$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Beresford Arms Hotel

3 stars
701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
143 reviews
Nice afternoon tea, but wifi sucks

The hotel offers afternoon tea, together with wine, free! But the wifi signal is really bad! See full review

  • Iris1997
  • Nov 13, 2014
Fantastic family getaway

Good value for the money. Would stay again if in Sfo area. See full review

  • Americandesi
  • Nov 9, 2014
The Beresford Arms Hotel is a family owned property offering a spacious, elegant lobby and a wide selection of tastefully decorated handsomely furnished rooms and suites. All units are complete with honor bars, direct dial telephones, data ports, writing desks and color television/VCR combos. The suites feature whirlpool baths with shower, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or fully equipped kitchenette. A warm welcome awaits you, and the gracious hospitality of the friendly staff, complimented by the attractive accommodations make the Beresford Arms an ideal choice while visiting the delightful city of San Francisco.

We look forward to being your host for a delightful visit to our exciting City by the Bay. Relax in the comfort of our spacious rooms and suites and enjoy our gracious hospitality in a setting of San Francisco Victorian charm and elegance. All of our suites are complete with whirlpool baths, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or kitchenette.

Only two blocks to Union Square and the Cable Cars running to Telegraph Hill, Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. An easy walk to fine shops, theatres, Chinatown, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and Museum of Modern Art.

At the Beresford Arms Hotel we do accept pets for a $25 fee, per pet, per stay. Please check with the property prior booking a pet acceptable room.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Arms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Beresford Arms Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite w/ Jacuzzi
Jacuzzi junior suite is one large room with 2 queen beds, oversized Jacuzzi whirlpool bathtub with shower, either a kitchen or wet bar, fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR and iron/board.
Standard Room
Standard room with queen bed features a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR, iron/board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Services
Business center
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (143)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Arms Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 143
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MeniTravel
Business
New York City
Apr 15, 2014

Great getaway or 1 night stay near the Airport

I'd recommend the place to anyone looking to get a B&B feeling or needing a place for 1 night ! Pro The rooms are very clean, and came with a cookies! The room was large Toilet and bathroom were also big and clean Staff was super friendly and very helpful Con breakfast was a joke No air con No safety box in the room Shower had week pressure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket right across the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
porksauce
Business
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Mar 28, 2014

For the money its pretty good

For that proximity to downtown there is not much better for the money than here. The building is a bit older and their is some crazy pigeon stuff going on in the back, but the staff was great and I was certainly surprised by the wine and cheese in the lobby in the early evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fabriziovlp
Business
Rome, Italy
Feb 18, 2013

Beresford Arms Hotel

A good place, big rooms (mine had a full kitchen inside), free breakfast (limited choice) , good position in the city (not far from Union Square) and good, free Internet connection, The building and the rooms are old, but that is part of the hotel fashion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAPT
Business
Harrisburg, PA, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Quaint Hotel - Spacious Room

The room I was in was quite spacious for the price. Clearly a historical building not pretending to be anything else. While I could not hear anyone if the rooms next to me, I could hear all outside activity through the night. That was the only drawback that I experienced. For a heavy sleeper - no problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A great grocery/deli is accross the street - good prices, good food and anything you'll need.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
May 3, 2011

Great deal at an awesome location

After reading the reviews about the Beresford Arms Hotel and needing a last minute hotel room in SF for one night, I decided to try it out. I found a great deal for the night ($105 plus tax) and was very pleased with the spacious suite I stayed in. I requested a high floor to avoid the noise of the city and was upgraded to a large suite with a jacuzzi tub - more than I expected given the low cost. The bedroom had two double beds and the living room a murphy bed. It would have been comfy for a whole family. I found the staff pleasant, the rooms clean and the building charming. It's not modern and trendy but an old classic. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Apr 30, 2011

Good value

Location- this place has it! Think older European hotel...very clean room. Very close to the main downtown of SF; which overall is kind of seedy. But vibrant! If you strongly want the feel of a Hilton or a Best Western this hotel is not for you. It was very quiet, supplied the modest breakfast and wine hour as promised; had the basics and a few pluses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Clanky Pipes
Business
Seattle, Wa.
Feb 16, 2011

Clanky Pipes

While the Hotel was generally clean. It reminded me of a boarding house - comfortable beds, no controls for hot or cold air. At 4:45am the pipes started growling as if someone was beating them in submission - this went on for 10 minutes. Needless to say I was awake for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teddifish
Business
Clemson, SC
Feb 7, 2011

Lovely Old Hotel (but noisy!)

I wanted a place with personality and atmosphere, and the Beresford Arms has both, plus a convenient location--not far from Union Square, public transportation, and places to eat. The hotel is old, but that is its charm. The people, especially the young man who served breakfast and wine, were friendly and helpful. The only problem, as other reviewers have noted, is the noise from the radiators. The first night I arrived late, went to sleep about 2:00 and was promptly startled back awake by what sounded like someone banging pipes together in my room. I called the front desk and was told maintenance would look at it the next day. Night two, no noise! I thought the problem had been corrected, but night three, the clanging returned. Another call to the front desk resulted in a room change and a promise to reduce the price of the room for the inconvenience. Night four I spent in another room, where it was a little quieter, but still audible, making me a sad, tired, Panda by the time I left. :-( No reduction was given at checkout. :-( If it weren't for the noise, I'd give this hotel an A. As it is, it would be perfect for deaf travelers, but a little less than perfect for the rest of us. Still a good value--just be ready for the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Gatos, CA
Dec 7, 2010

Reasonable for the Price and Location

The rooms have been refurbished since last time I was there, which is always nice. I stayed in a two queen sized bed junior suite - and it wasn't expensive - it was great to have a small fridge, microwave, plates, utensils, etc. The room was very clean. I'm always a little nervous after watching all those news shows that put a black light on areas of the room and show you what's really there. That said, in this room the bathroom was pristine, the little kitchenette, and the bed (even the bed covers) were very clean. Not so sure about the throw pillows, I usually toss those on a chair somewhere anyway, just to be safe. Beds were okay. Whatever they wash the sheets in they need to put in a fabric conditioner because they were itchy. Usually if they put a lot of bleach in the wash it starts to destroy the fabric - and makes it harsh and itchy. The pillows were more like stones with pillow cases on - could definitely do with an upgrade there. It seems as though they have improved the windows - as there is less noise than before. However in a city, you will always have street noise - it's part of the charm. No air conditioning, which in winter is fine - however in the summer, these rooms could get pretty hot. They do have two large fans in the closet. They had a small heater that made all sort of noises during the night but after you got used to them they didn't really disturb that much - only problem, I couldn't find out where to turn the darn thing on. It wasn't that cold, so I didn't bother calling down to the front desk. The happy hour is a little stingy - from 4:30 to 5:30 pm - most other hotels are 4:00 to 6:00 pm. The complimentary breakfast hours are more reasonable 7:00 am to 10:00 am. The front desk was a little gruff, not very interested or helpful. The guy when I arrived seemed like he wanted to be somewhere else. The lady in the morning however was very officious but at least helpful and a little nicer. The nicest person there was the housekeeper who was very pleasant and helpful. I actually would have expected better service given it's supposed to be a family hotel. Given that you are probably going to be out of the room most of the day - the location is great. However do get them to point out the tenderloin district and the "not so safe areas" because you are staying right on the edge of it. And I did see a panhandler harass some tourists while I was there, which is illegal. If you're looking for a great location at a reasonable price, and are not so fussy about service this is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kyokos Japanese Restaurant - a hole in the wall restaurant on the outside, full of ambience and great sushi inside - fresh sushi, flown in from Japan. Located at 619 Taylor St (between Cosmo Pl & Post St) -A little hard to find - look for the Japanese awning and go down the stairs. Serves food until 2:00 am. (415) 775-1028 www.ryokos.com

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angels Romeo
Business
los angeles
Jun 27, 2010

Good Value!!!!

I gave this hotel a 4/5 but really it deserves more like a 3.5/5... I liked it, but was not crazy about it... But,for the price, overall this hotel is a great value. The hotel itself is cute and charming... The rooms were nice enough and very clean.It is in a great location close to Union square. The hotel staff was friendly. The complimentry continental breakfast which consisted of crosaints, danishes and donuts and free coffee were a plus. My only complaint with this hotel is that the beds were not all that comfortable... think cheap hard matress. The bedding was pretty mediocre too... the sheets were rough and the blankets were too small for the bed(I am spoiled from my bed at home). Also, the room was noisey!!! They really need to replace their single pane windows with some double pane. I had a very disrupted sleep due to street noise. We had a standard room, but oddly enough, our bathroom came with a very strange jaccuzzi tub that was almost more like a foot spa... which didn't keep us from trying it... we actually really enjoyed it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The cable cars are almost impossible to catch, they are almost always full unless you hop on at the main station. ... if you buy the day pass you may be disapointed that you will be unable to use it as much as you would have liked...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top