$150 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Beresford Arms Hotel

3 stars
701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
241 reviews
Perfect and Quaint

The staff at this hotel were the sweetest and most helpful people you could ever ask for. The wine... See full review

  • UltraBrit
  • May 1, 2013
Beresford Arms Hotel

A good place, big rooms (mine had a full kitchen inside), free breakfast (limited choice) , good... See full review

  • fabriziovlp
  • Feb 18, 2013
The Beresford Arms Hotel is a family owned property offering a spacious, elegant lobby and a wide selection of tastefully decorated handsomely furnished rooms and suites. All units are complete with honor bars, direct dial telephones, data ports, writing desks and color television/VCR combos. The suites feature whirlpool baths with shower, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or fully equipped kitchenette. A warm welcome awaits you, and the gracious hospitality of the friendly staff, complimented by the attractive accommodations make the Beresford Arms an ideal choice while visiting the delightful city of San Francisco.

We look forward to being your host for a delightful visit to our exciting City by the Bay. Relax in the comfort of our spacious rooms and suites and enjoy our gracious hospitality in a setting of San Francisco Victorian charm and elegance. All of our suites are complete with whirlpool baths, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or kitchenette.

Only two blocks to Union Square and the Cable Cars running to Telegraph Hill, Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. An easy walk to fine shops, theatres, Chinatown, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and Museum of Modern Art.

At the Beresford Arms Hotel we do accept pets for a $25 fee, per pet, per stay. Please check with the property prior booking a pet acceptable room.

Beresford Arms Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite w/ Jacuzzi
Jacuzzi junior suite is one large room with 2 queen beds, oversized Jacuzzi whirlpool bathtub with shower, either a kitchen or wet bar, fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR and iron/board.
Standard Room
Standard room with queen bed features a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR, iron/board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Services
Business center
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Arms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7874 -122.4135
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International and (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
At the corner of Post and Jones Streets, just three blocks from Union Square and Cable Cars which run to Fisherman's Wharf, Telegraph Hill, Ghiradelli Square and Pier 39. Near the theatre district and San Francisco's Fine Shops. Within walking distance to Chinatown and Convention Centres. Convenient to the financial district and public transportation.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (241)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Arms Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 241
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MeniTravel
Business
New York City
Apr 15, 2014

Great getaway or 1 night stay near the Airport

I'd recommend the place to anyone looking to get a B&B feeling or needing a place for 1 night ! Pro The rooms are very clean, and came with a cookies! The room was large Toilet and bathroom were also big and clean Staff was super friendly and very helpful Con breakfast was a joke No air con No safety box in the room Shower had week pressure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket right across the street!

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
porksauce
Business
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Mar 28, 2014

For the money its pretty good

For that proximity to downtown there is not much better for the money than here. The building is a bit older and their is some crazy pigeon stuff going on in the back, but the staff was great and I was certainly surprised by the wine and cheese in the lobby in the early evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fabriziovlp
Business
Rome, Italy
Feb 18, 2013

Beresford Arms Hotel

A good place, big rooms (mine had a full kitchen inside), free breakfast (limited choice) , good position in the city (not far from Union Square) and good, free Internet connection, The building and the rooms are old, but that is part of the hotel fashion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAPT
Business
Harrisburg, PA, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Quaint Hotel - Spacious Room

The room I was in was quite spacious for the price. Clearly a historical building not pretending to be anything else. While I could not hear anyone if the rooms next to me, I could hear all outside activity through the night. That was the only drawback that I experienced. For a heavy sleeper - no problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A great grocery/deli is accross the street - good prices, good food and anything you'll need.

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
May 3, 2011

Great deal at an awesome location

After reading the reviews about the Beresford Arms Hotel and needing a last minute hotel room in SF for one night, I decided to try it out. I found a great deal for the night ($105 plus tax) and was very pleased with the spacious suite I stayed in. I requested a high floor to avoid the noise of the city and was upgraded to a large suite with a jacuzzi tub - more than I expected given the low cost. The bedroom had two double beds and the living room a murphy bed. It would have been comfy for a whole family. I found the staff pleasant, the rooms clean and the building charming. It's not modern and trendy but an old classic. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
May 3, 2011

Great deal at an awesome location

After reading the reviews about the Beresford Arms Hotel and needing a last minute hotel room in SF for one night, I decided to try it out. I found a great deal for the night ($105 plus tax) and was very pleased with the spacious suite I stayed in. I requested a high floor to avoid the noise of the city and was upgraded to a large suite with a jacuzzi tub - more than I expected given the low cost. The bedroom had two double beds and the living room a murphy bed. It would have been comfy for a whole family. I found the staff pleasant, the rooms clean and the building charming. It's not modern and trendy but an old classic. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Apr 30, 2011

Good value

Location- this place has it! Think older European hotel...very clean room. Very close to the main downtown of SF; which overall is kind of seedy. But vibrant! If you strongly want the feel of a Hilton or a Best Western this hotel is not for you. It was very quiet, supplied the modest breakfast and wine hour as promised; had the basics and a few pluses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Apr 30, 2011

Good value

Location- this place has it! Think older European hotel...very clean room. Very close to the main downtown of SF; which overall is kind of seedy. But vibrant! If you strongly want the feel of a Hilton or a Best Western this hotel is not for you. It was very quiet, supplied the modest breakfast and wine hour as promised; had the basics and a few pluses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Clanky Pipes
Business
Seattle, Wa.
Feb 16, 2011

Clanky Pipes

While the Hotel was generally clean. It reminded me of a boarding house - comfortable beds, no controls for hot or cold air. At 4:45am the pipes started growling as if someone was beating them in submission - this went on for 10 minutes. Needless to say I was awake for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Clanky Pipes
Business
Seattle, Wa.
Feb 16, 2011

Clanky Pipes

While the Hotel was generally clean. It reminded me of a boarding house - comfortable beds, no controls for hot or cold air. At 4:45am the pipes started growling as if someone was beating them in submission - this went on for 10 minutes. Needless to say I was awake for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top