$248 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Beresford Arms Hotel

3 stars
View map of 701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Arms Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Taso
Business
Healdburg, CA
Nov 25, 2010

Nice Choice

The Beresford Arms is a bit of a walk from Union Square but it's worth it and there are excellent bus connections. Obviously an older hotel that has been redone, it's clean and bright and even a little classy. Extras included a (very basic) breakfast and a wine and cheese table every night. Friendly staff. The rooms are comfortable and our bathtubs had a Jacuzzi feature. Only drawback: old windows don't seal out typical city noise, and there was no sign of air conditioning (we were there in November), but window fans were in the closets. All in all, a good choice for visiting "The City by the Bay."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The 3-day Muni pass is a great deal- unlimited travel on all forms of city transport- including cable cars- for $20.

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, Canada
Nov 19, 2010

Very elegant hotel in perfect location

This hotel is very charming, I stay in a huge beautiful room with a kitchenette for 100 dollars and I found it was a great value for being central in san francisco. I arrived in a early flight and the staff let me to check in at 10 am. I could walk to SFMOMA, to the train that goes to the airport and had access to all the public transportation to go everywhere in san francisco. I loved the city of san francisco and I think this hotel fits well into the style of the city. I would stay again for that price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Clemente, CA
Nov 14, 2010

Good value, good location

We liked the location, the wine reception, the coffee and rolls, and, most of all, the reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bitten.
Business
Mexico.
Nov 9, 2010

Good but not sure about cleanliness.

Great location. We stayed here about 3 or 4 years before. They have complimentary wine and breakfast. Very friendly staff. However, I ended up with rash all over my neck and arms. Thought it was food poisoning, but a week has passed and I still have them. Not sure if they were bedbugs or ticks, but the hotel hygiene is not the best. Maybe a repellent is a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Ferry Building an it's market it's a great place to eat.

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brea, CA
Nov 9, 2010

Not what I expected

First the good: The staff was very nice, the hotel and the room were clean and in a short walking distance to a nice shopping/restaurant area. Now the bad: THERE IS NO CLIMATE CONTROL IN THE ROOMS! (NO A/C OR HEATER!!) It happened to be very hot that day and my child could not sleep all night because it was sooo hot! So I opened the windows and then I couldn't sleep either because I was afraid some transient/prowler might try to get in. The windows in our room (#810) opened to the fire escape ladder - which anyone could have easily just climbed right up (there are no screens either). The locks on the window are the chain/bolt usually used on doors which allowed enough space for me to easily slip in and out of - which also means any intruder can get in/out too! Don't get me started on the noise level - we were on 8th floor which is really the 5th floor because the street entry lobby is on the 3rd floor - and we heard people yelling/partying, ambulances, etc ALL NIGHT!! The internet connection is turned off at night ("to save electricity") - really! Couldn't believe it! And lastly, the breakfast was recycled donoughts and coffee - I actually saw the guy putting some of the doughnuts back into the box to save for the next day! None of this was shared on any of the other comments from people - so I was completely caught off guard. Needless to say, we checked out immediately in the a.m. and went to a better hotel. The guy behind the desk asked no questions when I told him we were leaving after only 1 night - seemed like this was a frequent happening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Loads of shopping just a few blocks away - all down the hill! :)

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parkyspicks
Business
Fresno,CA
Nov 8, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

This was a last minute trip to attend the Giants parade. I was pleasantly surprised on how clean and large the room was. Our room had a wet bar, small refri., micro, plates, silverware, glasses, etc. Bathroom was very large with a double sink: room 801. I'm not sure if all the rooms are this nice but the lounge area was nice with a free continental breakfast. Only 3 blocks to Market Street and 4 blocks to Union Square. Parking cost $35 but that is normal for the City!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants nearby

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Healdsburg, CA
Nov 4, 2010

Perfect location/Good service

We had a lovely stay at the Beresford Arms on one of the warmest days in San Francisco history. It was convenient to walk to Union Square and shopping, as well as to the Theatre District where we saw a play in the evening. Restaurants and cocktail rooms abound in the area, which made this a great location to be without the need of a car. We took advantage of the wine and cheese that is served in the evening in the well seated and inviting lobby of the hotel, as well as the coffee, tea, biscuits and fruit served there in the morning. All this was included in the reasonable price of the room. This is the perfect spot to stay for holiday shopping. We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
close to Union Square in San Francisco
Sep 22, 2010

beresford arms hotel

We missed the social hour a couple of times, but the desk clerk learned that and sent someone to get us a glass of wine anyway! Always nice, attentive service for directions, restaurant advice, everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book all activities you can on line ahead of time.

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bill4bikn
Business
san diego
Sep 6, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price in SF

It is a very clean hotel with a pleasant acommodating staff. Continental breakfast in the morning and an afternoon serving of wine and cheese. Nice sized junior suite with a small kitchenette, refrigerator and a two sink bathroom with jacuzzi tub . The sounds of the city are heard at night making it difficult to sleep without ear plugs. It is centrally located and the price is reasonable .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining and shopping are close by . A short walk to the only remaining streetcar trolley . Union Square is close by

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Folsom
Aug 23, 2010

Very good experience

We visited the museums, checked out some shops in Union Square & had dinner a couple blocks away. There was an ad on the hotel's [...] webstie for 50% off on the hotel parking, but I wasn't able to request it online so I called [...] and spoke to a customer service rep. She put me on hold for a few minutes and then came back saying that was a special being offered by the hotel as part of their promotion and we'd be able to park in the white zone in front of the hotel. When we checked in they said there was no such offer available.I asked if we could request a quieter room not facing the street. They have us an upgraded room on the 7th floor with two queen beds & a jacuzzi tub.it had a small TV with poor reception. Also, the ironing board was an old countertop style-would have liked a regular ironing board to use. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was very frendly and helpful. They had a wine reception in the afternoon in the lobby and pastries w/melon in the morning. We plan on coming back in a couple months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top