$153 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
random traveler0001
sacramento, ca
Feb 18, 2013

Convenient and Clean

The room was a good size, within walking distance to lots of places, nice water pressure for the shower. heater doesn't work, and the maid ignored the "Please Do Not Disturb" sign.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gatineau
Sep 15, 2008

Noisy but nice

The Beresford Hotel was very charming, well decorated but unfortunately a bit noisy. There was no bath tub in the room, no table and no chairs, not very practical for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A good herb chicken across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jun 24, 2008

Location

Great location - within walking distance to many attractions. Quaint but small older hotel - reminds me of an English lodge. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good bargain for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance to China Town. A little longer walk to Fisherman's Wharf which has lots of eating places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Mar 28, 2008

Great location and value

The Beresford Hotel was a great base for our family vacation to San Francisco. Although the rooms were small, we were barely in them due to sight seeing. The Hotel was centrally located to all public transit. The staff were friendly. We traveled with our four children ages 8, 6, 4, and 2, and my mother. Needless to say, if the hotel endured our family, and we felt welcomed and staff were helpful, then this hotel gets our repeat business!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was two blocks from the cable car stops!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 22, 2008

Excellent for Everyone

Overall great service, comfortable room, great location. My children and sister traveling with me were happy with the accommodations. Continental breakfast great way to start out each day, restaurant for dinner very enjoyable too. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close walk to great eats and trolley cars to other points. World class shopping near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Jun 26, 2007

Staff Friendly, Room Clean.

My recent stay at the Hotel Beresford was pleasant. It was very centrally located in Union Square. Very close to the cable cars (just one block). The only improvement I would suggest would be the mattresses. They are a little stiff, but sleepable! The hotel staff was very attentive to your needs, and always greeted you with a smile. The hotel is small, but very cozy. The continental breakfast consisted of croissants, pastries, OJ, coffee, varieties of fresh fruit, and cereal. Very good for a continental breakfast. One nice thing is that there is a Walgreens just 2 blocks away. It was nice to go and purchase small food items to keep in the room. They do have a honor mini bar, and the prices are very reasonable (i.e. $1.00 for a can of soda, $1.00 for bottle of OJ, and $1.00 for a bottle of water). They also had beer in the mini bar for reasonable amount. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to guests. Although the hotel doesn't have A/C, they do provide a box fan in the closet for your use. I would definitely suggest traveling with an extension cord. The plugs are few and far between. VERY GOOD HOTEL FOR THE PRICE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would definitely suggest purchasing the City Pass prior to your visit to San Francisco. It definitely pays for itself. The City Pass gives you 7 days of unlimited MUNI transportation (cable car, trolly, busses, etc.). Well worth the $$.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dighton
Jul 2, 2008

Great staff

Friendly staff, very helpful. Great location the cable car stops 1 block from hotel. The breakfast and dinner options were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Sep 12, 2007

Beresford A+

The Beresford Hotel is an excellent choice for a trip to San Francisco. The room was small, but very clean and comfortable. It's right in the heart of SF and within walking distance to many of the touristy things. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Beresford is just up the hill a couple of blocks from Union Square, where you can find all the good shops!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 2, 2008

My wife and I have never ...

My wife and I have never stayed in downtown San Francisco. Until recently, when we wanted to do something different to celebrate her birthday and be close to a huge monthly antiques fair across the Bay in Alameda. We selected the Beresford for its location in the Union Square area. We were very pleased. The establishment has its own charm. Our room was small, but everything was well-maintained. The Continental breakfast the next morning was an added bonus and made us wish we'd eaten dinner at the White Horse Pub (the Beresford house restaurant)the night before. There are alternatives to the big chains in San Francisco -- who knew? (Obviously, not us -- but we are glad we found out.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

For my wife, shopping IS entertainment, The hotel is close to Union Square without the hassle of the sleazoid atmosphere, Chinatown, restaurants, art galleries, theaters etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Apr 14, 2008

Nice Staff and good location

The Beresford Hotel was very nice if you like staying in older Historical buildings. The staff was very friendly and helpful with any request. One night when we got back late we discovered the TV wasn't working. The staff offered to move us to another room right away. There were plenty of Restaurants within walking distance along with the visitor center and the Cable Car turnaround. We had no problem getting to the other parts of the city. If you drive the Hotel had Valet parking for an additional $24 a day. It was well worth it. We just had to call the front desk and they would call when our car had arrived. A very good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good Italian place just up the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 7, 2008

Small, Friendly, Well Situated Hotel

The Beresford Hotel is a quiet remnant of the San Francisco of old. Although not updated, the hotel is kept immaculate and is situated in the heart of San Francisco. Great restaurants and bars are everywhere in the neighborhood. Very friendly staff. Powerful showers. At the very fair price charged, it's a charming little option in San Fran. Don't bring a car! As in most of the city, parking is outrageously expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the little bar right beside the building. Classic old school San Fran.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top