$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
View map of 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
339 out of 339
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Conference guy
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Apr 21, 2013

Very good

A very pleasant and inexpensive hotel located in the heart of San Francisco. It is easy to get to from the Powell St. BART stop. A very good buy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Donza76
Business
Iowa
Oct 21, 2010

Beresford Hotel is a good value!

This was our first trip to San Francisco. The Beresford was a good hotel for us, because it was affordable and close to the cable car line and Union Square. We bought the transportation passes so that we could use any public transportation in the city and that was well worth the money. It made the trip to Fisherman's Wharf very easy. The complimentaty breakfast was a pleasant surprise and we had fun talking to a couple from Germany while we ate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SLC, UT
Oct 12, 2010

For the price, it can't be beat!

I attended a conference in the city so I did not spend a great deal of time in the hotel. It was clean, the staff was helpful, and the location is superb - easy to walk to all the cool places of SF and easy to use public transportation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great wine bar off Post Street called The Hidden Vine in the Fitzgerald Hotel. Very knowledgeable staff and interesting decor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Oct 11, 2010

quick visit

initial confusion when I requested that they add the second member of my party to the reservation in the event that she arrived at the hotel before me. Lots of confusion with parking and their valet service the next day. In the end, it all worked out but it was somewhat frustrating to get straight answers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of restaurants in close proximity. There is a cute pub next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
humboldt,ca
Oct 5, 2010

love this hotel

The staff was helpful and courteous even though it was a really busy weekend in the city! One staff member couldn't get through to a cab company on the phone so she spent fifteen minutes hailing us a cab on the street! What service! And the minibar was delightful with a very reasonable beresford brand house table wine, a small selection of beers and sodas. Very charming atmosphere and great location in the city for shopping and site seeing. We even stayed an extra night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
narman
Business
Sacramento, CA
Oct 4, 2010

Beresford Hotel

It was an overall nice hotel with a very good location and clean too but it was really old and the windows wouldn't close properly so we had a lot of noise in our room and the breakfast was not bad either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry C
Business
Nuneaton England
Sep 24, 2010

Value for money

This hotel is in an excellent location just a block away from Union Square. It's a great base to tour the city and has an excellent bar wich we took full advantage of. The bar does free snacks such as hot dogs etc. Breakfast was included and had a generous helping of croissants, pastries and cerials together with fruit and drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The hotel boasts it's own pub and it was excellent place to have a few drinks and unwind from touring around and discovering the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Middlesex County, NJ
Sep 8, 2010

great value

This was a very cute, quaint hotel for a great price! Staff was very helpful and friendly. Location was good-only a couple of blocks from trolley cars and buses. However, our three carry-on suitcases took up too much space in the small room and so there was hardly room to walk in certain areas. We would stay here again, probably for up to three nights, but not longer due to the limited room space for us (2 adults and 1 child).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel staff recommended we buy bargain transportation passes at Walgreens, which was only 2 to 3 blocks away. We bought the one day pass (they also offer a 3 day pass)and had unlimited use of San Francisco's trolleys, electric cable cars, and buses for the day. These passes are probably sold at other locations, too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 7, 2010

Best bang for your buck

To book the hotel for my SF trip, I've been reading all the reviews of the hotels and I decided that I will try the Beresford Hotel. Some of bad reviews made me little worried, but the price was unbeatable. When I got there, I noticed that the hotel was located in heart of downtown SF. A block from trolleys, two blocks from union square, which makes so easy to get from SFO by BART (Powell, ~25min) and go to fisherman's wharf. Most staffs were very nice and helpful. Even though the location is in the heart of downtown, the hotel was very quiet, and it had so many restaurants and cafes around it. Complimentary breakfast was nothing fancy, but nice to have (7-10am, menu: cereals, some pastries, fruits, and beverages) Complimentary internet access was only available on 1st floor, and there was a computer available for guest. For it's cons, this place had very out-dated decoration, dining hall, and room. The queen bed was not firm enough, the room had an old tube TV and little loud mini fridge. The shower booth in the bathroom was missing a handle bar. However, for the price I paid, I thought it was adequate place to stay. Clean, quiet, prime location, and cheap price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SUN
Business
Stevens Point, Wi
Sep 4, 2010

Great!!!

..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pune, India
Aug 28, 2010

Excellent location but overpriced

Excellent location but without airconditioning, tended to get very noisy whenever windows were opened. Housekeeping left much to be desired and the attending staff were choosy about whom to serve voluntarily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown for shopping and plenty of restaurants nearby. Whitehorse restaurant within the hotel was actually quite shoddy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top