$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family Vacation Planner
Business
St. Louis, MO
Mar 3, 2009

Total mispresentation

The rooms were not as representated. They were small, had torn shades, worn spreads and broken and mismatached furniture. It looked like it was furnished from motel salvage. The sink in the bath wouldn't drain and there was no hot water in the shower (no tub). We asked to be moved and looked at 4 rooms, all were the same. We asked to see the room pictured in the phamplet at the front desk and were told that those rooms did not exist in this hotel. The only positive was the location which was excellent - 2 blocks from Union Square. When we complained at the front desk, we were told, "What did you expect for the price?" We've never been burned like this in 7 years of staying at Orbitz hotels. We will really investigate further in the future though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Every dining experience you could imagine was within a short walk. Sitting in the plaza of Union Square was lovely. It's great for people watching.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 30, 2008

A GOOD PLACE TO STAY...MAYBE A LITTLE SMALL

The Beresford Hotel at Sutter street gives you a great location, two blocks from U. Square. The staff at the Hotel is great: They're respectful and kind. I really liked the hotel, however, I asked for a smoking room, it was clean, cozy but very small, specially the bathroom. Beside that, I will gladly return to the Beresford.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In a two blocks perimeter you can find, at least, 15 dining options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Corvallis, OR
Dec 28, 2008

Upgrade needed

This is a nice hotel but needs to be ugraded. Refurbishment is needed. Plus cable service is limited and no room wireless internet is avaible. Restaurant was nice and the food I had was delicous and well prepared. The bar is small but intimate. I enjoyed it. The restaruant/bar service was excellent. That was one area of the hotel were I thought the older styly was attractive. Maid service was great. The car service is a bit pricy but works if you are in and out for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to internet cafe and the downtown area of San Francisco and public transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Corvallis, OR
Dec 28, 2008

Upgrade needed

This is a nice hotel but needs to be ugraded. Refurbishment is needed. Plus cable service is limited and no room wireless internet is avaible. Restaurant was nice and the food I had was delicous and well prepared. The bar is small but intimate. I enjoyed it. The restaruant/bar service was excellent. That was one area of the hotel were I thought the older styly was attractive. Maid service was great. The car service is a bit pricy but works if you are in and out for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to internet cafe and the downtown area of San Francisco and public transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 9, 2008

Great location

This was a great location. The room was neat and looked freshly painted. Very quiet for sleeping at night for being in the middle of the city. Bed was an old mattress but comfortable. Sheets were a little spare but they brought us extra pillows when we asked. TV was static and very few channels but who cares you're in San Francisco and supposed to be out touring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Chinatown and the Ferry Building.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mokelumne Hill
Dec 6, 2008

Favorable Location near Union Square

We wanted a relatively inexpensive ;ocation near Union Square that had valet parking. The beresford met those needs. In addition it was clean and the continental breakfast was better than most. Be prepared for small rooms and even smaller baths, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The many shops and restaurants in that area. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno
Dec 5, 2008

Good Location

The room was small and smelled. The furniutre was old and shabby. The hotel is not a reinforced brick building so in an earthquake your in trouble.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square is nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Nov 29, 2008

Good value

The Beresford Hotel was in a great location. The room was fine, not much to it. That was okay with us... considering the fact we only wanted to sleep in it. The bar next door was cool - very old looking and cozy. Overall, I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good location for retail stores. Short drive to Fisherman's Wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 2, 2008

Extraordinary Customer Service

The hotel's staff was uniformly friendly and helpful especially at the front desk where they definitely went the extra mile for guests and did so in a very professional and gracious manner. My suitcase was damaged on my flight and the zipper needed to be repaired before I could fly home. After inquiring about local luggage repair, the staff volunatarily looked up all the repair shops in the immediate area, contacted each one, compared prices for the repair, distances from hotel and hours of service. This was all done cheerfully and with an great glad to help attitude, they later checked with me on the results, great service, excellent location and a vintage hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to major retailers such as Macy's in Union Square and an array of specialty boutques from Belgium chocolate to shoe stores. Also every block must have a small cafe for coffee and China Town is only 10-15 minutes away on foot. Location is one of the best features of this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cloverdale
Oct 25, 2008

great location for san fran

This hotel presented our best option for being near Union Square in San Fran. You can't beat the number of eating establishments, museums, cable car connections, and general fun. We never used our car even though we brought it. Walking was a delight, Chinatown too was around the corner. The staff were quick with papers, check in, and check out. You can go to their lobby for drinks and schmooz with the famous if you want and then still have money left over for dinner!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top