$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
602 reviews
Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location... See full review

  • Happy Campers I
  • Sep 3, 2013
Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars,... See full review

  • KonnieKatt
  • May 26, 2014
Victorian style, family atmosphere and free breakfast near Union Square

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7887 -122.4109
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International and (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
Located near Powell Street Cable Car, China Town, theaters, shopping, dining, museums, galleries and nightclubs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (602)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
602 out of 602
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Nov 21, 2010

Good deal for the money

A good deal for the money. I had a nice-sized room with a queen size bed. Not much of a view (though I don't really care about that). The one thing I really wished they had was wireless internet in the rooms. You have to go down to the lobby to access it. But I found it to be clean and it worked for what I needed. Oh, and on [...] it says that they have a courtesy airport shuttle, but they don't and reported they never have, so that seems like an error by [...]. And the pub next door doesn't currently have a restaurant, though they do provide free popcorn and hot dogs in the evenings for patrons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chi from taiwan
Taiwan
Nov 21, 2010

Beresford Hotel

nice service, let us to upgrade our room for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chi from taiwan
Taiwan
Nov 21, 2010

Beresford Hotel

nice service, let us to upgrade our room for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birthday Suprise Trip
Fullerton, Ca
Nov 16, 2010

Beresford Arm Hotel

I took my bf to SF for the weekend just to get away. Found this great deal online. We arrived early and they didnt have any rooms available so they were nice enough to let us leave our stuff there while we do some shopping. When it was time to check in they could'nt find my name. The lady then realized that i was on the list for the other hotel. When i made my reservations it didnt mention there were two hotels with the same name. (Beresford Hotel and Beresford Arm Hotel...same owners) So we took our stuff and walked 3 blocks down. It was quite the work out. She gave us the wrong directions so we got lost. When we finally arrived it was much nicer than i expected. The service was great. The room had an amazing view and a small kitchen area. They had complimentary breakfast and free wine and cheese at 4:30pm, Its awsome!! The perfect location, within walking distance to all the major shops. Theres a shuttle service that can take you to the airport for $15 a person which beats a taxi cab. Overall very satisfied, we both agreed we will come back to this hotel for future trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

On my stay theres a show called Tony and Tina's wedding thats held at the parlor. Its a guranteed good time. look it up and make reservations before you go. Also the Go San Francisco city card really helps save a lot on the overall experience.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Nov 16, 2010

Good option for the price

The hotel was clean, staff was friendly and it was in a great location. A little noisy because there was some construction or something going on in the building behind the hotel. Otherwise, pleasurable experience and a free breakfast in the mornings. No air conditioning but there was a fan in the room and I hardly needed it since the weather was pretty cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Nov 16, 2010

Good option for the price

The hotel was clean, staff was friendly and it was in a great location. A little noisy because there was some construction or something going on in the building behind the hotel. Otherwise, pleasurable experience and a free breakfast in the mornings. No air conditioning but there was a fan in the room and I hardly needed it since the weather was pretty cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birthday Suprise Trip
Fullerton, Ca
Nov 16, 2010

Beresford Arm Hotel

I took my bf to SF for the weekend just to get away. Found this great deal online. We arrived early and they didnt have any rooms available so they were nice enough to let us leave our stuff there while we do some shopping. When it was time to check in they could'nt find my name. The lady then realized that i was on the list for the other hotel. When i made my reservations it didnt mention there were two hotels with the same name. (Beresford Hotel and Beresford Arm Hotel...same owners) So we took our stuff and walked 3 blocks down. It was quite the work out. She gave us the wrong directions so we got lost. When we finally arrived it was much nicer than i expected. The service was great. The room had an amazing view and a small kitchen area. They had complimentary breakfast and free wine and cheese at 4:30pm, Its awsome!! The perfect location, within walking distance to all the major shops. Theres a shuttle service that can take you to the airport for $15 a person which beats a taxi cab. Overall very satisfied, we both agreed we will come back to this hotel for future trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

On my stay theres a show called Tony and Tina's wedding thats held at the parlor. Its a guranteed good time. look it up and make reservations before you go. Also the Go San Francisco city card really helps save a lot on the overall experience.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicknames are lame:)
Thousand Oaks, CA
Nov 11, 2010

Great location, Outstanding staff

The hotel is just two blocks from Union Square in a very safe and walker friendly neighborhood. While we were there a tour group from Great Britain was there which added charm to the already old world ambiance. A previous poster mentioned the issues with getting their car from the valet service. Yes, due to parking issues in San Fran, you have to wait 15-30 minutes to have your car retrieved from a local parking garage, but they went above and beyond to make this part of the experience a positive one for us. They retrieved the car at no expense for us when we forgot an item after the car had already been parked. They also talked with the local parking garage to keep them from charging us for an extra day when we were just hours late to pick up the car. I overheard their advice to the Brits regarding recommendations for local restaurants and they did so with both enthusiasm and with great tips. I would highly recommend this hotel for its price, location, charm and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The adjoining pub and two Starbucks within a few blocks made this an easy stay:)

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicknames are lame:)
Thousand Oaks, CA
Nov 11, 2010

Great location, Outstanding staff

The hotel is just two blocks from Union Square in a very safe and walker friendly neighborhood. While we were there a tour group from Great Britain was there which added charm to the already old world ambiance. A previous poster mentioned the issues with getting their car from the valet service. Yes, due to parking issues in San Fran, you have to wait 15-30 minutes to have your car retrieved from a local parking garage, but they went above and beyond to make this part of the experience a positive one for us. They retrieved the car at no expense for us when we forgot an item after the car had already been parked. They also talked with the local parking garage to keep them from charging us for an extra day when we were just hours late to pick up the car. I overheard their advice to the Brits regarding recommendations for local restaurants and they did so with both enthusiasm and with great tips. I would highly recommend this hotel for its price, location, charm and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The adjoining pub and two Starbucks within a few blocks made this an easy stay:)

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Nov 9, 2010

Beresford Hotel

not bad - clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top