$246 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Beresford Arms Hotel

3 stars
View map of 701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
149 reviews
Business travel for event

I stay here with a colleague for an event at beginning of May. Very cool place! Room very large and... See full review

  • Marco D.
  • Jun 16, 2015
Well run hotel in good location with large junior suite bedooms and bathrooms

Loved the free breakfast and wine and cheese, the jacuzzi bath and very comfortable beds in the... See full review

  • Gillian M.
  • May 9, 2015
The Beresford Arms Hotel is a family owned property offering a spacious, elegant lobby and a wide selection of tastefully decorated handsomely furnished rooms and suites. All units are complete with honor bars, direct dial telephones, data ports, writing desks and color television/VCR combos. The suites feature whirlpool baths with shower, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or fully equipped kitchenette. A warm welcome awaits you, and the gracious hospitality of the friendly staff, complimented by the attractive accommodations make the Beresford Arms an ideal choice while visiting the delightful city of San Francisco.

We look forward to being your host for a delightful visit to our exciting City by the Bay. Relax in the comfort of our spacious rooms and suites and enjoy our gracious hospitality in a setting of San Francisco Victorian charm and elegance. All of our suites are complete with whirlpool baths, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or kitchenette.

Only two blocks to Union Square and the Cable Cars running to Telegraph Hill, Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. An easy walk to fine shops, theatres, Chinatown, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and Museum of Modern Art.

At the Beresford Arms Hotel we do accept pets for a $25 fee, per pet, per stay. Please check with the property prior booking a pet acceptable room.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Arms Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$179
3.7 / 5 223 reviews
★★★
$179
3.9 / 5 95 reviews
★★★
$191
3.5 / 5 139 reviews
★★★
$138
3.1 / 5 174 reviews
★★★
$189
4.1 / 5 295 reviews
★★★★
$159
4.3 / 5 225 reviews
★★★
$164
3.7 / 5 220 reviews
★★★★
$209
3.9 / 5 485 reviews
★★★
$165
3.5 / 5 131 reviews

Beresford Arms Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite w/ Jacuzzi
Jacuzzi junior suite is one large room with 2 queen beds, oversized Jacuzzi whirlpool bathtub with shower, either a kitchen or wet bar, fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR and iron/board.
Standard Room
Standard room with queen bed features a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR, iron/board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Services
Business center
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Arms Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 149
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Americandesi
Single
Dallas Tx
Nov 9, 2014

Fantastic family getaway

Good value for the money. Would stay again if in Sfo area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
russ from seattle
Single
seattle, washington
Jul 16, 2013

short weekend

The staff were very good, efficient. The problem with the room is that the windows are old and need replacing. I was on a lower floor room and the noise on Friday and Saturday nights goes on to 4am!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 23, 2011

ok, but won't go back

Perfect location, short walk to Union Square. Very nice staff, room was clean and bed was comfortable. Wine each evening and continental breakfast were nice touches. Only complaint is the street noise. People yelling at 3:00am very night. Walls were pretty thin and could hear other guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Montreal, Canada
Nov 19, 2010

Very elegant hotel in perfect location

This hotel is very charming, I stay in a huge beautiful room with a kitchenette for 100 dollars and I found it was a great value for being central in san francisco. I arrived in a early flight and the staff let me to check in at 10 am. I could walk to SFMOMA, to the train that goes to the airport and had access to all the public transportation to go everywhere in san francisco. I loved the city of san francisco and I think this hotel fits well into the style of the city. I would stay again for that price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Houston, TX
Oct 24, 2009

Excellent quality for the price

The hotel room was spacious - like a mini-studio with a kitchenette (that was unexpected!). The room was clean, although the sirens heard few times indicated the single panel windows may need to be upgraded (probably nearby fire station). The staff is *extremely* nice. For the price, the location and experience were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Brooklyn NY
Jul 5, 2009

JG in SF

Very nice stay. It would be honest to advertise the neighborhood as Tenderloin, not Union Square. You should stay alert walking several streets, where there are many agressive homeless. Especially evening, and avoid at night, especially Jones St towards Market and 7th Av. Post St itself is fine, and many asian restaurants in the neighboorhood are also fine. Just be careful walking around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Rocky Mount, NC
Oct 5, 2008

Comfortable, economical hotel

The Beresford Arms is a very comforatble, economical hotel. Its location near Union Square is covenient but it is also adjacent to the Tenderloin where night walking could be a bit iffy. Rooms are clean and moden, with very nice baths.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is but a short walk to Union Square, the cablecars and making the locaion very convenient.

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Tampa
Jun 10, 2008

Depends What You Are Looking For

Look - it's very simple. This is an older style hotel. The room was pretty large, the neighborhood was okay, the nighttime front desk manager was a bit strange, but all in all, the room was clean, the wireless internet service was free, and valet parking is cheaper than at the big hotels. Ultimately, if all you are looking for is a place to rest your head at night, this isn't a bad place. ONE MAIN CAVEAT, HOWEVER. I DON'T BELIEVE MY ROOM HAD AIR CONDITIONING. SO, BE CAREFUL IN THE SUMMERTIME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
New York, NY
Jul 15, 2007

Excellent hotel experience

There seem to be many small, comfortable-looking independent hotels in the environs of Union Square in San Francisco, so perhaps my pleasant experience could have been duplicated at a number of similar places. In any case, though, the Beresford Arms deserves praise for the many things it is doing right. The hotel is either old (at least 40 years, judging by the architecture and decorating style) or is making a conscious effort to be a throwback to an earlier era. Either way, it was clean and well-maintained, and I found its style in agreeable contrast to modern corporate hotels. My room was small but attractive and comfortable - perfect for a solo traveller. The only amenity I really missed was an in-room coffee maker. The hotel provides coffee and breakfast beginning at 7:00, but I'm an early riser and need my caffeine before then. Fortunately, a new cafe had just opened (literally the day I arrived) right across the street, and they opened at 6:30 on weekdays. Cafe Momus is the name - they have good fair-trade coffee, pastries from Semifreddi (a good local bakery) and very nice co-owners. Highly recommended! In a pinch, too, there is a 24-hour Starbucks maybe seven minutes' walk away on Powell Street. There are many, many restaurants nearby as well - at the nearby intersection of Post and Jones Street alone, there's an Indonesian place, a Thai place, and a burger place. I only wish I'd stayed long enough to give them each a try. As far as Internet access, there is none in the hotel rooms themselves, but the lobby has wireless access as well as two wired terminals. I made use of both methods and found that the terminals were a bit slow but the wireless was quite reliable. So a laptop is recommended. The final thing I'll say is that the staff were very kind and helpful. They provided me with a hair dryer and extra pillow upon request, gave me some Band-Aids at no charge so I wouldn't have to find a drugstore to buy them, and directed me to nearby sources of caffeine that were available before 7:00 a.m. Also, the fact that they were clearly human beings and not overly trained corporate robots was refreshing. I had a great time in San Francisco and the Beresford Arms was a big part of the reason. I would definitely recommend them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is about five minutes' walk away. Coming from New York, where there are many shopping districts and thorough comparison-shopping tends to require subway travel, I was struck by the sheer number of magnet stores that Union Square compresses into a walkable area.

Back to menu Return to top