$218 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Beresford Arms Hotel

3 stars
View map of 701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Arms Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Clanky Pipes
Business
Seattle, Wa.
Feb 16, 2011

Clanky Pipes

While the Hotel was generally clean. It reminded me of a boarding house - comfortable beds, no controls for hot or cold air. At 4:45am the pipes started growling as if someone was beating them in submission - this went on for 10 minutes. Needless to say I was awake for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teddifish
Business
Clemson, SC
Feb 7, 2011

Lovely Old Hotel (but noisy!)

I wanted a place with personality and atmosphere, and the Beresford Arms has both, plus a convenient location--not far from Union Square, public transportation, and places to eat. The hotel is old, but that is its charm. The people, especially the young man who served breakfast and wine, were friendly and helpful. The only problem, as other reviewers have noted, is the noise from the radiators. The first night I arrived late, went to sleep about 2:00 and was promptly startled back awake by what sounded like someone banging pipes together in my room. I called the front desk and was told maintenance would look at it the next day. Night two, no noise! I thought the problem had been corrected, but night three, the clanging returned. Another call to the front desk resulted in a room change and a promise to reduce the price of the room for the inconvenience. Night four I spent in another room, where it was a little quieter, but still audible, making me a sad, tired, Panda by the time I left. :-( No reduction was given at checkout. :-( If it weren't for the noise, I'd give this hotel an A. As it is, it would be perfect for deaf travelers, but a little less than perfect for the rest of us. Still a good value--just be ready for the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girls Birthday
Business
Seattle WA
Jan 24, 2011

Spacious and elegant

There were four adult women in the room celebrataing a 50th birthday. We were pleased with the size of the room. Pipes were noisy, but we were on the 6th floor so street noise was tolerable. Breakfast was fruit and pastries. The afternoon wine and cheese service was a nice bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bearfish
Business
Hawaii
Dec 25, 2010

The best from west nevermind the rest.

That's the one boo. Definitly will Hana hou. Service was greatduece.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is everywhere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJ Women
Business
Princeton, NJ
Dec 22, 2010

Great Older Hotel

This wonderful hotel is just a few blocks from Union Square and an easy walk. Also a perfect location to access a variety of public transportion options. Our room with a small kitchenette, made the food store across the street especially useful and area restaurants offered a variety of options. Our room was clean, beds comfortable, and helpful staff all add up to a place to stay again. A bit of street noise but not out of the ordinary since San Francisco is a busy place. Complimentary breakfast included plenty of fresh fruit and danishes, etc. along with and hot coffee (decaf and regular) and choice of teas was good every morning. Wine and cheese in the afternoon also a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shops in Union Square! Easy to walk to and intereting people watching opportunities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brunswick, Ohio
Dec 15, 2010

A quaint older hotel with a good locatio

The hotel was located just a short walk from Union Station. It is an older hotel with charm. A decent continental breakfast was provided with a lot of fresh fruit. Between five and six each evening wine and cheese was available in the lobby gratis. It created a nice opportunity to converse with other guests. When we arrivewd for our five day stay we were given an upgrade on the room to a suite that included a full kitchen. The additional space provided enhanced the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Many of the tours can be booked right from the hotel and the tour buses will pick you up and drop you off at the hotel which saves on transportation costs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Gatos, CA
Dec 7, 2010

Reasonable for the Price and Location

The rooms have been refurbished since last time I was there, which is always nice. I stayed in a two queen sized bed junior suite - and it wasn't expensive - it was great to have a small fridge, microwave, plates, utensils, etc. The room was very clean. I'm always a little nervous after watching all those news shows that put a black light on areas of the room and show you what's really there. That said, in this room the bathroom was pristine, the little kitchenette, and the bed (even the bed covers) were very clean. Not so sure about the throw pillows, I usually toss those on a chair somewhere anyway, just to be safe. Beds were okay. Whatever they wash the sheets in they need to put in a fabric conditioner because they were itchy. Usually if they put a lot of bleach in the wash it starts to destroy the fabric - and makes it harsh and itchy. The pillows were more like stones with pillow cases on - could definitely do with an upgrade there. It seems as though they have improved the windows - as there is less noise than before. However in a city, you will always have street noise - it's part of the charm. No air conditioning, which in winter is fine - however in the summer, these rooms could get pretty hot. They do have two large fans in the closet. They had a small heater that made all sort of noises during the night but after you got used to them they didn't really disturb that much - only problem, I couldn't find out where to turn the darn thing on. It wasn't that cold, so I didn't bother calling down to the front desk. The happy hour is a little stingy - from 4:30 to 5:30 pm - most other hotels are 4:00 to 6:00 pm. The complimentary breakfast hours are more reasonable 7:00 am to 10:00 am. The front desk was a little gruff, not very interested or helpful. The guy when I arrived seemed like he wanted to be somewhere else. The lady in the morning however was very officious but at least helpful and a little nicer. The nicest person there was the housekeeper who was very pleasant and helpful. I actually would have expected better service given it's supposed to be a family hotel. Given that you are probably going to be out of the room most of the day - the location is great. However do get them to point out the tenderloin district and the "not so safe areas" because you are staying right on the edge of it. And I did see a panhandler harass some tourists while I was there, which is illegal. If you're looking for a great location at a reasonable price, and are not so fussy about service this is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kyokos Japanese Restaurant - a hole in the wall restaurant on the outside, full of ambience and great sushi inside - fresh sushi, flown in from Japan. Located at 619 Taylor St (between Cosmo Pl & Post St) -A little hard to find - look for the Japanese awning and go down the stairs. Serves food until 2:00 am. (415) 775-1028 www.ryokos.com

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Taso
Business
Healdburg, CA
Nov 25, 2010

Nice Choice

The Beresford Arms is a bit of a walk from Union Square but it's worth it and there are excellent bus connections. Obviously an older hotel that has been redone, it's clean and bright and even a little classy. Extras included a (very basic) breakfast and a wine and cheese table every night. Friendly staff. The rooms are comfortable and our bathtubs had a Jacuzzi feature. Only drawback: old windows don't seal out typical city noise, and there was no sign of air conditioning (we were there in November), but window fans were in the closets. All in all, a good choice for visiting "The City by the Bay."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The 3-day Muni pass is a great deal- unlimited travel on all forms of city transport- including cable cars- for $20.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, Canada
Nov 19, 2010

Very elegant hotel in perfect location

This hotel is very charming, I stay in a huge beautiful room with a kitchenette for 100 dollars and I found it was a great value for being central in san francisco. I arrived in a early flight and the staff let me to check in at 10 am. I could walk to SFMOMA, to the train that goes to the airport and had access to all the public transportation to go everywhere in san francisco. I loved the city of san francisco and I think this hotel fits well into the style of the city. I would stay again for that price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Clemente, CA
Nov 14, 2010

Good value, good location

We liked the location, the wine reception, the coffee and rolls, and, most of all, the reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top