$248 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Beresford Arms Hotel

3 stars
View map of 701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
149 reviews
Business travel for event

I stay here with a colleague for an event at beginning of May. Very cool place! Room very large and... See full review

  • Marco D.
  • Jun 16, 2015
Well run hotel in good location with large junior suite bedooms and bathrooms

Loved the free breakfast and wine and cheese, the jacuzzi bath and very comfortable beds in the... See full review

  • Gillian M.
  • May 9, 2015
The Beresford Arms Hotel is a family owned property offering a spacious, elegant lobby and a wide selection of tastefully decorated handsomely furnished rooms and suites. All units are complete with honor bars, direct dial telephones, data ports, writing desks and color television/VCR combos. The suites feature whirlpool baths with shower, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or fully equipped kitchenette. A warm welcome awaits you, and the gracious hospitality of the friendly staff, complimented by the attractive accommodations make the Beresford Arms an ideal choice while visiting the delightful city of San Francisco.

We look forward to being your host for a delightful visit to our exciting City by the Bay. Relax in the comfort of our spacious rooms and suites and enjoy our gracious hospitality in a setting of San Francisco Victorian charm and elegance. All of our suites are complete with whirlpool baths, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or kitchenette.

Only two blocks to Union Square and the Cable Cars running to Telegraph Hill, Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. An easy walk to fine shops, theatres, Chinatown, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and Museum of Modern Art.

At the Beresford Arms Hotel we do accept pets for a $25 fee, per pet, per stay. Please check with the property prior booking a pet acceptable room.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Arms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Beresford Arms Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite w/ Jacuzzi
Jacuzzi junior suite is one large room with 2 queen beds, oversized Jacuzzi whirlpool bathtub with shower, either a kitchen or wet bar, fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR and iron/board.
Standard Room
Standard room with queen bed features a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR, iron/board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Services
Business center
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Arms Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
funtimers
Business
Stallion Springs, California
Jan 23, 2012

Disappointing

This was a return visit, our first being very nice. And comfortable. However, our room this time was a fraction of the size of the one on our first visit and the smallest we have ever seen qualifying as a hotel room. The bed was exceedingly uncomfortable and the furnishings very weathered, looking like the room had not been refurbished in decades. What a disappointment! Add to that the $24/day valet fee for parking our car, we will look for a better deal next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
St. Louie traveller
Business
USA
Nov 20, 2013

Very disappointing

Overpriced and disappointing...rooms definitely not sound proof...wifi non existent in room and couldn't even get signal in lobby...mildew smell in hall...overall worn condition...poor breakfast...wine okay in afternoon. Overall disappointing experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ChineseNewYearTourist
Business
Hanford, Ca
Feb 13, 2012

Building Showing Its Age

The building is in need of a renovation. The view from our window was of an even more dilapidated building than this one. Be careful not get a room that ends with 15, because it is literally right next to the elevator. The room does have a little kitchen though, with a full size refrigerator, stove, sink, etc. The location is fairly close to Union Square, but unfortunately also pretty close to the Tenderloin district too (not a good neighborhood). The staff was pleasant enough. One nice perk is the tea and wine hour every evening in the lobby. Valet parking was $27 and some change, after tax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you will using public transportation to get around the city (including cable cars) , buy a Muni Passport which is $14 for an unlimited numbers of uses in one day. Otherwise the cable cars are $6 per ride with no transfers. There is a grocery store nearby that you can buy them, Sutter Fine Foods, on the corner of Hyde and Sutter.

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 25, 2008

check-in very bad

One man at check-in was so rude that it made our out look of the hotel worse than it should've been. We will not return to this hotel. The decor in the room is in desperate need of an update. The good thing was not about the hotel...the Italian restaurant accross the street was GREAT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is two blocks away. China Town is about six. Remember, everything is uphill in San Fran!

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Geeky Tecky
Business
Mountain View, CA
Jul 31, 2010

Little creepy and mean but nice beds

We just wanted to stay in a hotel for a night so we can explore San Francisco till the wee hours of the night (unfortunately we couldn't be cause of age restrictions but thats another matter). The hotel is old -- it may appeal to some but it gave this creepy vibe that you hear horror stories about. The furniture is probably from the 90's but if you're looking for a rustic ambiance, it might be the right place for you. The morning/day staff is really nice and helpful but the night staff was really mean. First, she snarled at us as if we weren't guess when we were going to our rooms. Then when I tried to ask her for an ice bucket, she just snarled that there was already one in my room (and told me to look in the wrong place). Well, you get what you pay for and I guess for the area, its was a decent price... but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone I considered a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Theres a deli/bodega across the street to get drinks instead of paying the hotel and you're really close to a lot. We went to a nice Japanese restaurant around the block and Union Square is 2-3 blocks away.

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paradise
Oct 25, 2008

nice appearance but noisy

the room & furnishings were pretty nice and comfortable, and the jacuzzi was the best. I loved it. There was an actual bidette in the junior sweet. There was a lot of noise outside and either above us or down the halls. There was a child running up and down the halls at midnight, over and over. I was unable to sleep most of the night but my guests slept fine. It would be nice to have air conditioning for both cooling and white noise. There were people partying hard outside and you could see there shadows on the opposite walls, They were screaming too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brea, CA
Nov 9, 2010

Not what I expected

First the good: The staff was very nice, the hotel and the room were clean and in a short walking distance to a nice shopping/restaurant area. Now the bad: THERE IS NO CLIMATE CONTROL IN THE ROOMS! (NO A/C OR HEATER!!) It happened to be very hot that day and my child could not sleep all night because it was sooo hot! So I opened the windows and then I couldn't sleep either because I was afraid some transient/prowler might try to get in. The windows in our room (#810) opened to the fire escape ladder - which anyone could have easily just climbed right up (there are no screens either). The locks on the window are the chain/bolt usually used on doors which allowed enough space for me to easily slip in and out of - which also means any intruder can get in/out too! Don't get me started on the noise level - we were on 8th floor which is really the 5th floor because the street entry lobby is on the 3rd floor - and we heard people yelling/partying, ambulances, etc ALL NIGHT!! The internet connection is turned off at night ("to save electricity") - really! Couldn't believe it! And lastly, the breakfast was recycled donoughts and coffee - I actually saw the guy putting some of the doughnuts back into the box to save for the next day! None of this was shared on any of the other comments from people - so I was completely caught off guard. Needless to say, we checked out immediately in the a.m. and went to a better hotel. The guy behind the desk asked no questions when I told him we were leaving after only 1 night - seemed like this was a frequent happening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Loads of shopping just a few blocks away - all down the hill! :)

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Clanky Pipes
Business
Seattle, Wa.
Feb 16, 2011

Clanky Pipes

While the Hotel was generally clean. It reminded me of a boarding house - comfortable beds, no controls for hot or cold air. At 4:45am the pipes started growling as if someone was beating them in submission - this went on for 10 minutes. Needless to say I was awake for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Business Traveling Woman
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jun 19, 2011

Not a luxury hotel for sure

There is no self parking offered at the hotel. When you pull up to the curb IF there are not other cars at the curb, you can actually get out and unload your luggage. Then you give your keys to the front desk clerk so he can call the valet who is 20 minutes away to come get your car. So be prepared to wait 20-30 minutes when you are ready to leave to get your car back. The rooms are not newly decorated. I would say the last time the decor and bed coverings were changed was in the 1980's. I'm sure at one time this was a nice hotel, but for now I would compare it to a Super 8 or Motel 6. It was clean enough, but just the bare necessities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want to eat in China Town, go to House of Nanking. The food was really good there!

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bv14
Business
NYC
Jan 21, 2014

Heat wave in San Francisco

Hotel clean, quiet, but stuffy and hot. There was no air conditioning to cool down room in the heat wave. Air was stale and windows opened on to fire escapes save one. Recommends with reservations about A/C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Food at Kokkari Estiatorio Restaurant is not the old fashioned authentic home made Greek Food. It is more commercial , salty and a disappointment from other years.

Back to menu Return to top