Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
walterd
Couples
Hungary
Jan 29, 2013

Nice for city visit

descent hotel with perfect location. It is close to the downtown, China Town and most of the attractiona like Wharf, Golden Gate or park are in close distance. The rooms are small and descent condition. Wifi only available on the first floor, no cabl econnection in the rooms. Breakfast is minimal, some bakery stuff, but it is nice. The value for the price is excellent, it is a cheap hotel with descent service and perfect location. Perfect for city visit for couple of days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

To rent a bicycle in SF is an excellent idea. Visit the Golden Gate recreational Area, ride along the Wharf, ride in the city is perfect time to spend time. There are nice bike rentals in the city everywhere with nice predefined routes. Mybe it is not cheap, but for sure worth for the money.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KonnieKatt
Single
Mtn. View, CA
May 26, 2014

Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars, and the the Geary and Curran theaters. China Town is not far away, nor is the Civic Center Plaza. The room was quite satisfactory and very clean. I took the bus on Geary out to the Legion of Honor and walked to Union Square and China Town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a nice Italian restaurant (Cesario's) in the Marines Memorial Building next door.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dreadhead joe
Business
Fresno, CA, USA
Feb 12, 2014

Great experiance

Everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel for a better value. The hotel was older and had a lil musty smell. Other than that, it was a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Champ123
Business
Madison, Wisconsin
Jan 18, 2014

Nice Place for those who do not want to spend a fortune in SF

The room is nothing special but for the price, it is clean, close to everything and the staff is great. The hotel is old but with that comes a bit of history. It is not the place for business as it did not have a full ironing board nor a desk. But the internet worked well and TV was great. If you want a big bed make sure you ask for it. I had 2 twins and the pillows were too big and I got a neck ache. The shower head was about 4 ft high and the water pressure low.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

To all the great theaters and restaurants

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Displaced Canuck
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 10, 2013

Beresford on Sutter

This hotel is a value for its money, but some simple upgrades would make it a place more would re-book each time in the area. No Wi-Fi except in the lobby - which becomes really crowded in the morning for that reason! Furniture (dressers) are pretty much falling apart. But, friendly people, and its cost, make it one to think about at least,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wright stuff
Couples
Arlington, MA
Nov 6, 2013

Perfect for us

My husband and I were looking for a San Francisco hotel for a long weekend. Low price and a convenient, safe location were our main considerations. The Beresford was a perfect choice. Our room was on the small side and a bit worn, but very clean. The hotel overall has it's own old style funky charm. The included breakfast included cereal, fresh fruit, coffee/tea/milk/juice, muffins, and croissants or Danish pastries every day. The Powell St BART station is perhaps 6 blocks away, so we easily made our way to the Beresford from the airport. The cable car also runs close to the hotel. All I all we were quite satisfied with the Beresford.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The small pub attached to the hotel has incredible lemon pepper wings.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Campers I
Couples
Walnut Creek, CA
Sep 3, 2013

Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location central to everything. We stay here a few times a year when we want to spend a night in the City. We are able to easily walk to and from North Beach and Fisherman's Wharf. No vehicle or cab necessary. Definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ian02054
Family
Millis, ma
Aug 25, 2013

Good value and location

Good spot near union square, simple breakfast included, coffee, juice and pastries. Rooms clean, helpful housekeeping staff. Not large rooms, but comfortable. No hairdrier in room, but front desk has them to lend out. Remote control on tv not fully working, tv's could do with an update. Overall, good value for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aussite
Couples
Australia
Jul 27, 2013

Stay at San Francisco

The room was small and very warm. However, having a buffet breakfast was an asset, as well as being well located. The staff were very helpful at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sftour
Couples
seattle
Apr 7, 2013

no internet in the room

no internet in the room, room space is small, it's not like a hotel, but like an inn. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miserables
Business
Colorado
Apr 7, 2013

Six days of Horror

A pathetic experience. They boast about free airport shuttle. But it is not free at all. No internet at room. Even the internet at the lobby is very slow. Breakfast is very ordinary. Overall, it is a nightmare with all false promises. I will never recommend anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top