$141 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Beresford Hotel

2 stars
635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
369 reviews
Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location... See full review

  • Happy Campers I
  • Sep 3, 2013
Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars,... See full review

  • KonnieKatt
  • May 26, 2014
Victorian style, family atmosphere and free breakfast near Union Square

Comfort, hospitality and convenience are plentiful at the Hotel Beresford, a quaint family-owned hotel blocks from the action of San Francisco's Union Square. From the street, the Victorian-style building looks like an apartment complex. Inside, however, cozy touches such as tufted chairs and whitewashed wood present a down-home feel. This feeling extends to the White Horse Tavern, the on-site restaurant, where pints outnumber flutes and the jukebox is always on.

Highlights
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown and City Hall
  • On-site tavern is a replica of an old English pub
  • Refrigerated honor bars in every room
Rooms

Efficiency trumps luxury at the Beresford. All of the property's 114 rooms come standard with private bathrooms, refrigerated honor bars and satellite television. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Hotel Beresford is all about location; it sits two blocks from Union Square, where visitors can catch cable cars to numerous other parts of the city, including Fisherman's Wharf, the Financial District and more. It's also a short walk to Chinatown, City Hall or the Theater District. The hotel boasts knowledgeable staff members who can suggest itineraries for exploring town.


All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast daily, as well as access to a public Internet terminal in the lobby.

 

Dining

Old England comes alive inside the White Horse Restaurant and Tavern, the on-site eatery. The establishment offers pre-theater dinner specials for patrons rushing to catch a show. It also serves Harp and Guinness, two mainstays of United Kingdom pub life.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (5 minutes walking)
  • BART (10 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Moscone Convention Center
Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Please check with the property prior to booking a pet-acceptable room (fees apply).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7887 -122.4109
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International and (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
Located near Powell Street Cable Car, China Town, theaters, shopping, dining, museums, galleries and nightclubs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Beresford Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room includes a queen bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV/VCR, iron/ board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Dining

White Horse Restaurant
The White Horse Restaurant and Pub is located in the Beresford Hotel at 635 Sutter St., San Francisco. A neighborhood establishment where you will enjoy generous servings of quality food without the expense. Dinner is served Tuesday thru Saturday from 5:30pm to 10:00pm. Step in for a pre-show dinner or an after-show cocktail in our cozy English pub. Come and check our menus and prices and find the best-kept secret in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (369)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
369 out of 369
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thirty something teacher
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 16, 2013

Charge for hotel pick up

I liked the hotel a lot but I was surprised that I was charged for the hotel shuttle. I thought that if a hotel says they have a shuttle that it was included in the price. The hotel has flavor. The red carpets and yellow walls make it beautiful. The room and the bathroom were a bit small and cramped but it didn't bother me. I would not have wanted to share the room with a second person. It was very hot the first night there. I opened the window and it cooled off. The next night was colder but still comfortable. There was not a way to adjust the heat in the room. Overall I was happy and I would stay there again if I return to San Fran.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KonnieKatt
Mtn. View, CA
May 26, 2014

Great Location for my Destinations

The Beresford is ideally located for the tourist who wants to be near Union Square, the cable cars, and the the Geary and Curran theaters. China Town is not far away, nor is the Civic Center Plaza. The room was quite satisfactory and very clean. I took the bus on Geary out to the Legion of Honor and walked to Union Square and China Town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a nice Italian restaurant (Cesario's) in the Marines Memorial Building next door.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dreadhead joe
Business
Fresno, CA, USA
Feb 12, 2014

Great experiance

Everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel for a better value. The hotel was older and had a lil musty smell. Other than that, it was a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Champ123
Business
Madison, Wisconsin
Jan 18, 2014

Nice Place for those who do not want to spend a fortune in SF

The room is nothing special but for the price, it is clean, close to everything and the staff is great. The hotel is old but with that comes a bit of history. It is not the place for business as it did not have a full ironing board nor a desk. But the internet worked well and TV was great. If you want a big bed make sure you ask for it. I had 2 twins and the pillows were too big and I got a neck ache. The shower head was about 4 ft high and the water pressure low.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

To all the great theaters and restaurants

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Displaced Canuck
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 10, 2013

Beresford on Sutter

This hotel is a value for its money, but some simple upgrades would make it a place more would re-book each time in the area. No Wi-Fi except in the lobby - which becomes really crowded in the morning for that reason! Furniture (dressers) are pretty much falling apart. But, friendly people, and its cost, make it one to think about at least,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wright stuff
Arlington, MA
Nov 6, 2013

Perfect for us

My husband and I were looking for a San Francisco hotel for a long weekend. Low price and a convenient, safe location were our main considerations. The Beresford was a perfect choice. Our room was on the small side and a bit worn, but very clean. The hotel overall has it's own old style funky charm. The included breakfast included cereal, fresh fruit, coffee/tea/milk/juice, muffins, and croissants or Danish pastries every day. The Powell St BART station is perhaps 6 blocks away, so we easily made our way to the Beresford from the airport. The cable car also runs close to the hotel. All I all we were quite satisfied with the Beresford.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The small pub attached to the hotel has incredible lemon pepper wings.

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Campers I
Walnut Creek, CA
Sep 3, 2013

Labor Day Stay

No surprises. You get exactly what you pay for. Staff friendly enough, room nice enough, location central to everything. We stay here a few times a year when we want to spend a night in the City. We are able to easily walk to and from North Beach and Fisherman's Wharf. No vehicle or cab necessary. Definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ian02054
Millis, ma
Aug 25, 2013

Good value and location

Good spot near union square, simple breakfast included, coffee, juice and pastries. Rooms clean, helpful housekeeping staff. Not large rooms, but comfortable. No hairdrier in room, but front desk has them to lend out. Remote control on tv not fully working, tv's could do with an update. Overall, good value for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aussite
Australia
Jul 27, 2013

Stay at San Francisco

The room was small and very warm. However, having a buffet breakfast was an asset, as well as being well located. The staff were very helpful at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
midwife
Business
ashland
Jun 23, 2013

conference

The motel for the price was great. Near pioneer square. Walking distance to shopping and my conference can not complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of palces to eat near this hotel

Review of Beresford Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Conference guy
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Apr 21, 2013

Very good

A very pleasant and inexpensive hotel located in the heart of San Francisco. It is easy to get to from the Powell St. BART stop. A very good buy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search