$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
602 reviews
Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location... See full review

  • Happy Campers I
  • Sep 3, 2013
Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars,... See full review

  • KonnieKatt
  • May 26, 2014
Victorian style, family atmosphere and free breakfast near Union Square

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7887 -122.4109
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International and (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
Located near Powell Street Cable Car, China Town, theaters, shopping, dining, museums, galleries and nightclubs.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (602)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
602 out of 602
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
P.body
Sydney
Jan 4, 2011

Nice and easy

We went to see the sites of San Fran and the hotel is in a great location for that. We enjoyed the friendly staff and the easy going atmosphere of the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square is so close

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
P.body
Sydney
Jan 4, 2011

Nice and easy

We went to see the sites of San Fran and the hotel is in a great location for that. We enjoyed the friendly staff and the easy going atmosphere of the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square is so close

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
Dec 13, 2010

Great price and great location

Overall a great experience. The price was very reasonable, location was excellent...just a few blocks form the BART and a block form the street car line. Rooms were small but they were very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
Dec 13, 2010

Great price and great location

Overall a great experience. The price was very reasonable, location was excellent...just a few blocks form the BART and a block form the street car line. Rooms were small but they were very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tacoma, WA
Dec 11, 2010

Great!

Would definitely come back here. The staff was really awesome and nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Seniors with sore backs
Los Altos CA
Dec 9, 2010

Hard to reccomend

Our two twin bed room was tiny and the beds were as hard as a rock. The one window opened to a heating shaft that rumbled constantly. The room was hot and stuffy with only an old water radiator that could not be adjusted. The two small chairs in the room were very uncomfortable . We had come to the city to enjoy Union Square and all the city lights[...]. We were so uncomfortable in the room that we checked out after one night, and we would love to get a refund [...] for the unused night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Seniors with sore backs
Los Altos CA
Dec 9, 2010

Hard to reccomend

Our two twin bed room was tiny and the beds were as hard as a rock. The one window opened to a heating shaft that rumbled constantly. The room was hot and stuffy with only an old water radiator that could not be adjusted. The two small chairs in the room were very uncomfortable . We had come to the city to enjoy Union Square and all the city lights[...]. We were so uncomfortable in the room that we checked out after one night, and we would love to get a refund [...] for the unused night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fortuna, CA
Dec 7, 2010

Great l ocation for the price

We were in San Francisco to go to the opera. The Beresford Hotel's location was convenient for after the show dinner near Union Square. the room was comfortably appointed and pleasant. The soap amenities were a bit nicer than some other hotels we've stayed in. Altho there was no hair dryer in the room, i was able to get one from the front desk with no problem. the staff were pleasant and helpful. While the hotel is an older one, the hallways were clean and odor free. There was a free continental breakfast, but we didn't partake because it looked to be primarily sweet rolls and we wanted something more substantial. i would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be located in this part of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are many different restaurants within easy walking distance of this hotel.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fortuna, CA
Dec 7, 2010

Great l ocation for the price

We were in San Francisco to go to the opera. The Beresford Hotel's location was convenient for after the show dinner near Union Square. the room was comfortably appointed and pleasant. The soap amenities were a bit nicer than some other hotels we've stayed in. Altho there was no hair dryer in the room, i was able to get one from the front desk with no problem. the staff were pleasant and helpful. While the hotel is an older one, the hallways were clean and odor free. There was a free continental breakfast, but we didn't partake because it looked to be primarily sweet rolls and we wanted something more substantial. i would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be located in this part of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are many different restaurants within easy walking distance of this hotel.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend getawayLas
Las Vegas
Dec 6, 2010

Holiday getaway

Great location just a couple of blocks from union square. I have visited SF many times and have stayed at various locations. A small cozy hotel with some character and a nice staff. Will stay hers again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top