy at the front desk was great. On the flip side, there were only the main 5 channels on tv, the bed was uncomfortable, the window had no screen, there was no fan, the main desk clerk was incredibly rude, etc. Your call, but good luck if you do go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a couple great neighborhoods close by, the museum and plenty of shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
Aug 11, 2008

good staff

The staff at the Beresford were all very helpful, friendly, and accomodating. Everything seemed to be very clean and upkept. I was disappointed though, because one of the big reasons I chose this hotel was so I could walk down and enjoy the attached pub/restaurant.... well i stayed there a sunday/monday and was so sad to find those two days the White Horse Pub/Restaurant is closed! But overall it was a good experience at the Beresford.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

just a short walk from great shopping in union square!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sedona, AZ
Aug 6, 2008

Great location and price!

Great location and price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to shoppingc dining and public transportation

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arcadia
Aug 6, 2008

Great Price and Location!

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised with the Beresford Hotel. It is within walking distance to Union Square, the wharf, financial district, cable cars, etc. The rooms were a little small but quite comfortable. We stayed 3 nights and were happy with how quiet the room was. The workers were friendly and helpful. The in-hotel restaurant had a nice atmosphere but a small menu selection. They also served a continental breakfast every morning, making it really easy to get out and sightsee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The double-decker/ open top buses are a fun way to get around without worrying about driving in this busy city!. You can buy a pass that is good for 2 consecutive days in which you can hop on and off as often as you like.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 4, 2008

no remote ...

The hotel did not have any room in the bathrooms for soap, razor, or toothbrush. The tv channel selecton was practically non existence the room didnt have a remote, and the hotel is wifi in one small room with weak reception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

northbeach district

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top