$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
363 out of 363
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Maria, CA
Jul 22, 2010

Uncomfortable, overpriced and musty

Room was small and had a musty odor. It was noisy all night and heavy hallway traffic. Clerk was not at all friendly. Would not recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Need good walking shoes for sightseening from this location.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nogales, Arizona
Jul 13, 2010

Perfect Getaway Location

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was easy to access local transit, sightseeing locations were close. Loved the little restaurant. Enjoyed our stay, very relaxing atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The areas everyone visits in San Francisco can easily be accessed from this area. We saw the main attractions and never had to drive our own vehicles.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Baggio
Business
St. Louis, mo
Jul 8, 2010

Disappointed, not worth it

Very small room, the carpet was very dirty, and there was no air-conditioning in the room. The front desk gave us a room next to the elevator, it was so noisy!!!! The street was not quiet neither. In addition, there was no wifi in the room, had to go downstairs. The breakfast was fine. Generally, it's not worthy to stay here. I could found a much better place in union square for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Baggio
Business
St. Louis, mo
Jul 8, 2010

Disappointed, not worth it

Very small room, the carpet was very dirty, and there was no air-conditioning in the room. The front desk gave us a room next to the elevator, it was so noisy!!!! The street was not quiet neither. In addition, there was no wifi in the room, had to go downstairs. The breakfast was fine. Generally, it's not worthy to stay here. I could found a much better place in union square for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jul 6, 2010

A very good value

Excellent location - safe part of town. Attractive common areas, clean room, friendly and helpful staff - good corner Italian Rest. - Cesarios, 2 blocks from Union Sq., and Cable car. Traveled with 8 Yr. old granddaughter. Two single beds were clean, bathroom was clean with plenty of hot water, elevator was unusually fast for an older hotel. It is not a Westin, Marriott or Ritz Carlton, but great for a 3 night stay at under $300 including tax. I had a quiet room (506) and I would stay there again. However if you can book a room at the Fairmont or Mark Hopkins at a special promotion under $200, this would be the place to go for a romantic getaway. Michael

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from the Tenderloin (north of Geary)and be careful south of Market.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa very hard to please
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 2, 2010

So European and wonderful

The price was great. The staff as helpful as possible. My friends stayed at a hotel on Nob Hill. I just walked up 3 blocks (uphill 20% grade)to meet them. It was great exercise and a nice morning and evening walk for me. I saved hundreds of dollars and loved my place as I felt as though I was in Europe again. There is a great free internet cafe/bar just a few doors up the street. On the same side of the street. They make really good drinks. Breakfast is served at this hotel to start your day off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You must try dinner at the "Slanted Door" located on the waterfront.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa very hard to please
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 2, 2010

So European and wonderful

The price was great. The staff as helpful as possible. My friends stayed at a hotel on Nob Hill. I just walked up 3 blocks (uphill 20% grade)to meet them. It was great exercise and a nice morning and evening walk for me. I saved hundreds of dollars and loved my place as I felt as though I was in Europe again. There is a great free internet cafe/bar just a few doors up the street. On the same side of the street. They make really good drinks. Breakfast is served at this hotel to start your day off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You must try dinner at the "Slanted Door" located on the waterfront.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
acting gal
Business
california
Jun 25, 2010

interesting.....

nice but too hot and unable to control the heat in the room...if we opened the window the noise from the street was overwhelming....liked the staff, location and room was clean...but will not return because of the the concerns...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
carol museum-goer and theatre-goer.
Business
Sherman Oaks, CA
May 20, 2010

Great place, the Beresford

This is the third time that we have been to this hotel. It has a great location (just two blocks north of Union Square and 1 1/2 blocks west of Powell. It is an old-time hotel. Spotless rooms, good elevator, good service. Nice continental breakfast and wonderful pub with great customers. The restaurant is currently not working because of the retro-fitting that is being done, but there are plenty of places to eat nearby. We'll keep going back there because we love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Day passes or 3-day pass lets you ride all buses, trams, and cable car (A great saving if you're going to be sightseeing all ovefr the city.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
May 6, 2010

could have been better

I was only in town for one night to see a concert. The restaurant was closed for redecorating,and the pub was small enough that the patrons were spilling out into the street at 9PM (there were only about twenty). I wouldn't recommend the place for more than a couple of nights,and most definitely not if you have children with you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short distance from union square where there is an abundance of shopping, eating, and other urban explorer type activities. There are at least three bus stops within a block and the muni staff are helpful. getting around town is no problem if you do not have any luggage.

Back to menu Return to top