$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 29, 2015 Check-out: Jan 30, 2015

Beresford Arms Hotel

3 stars
701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
145 reviews
Great Time

We had a great date night at the Beresford Arms. Location is walking distance from the center of... See full review

  • Katie C.
  • Jan 24, 2015
Great SF Date Night

We flew in to San Francisco and were staying in the city for a date night before visiting family in... See full review

  • Katie C.
  • Jan 21, 2015
The Beresford Arms Hotel is a family owned property offering a spacious, elegant lobby and a wide selection of tastefully decorated handsomely furnished rooms and suites. All units are complete with honor bars, direct dial telephones, data ports, writing desks and color television/VCR combos. The suites feature whirlpool baths with shower, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or fully equipped kitchenette. A warm welcome awaits you, and the gracious hospitality of the friendly staff, complimented by the attractive accommodations make the Beresford Arms an ideal choice while visiting the delightful city of San Francisco.

We look forward to being your host for a delightful visit to our exciting City by the Bay. Relax in the comfort of our spacious rooms and suites and enjoy our gracious hospitality in a setting of San Francisco Victorian charm and elegance. All of our suites are complete with whirlpool baths, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or kitchenette.

Only two blocks to Union Square and the Cable Cars running to Telegraph Hill, Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. An easy walk to fine shops, theatres, Chinatown, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and Museum of Modern Art.

At the Beresford Arms Hotel we do accept pets for a $25 fee, per pet, per stay. Please check with the property prior booking a pet acceptable room.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Arms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Beresford Arms Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite w/ Jacuzzi
Jacuzzi junior suite is one large room with 2 queen beds, oversized Jacuzzi whirlpool bathtub with shower, either a kitchen or wet bar, fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR and iron/board.
Standard Room
Standard room with queen bed features a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR, iron/board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Services
Business center
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (145)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Arms Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aldona
Business
Traverse City, MI
Aug 27, 2007

user friendly

The Beresford Arms Hotel was in a great location, a small, elegant, and cozy hotel that still uses keys in a secluded corner of the city with easy access to shopping, and cable cars. This hotel was in walking distance to the museums, the Ferry building, Chinatown and North beach. Rooms were big, with side bar amenities as well as large bathroom facilities. Continental breakfast with fruit and afternoon tea, wine and cheese was a bonus. Will stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 27, 2008

Affordable luxury

The Beresford Arms hotel was a pleasure to stay at from the moment we entered the lobby. The turn of the century decor with recessed gilded ceilings and a magnificant chandelier hinted at the historic elegance this hotel had to offer. The junior sweet we chose was on the 8th floor. The queen size beds were very comfortable. Their was a mini wet bar which was stocked with soda, juices , beers and wine. The prices were quiet resonable with a domestic beer costing $2.00. The tiled oversized bathroom with a juccizi tub was most enjoyable. You can open all three windows with the two larger ones allowing a fine view of the street activity below. There was a writing table and 3 plush chairs. The closet was functional and we were not disturbed by nor heard any guests in adjancent rooms; very soundproof. The contenintal breakfast was adequate and the wine and cheese social was nice. Very interesting group of guests with most being from the E.U.. All very freindly and talkative over complimetary wine and cheese event. $24 dollar valet parking with unlimited in/out usage. Great italian resturant right across the street from lobby with many other choices nearby, including some of SF's best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maryandco
Business
Bristol, England
Nov 4, 2012

Homely, comfortable base for shopping and sightseeing

I stayed at the Beresford with my three daughters and we had booked a junior suite but we were upgraded to a large corner suite (307) with a living room which had a pull down double bed and dining area, bedroom with two double beds, a kitchen and bathroom. Beds were so comfortable! The location was perfect, being just a short walk to Union Square with shops, cable cars and tour buses. The staff are lovely and very helpful and made sure that we had everything we needed. Breakfast pastries and fruit were a bonus and the wine and cheese socials were lovely and so nice to come back to in the late afternoon. There was some street noise but this is San Francisco and it was short lived. We couldn't fault this hotel and would return again without hesitation. Highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fabriziovlp
Business
Rome, Italy
Feb 18, 2013

Beresford Arms Hotel

A good place, big rooms (mine had a full kitchen inside), free breakfast (limited choice) , good position in the city (not far from Union Square) and good, free Internet connection, The building and the rooms are old, but that is part of the hotel fashion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UltraBrit
Business
Norwalk, CT
May 1, 2013

Perfect and Quaint

The staff at this hotel were the sweetest and most helpful people you could ever ask for. The wine and cheese hour and the breakfast being setup in a living room style area by the main lobby was a very nice touch. The location was very convenient to Union Square. We just wish we could have stayed another night or two. Would most certainly go back there next time we are in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Duluth, MN
Feb 29, 2008

Great little European style hotel

This is a fabulous hotel for the money! The staff was friendly, the room was a nice size for San Fran, it was clean, and the bathroom was clean as well. I loved the breakfast in the morning, it consisted of breads, pastries, and fruit, as well as coffee and tea. There are computers for use in the lobby, which was ok, but I took my laptop to a bar around the corner on Geary, where for the price of a beer, I cruised the Net to my heart's content. There are a lot of restaurants in the neighborhood, which is in a colorful neighborhood west of Unio Sq. I loved being a little out of the tourist zone, but close enough that I could walk into it if I wanted. I plan on staying at this hotel again, I really liked everything about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 5, 2008

great location in san francisco

The Beresford Arms Hotel in San Francisco exceeded our expectations. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The location was great. We spent a full day walking around the city and returned at night by cab. It was an elegant hotel. We dined at the White Horse restaurant, two blocks away, which is associated with the other Beresford property. The dinner was one of the best we have had and the wait staff was great. We would recommend this property to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The best way to see San Franisco is by foot and this is a great location to begin your walk. We actually followed the trail we found in the AAA California guide and had a wonderful day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
valker
Business
roma, IT
Dec 5, 2009

very good choice

very good hotel, clean and nice. Good rooms, good service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
trickytoro
Business
santa cruz, ca
Jul 2, 2010

Older property with charming staff

This is an older property but the staff keep it in great condition. There are some blemishes here and there but the kind courteous staff more than make up for it. The location is so central to Union Square and lots of great places to dine nearby that range from high end to hole in the wall with fantastic ethnic fare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester, NH
Sep 22, 2007

My review of Beresford Arms Hotel

The main disadvantage for staying here was the hotel did not have a restaurant nor was there a 3 meals type restaurant near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top