Beresford Arms Hotel

3 stars
View map of 701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
160 reviews
Business travel for event

I stay here with a colleague for an event at beginning of May. Very cool place! Room very large and... See full review

  • Marco D.
  • Jun 16, 2015
Well run hotel in good location with large junior suite bedooms and bathrooms

Loved the free breakfast and wine and cheese, the jacuzzi bath and very comfortable beds in the... See full review

  • Gillian M.
  • May 9, 2015
The Beresford Arms Hotel is a family owned property offering a spacious, elegant lobby and a wide selection of tastefully decorated handsomely furnished rooms and suites. All units are complete with honor bars, direct dial telephones, data ports, writing desks and color television/VCR combos. The suites feature whirlpool baths with shower, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or fully equipped kitchenette. A warm welcome awaits you, and the gracious hospitality of the friendly staff, complimented by the attractive accommodations make the Beresford Arms an ideal choice while visiting the delightful city of San Francisco.

We look forward to being your host for a delightful visit to our exciting City by the Bay. Relax in the comfort of our spacious rooms and suites and enjoy our gracious hospitality in a setting of San Francisco Victorian charm and elegance. All of our suites are complete with whirlpool baths, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or kitchenette.

Only two blocks to Union Square and the Cable Cars running to Telegraph Hill, Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. An easy walk to fine shops, theatres, Chinatown, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and Museum of Modern Art.

At the Beresford Arms Hotel we do accept pets for a $25 fee, per pet, per stay. Please check with the property prior booking a pet acceptable room.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Arms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Beresford Arms Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite w/ Jacuzzi
Jacuzzi junior suite is one large room with 2 queen beds, oversized Jacuzzi whirlpool bathtub with shower, either a kitchen or wet bar, fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR and iron/board.
Standard Room
Standard room with queen bed features a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR, iron/board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Services
Business center
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Arms Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 160
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John
Business
N/A
Apr 21, 2015

Perfect for us!

Staff and service was excellent. Room was larger than expected, very clean, and well maintained. Great location for access to all parts of city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
paula
Business
N/A
Feb 13, 2015

vacations

The Hotel is nice. Have a good breakfast and if you are inside of it around 16:30 to 18:00 the have a time to share wine and cheese or tea with cookies. It's in the middle so you have to take bus or taxi to go to The Golden Gate Bridge or Park. If you want to go to the pier you may walk. The rooms aren't so big but the space is enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katie C.
Business
Portland
Jan 24, 2015

Great Time

We had a great date night at the Beresford Arms. Location is walking distance from the center of Union Square. Nice happy hour with wine and (very basic) cheese and crackers. Overall great experience for the price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katie C.
Business
Portland
Jan 21, 2015

Great SF Date Night

We flew in to San Francisco and were staying in the city for a date night before visiting family in the suburbs the rest of the weekend. We had a rental car and pulled right up to the hotel, where they valet parked us for $30 (cheaper than the shuttle to and from the airport, which is apparently $17 per person each way). We walked in around 5:30pm, to be greeted by a wine, cheese, and crackers happy hour. Our room was big and spacious and surprisingly had a full kitchen. This is a cute old hotel for a weekend in SF, and the price was the best we could find. It is walking distance from Market Street, where we walked and took public transportation around town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaxon1127677
Business
Henderson, NV
Jan 27, 2014

Very good location

We enjoyed our stay, there is no air conditioner and it was unusually hot. We told the front desk and they supplied us a fan and extension cord. We were very comfortable after that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Honey honey

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bemahone
Business
Astoria, New York
Jan 22, 2014

Perfectly Sized Room

The Beresford Arms Hotel was a really nice place to stay for a long weekend in San Francisco. Our Queen room was the perfect size and was a great home away from home for our four night stay. Though it isn't the most modern hotel, everything was clean and comfortable. The common areas were really lovely and welcoming! Breakfast was provided, and was a happy hour with win, cheese, and juice boxes. The staff is very attentive and helpful! We had a little bit of trouble connecting to the wireless, but that could have been the location of our room, as we had no trouble in the lobby. You are just blocks from Union Square and very close to restaurants and amenities in Nob Hill, as well as being very close to lots of Asian inspired restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Olea for brunch in Nob Hill was excellent--get the French Toast!

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
St. Louie traveller
Business
USA
Nov 20, 2013

Very disappointing

Overpriced and disappointing...rooms definitely not sound proof...wifi non existent in room and couldn't even get signal in lobby...mildew smell in hall...overall worn condition...poor breakfast...wine okay in afternoon. Overall disappointing experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GaryB
Business
Scotland
Sep 16, 2013

Our USA Holiday

San Francisco was the second city in our tour of the USA. Beresford Arms hotel is in a very good central location within walking distance of Powell Street and Union Square. Hotel is a little dated, but the staff were very friendly and the evening complimentary wine was very welcome after a long day. Price was reasonable given the location and that continental breakfast was included. I would return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clayton the skipper
Business
phoenix
Jul 8, 2013

First timer in city

Hotel was the cleanest, and the old time architecture was awesome. Never tired of looking around lobby etc.The staff was also very accomodating.You could also walk to many attractictions from its location. Would recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UltraBrit
Business
Norwalk, CT
May 1, 2013

Perfect and Quaint

The staff at this hotel were the sweetest and most helpful people you could ever ask for. The wine and cheese hour and the breakfast being setup in a living room style area by the main lobby was a very nice touch. The location was very convenient to Union Square. We just wish we could have stayed another night or two. Would most certainly go back there next time we are in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top