$153 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
walterd
Hungary
Jan 29, 2013

Nice for city visit

descent hotel with perfect location. It is close to the downtown, China Town and most of the attractiona like Wharf, Golden Gate or park are in close distance. The rooms are small and descent condition. Wifi only available on the first floor, no cabl econnection in the rooms. Breakfast is minimal, some bakery stuff, but it is nice. The value for the price is excellent, it is a cheap hotel with descent service and perfect location. Perfect for city visit for couple of days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

To rent a bicycle in SF is an excellent idea. Visit the Golden Gate recreational Area, ride along the Wharf, ride in the city is perfect time to spend time. There are nice bike rentals in the city everywhere with nice predefined routes. Mybe it is not cheap, but for sure worth for the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
humboldt,ca
Oct 5, 2010

love this hotel

The staff was helpful and courteous even though it was a really busy weekend in the city! One staff member couldn't get through to a cab company on the phone so she spent fifteen minutes hailing us a cab on the street! What service! And the minibar was delightful with a very reasonable beresford brand house table wine, a small selection of beers and sodas. Very charming atmosphere and great location in the city for shopping and site seeing. We even stayed an extra night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
narman
Business
Sacramento, CA
Oct 4, 2010

Beresford Hotel

It was an overall nice hotel with a very good location and clean too but it was really old and the windows wouldn't close properly so we had a lot of noise in our room and the breakfast was not bad either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry C
Business
Nuneaton England
Sep 24, 2010

Value for money

This hotel is in an excellent location just a block away from Union Square. It's a great base to tour the city and has an excellent bar wich we took full advantage of. The bar does free snacks such as hot dogs etc. Breakfast was included and had a generous helping of croissants, pastries and cerials together with fruit and drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The hotel boasts it's own pub and it was excellent place to have a few drinks and unwind from touring around and discovering the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry C
Business
Nuneaton England
Sep 24, 2010

Value for money

This hotel is in an excellent location just a block away from Union Square. It's a great base to tour the city and has an excellent bar wich we took full advantage of. The bar does free snacks such as hot dogs etc. Breakfast was included and had a generous helping of croissants, pastries and cerials together with fruit and drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The hotel boasts it's own pub and it was excellent place to have a few drinks and unwind from touring around and discovering the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Middlesex County, NJ
Sep 8, 2010

great value

This was a very cute, quaint hotel for a great price! Staff was very helpful and friendly. Location was good-only a couple of blocks from trolley cars and buses. However, our three carry-on suitcases took up too much space in the small room and so there was hardly room to walk in certain areas. We would stay here again, probably for up to three nights, but not longer due to the limited room space for us (2 adults and 1 child).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel staff recommended we buy bargain transportation passes at Walgreens, which was only 2 to 3 blocks away. We bought the one day pass (they also offer a 3 day pass)and had unlimited use of San Francisco's trolleys, electric cable cars, and buses for the day. These passes are probably sold at other locations, too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 7, 2010

Best bang for your buck

To book the hotel for my SF trip, I've been reading all the reviews of the hotels and I decided that I will try the Beresford Hotel. Some of bad reviews made me little worried, but the price was unbeatable. When I got there, I noticed that the hotel was located in heart of downtown SF. A block from trolleys, two blocks from union square, which makes so easy to get from SFO by BART (Powell, ~25min) and go to fisherman's wharf. Most staffs were very nice and helpful. Even though the location is in the heart of downtown, the hotel was very quiet, and it had so many restaurants and cafes around it. Complimentary breakfast was nothing fancy, but nice to have (7-10am, menu: cereals, some pastries, fruits, and beverages) Complimentary internet access was only available on 1st floor, and there was a computer available for guest. For it's cons, this place had very out-dated decoration, dining hall, and room. The queen bed was not firm enough, the room had an old tube TV and little loud mini fridge. The shower booth in the bathroom was missing a handle bar. However, for the price I paid, I thought it was adequate place to stay. Clean, quiet, prime location, and cheap price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SUN
Business
Stevens Point, Wi
Sep 4, 2010

Great!!!

..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SUN
Business
Stevens Point, Wi
Sep 4, 2010

Great!!!

..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pune, India
Aug 28, 2010

Excellent location but overpriced

Excellent location but without airconditioning, tended to get very noisy whenever windows were opened. Housekeeping left much to be desired and the attending staff were choosy about whom to serve voluntarily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown for shopping and plenty of restaurants nearby. Whitehorse restaurant within the hotel was actually quite shoddy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hack driver
Business
baton rouge, la
Aug 25, 2010

nice place

it was comfortable, the staff were nice, enjoyed a couple beers in the pub, every thing worked, liked it a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top