$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 24, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 8, 2007

Great location

This hotel was a great location - just a couple blocks to Union Square and Chinatown. Very friendly staff. Old hotel - kind of thin walls and the beds were kind of uncomfortable. But, good for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

cable car line

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zelia
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Feb 20, 2008

Cost-effective

This is an inexpensive hotel that offers a clean room to stay in a convenient location. The room and bathroom were small but well kept. I recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Max's restaurant on Mason and have a reuben. It is a memorable esperience.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seattle Heath
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 21, 2011

Great Location

Seamless checkin/checkout. The room didn't come with a hair dryer for my girlfriend but they have them available at the front desk upon request. Great location as it's only a few blocks from shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Biscuits & Blues is only 1 block away! Upstairs live entertainment is free if you get there before 7 I think. Good, spicy jambalaya. The connected White Horse bar is a great place to cap the night too.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kahaluu, hawaii
May 2, 2010

how lucky can one get?

i was in san fran to attend the dan reid bagpipe competition held at the marines hotel and the price there was rediculous for overnoc stay. beresford was right next store, at 1/3 the cost..how can i go wrong and the bulk of the weekend festivities hung out in the pub in beresford...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

downhill is a great cornbeef sandwich place..my favorite food in the world...just walked.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Maine
Apr 22, 2009

very good

I attended a meeting and my wife was a tourist. Would go there again and also recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Book Kitty
Business
Newark, CA
Aug 6, 2009

Good location!

We attended a private party at Ruby Skye on 7/28/09 and decided to stay at Beresford instead of driving home after the party. The room was small but clean. We got Room 516, which was at the back of the hotel and quiet. We had a pleasant stay. The restaurant was still closed when we stayed there. We left our small luggage at the hotel after we checked out the next day while we did touristy thing in SF the next day (riding the cable car, visiting the sea lions at Pier 39, etc.) We picked up our luggage at 5 pm and took BART home to Fremont. Overal a nice and convenient hotel and we'll definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 21, 2007

Awesome Location

The Beresford Hotel was small, but comfortable. There were three of us and space wasn't an issue. The room was a bit warm, but there was a fan in the room which helped a bit. The bathroom was small, but clean. The only problem was when taking a shower the tub filled up to your knees. We just took shorter showers. I loved the location of the hotel it was within walking distance to all the sites I wanted to see. It was about two blocks to Union Square and the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel also supplied valet parking for a reasonable price. It was great not having to worry about finding a spot. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 1, 2008

Great locationl

If you are looking to break away from the standard, commercial hotel experience, the Beresford is the place for you. Some of the perks: free breakfast, close to Union Square, and easy access to the cable cars. Some of the pitfalls: modest room (although all the necessary amenities), one elevator (large group check-in/outs may cause delays). Overall, a very positive experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
Aug 11, 2008

good staff

The staff at the Beresford were all very helpful, friendly, and accomodating. Everything seemed to be very clean and upkept. I was disappointed though, because one of the big reasons I chose this hotel was so I could walk down and enjoy the attached pub/restaurant.... well i stayed there a sunday/monday and was so sad to find those two days the White Horse Pub/Restaurant is closed! But overall it was a good experience at the Beresford.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

just a short walk from great shopping in union square!!

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 12, 2007

My review of Beresford Hotel

Nice location. Easy walk to many things. Staff helpful and friendly. Our room was smaller than I had thought it would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top