Beresford Arms Hotel

3 stars
701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
241 reviews
Perfect and Quaint

The staff at this hotel were the sweetest and most helpful people you could ever ask for. The wine... See full review

  • UltraBrit
  • May 1, 2013
Beresford Arms Hotel

A good place, big rooms (mine had a full kitchen inside), free breakfast (limited choice) , good... See full review

  • fabriziovlp
  • Feb 18, 2013
The Beresford Arms Hotel is a family owned property offering a spacious, elegant lobby and a wide selection of tastefully decorated handsomely furnished rooms and suites. All units are complete with honor bars, direct dial telephones, data ports, writing desks and color television/VCR combos. The suites feature whirlpool baths with shower, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or fully equipped kitchenette. A warm welcome awaits you, and the gracious hospitality of the friendly staff, complimented by the attractive accommodations make the Beresford Arms an ideal choice while visiting the delightful city of San Francisco.

We look forward to being your host for a delightful visit to our exciting City by the Bay. Relax in the comfort of our spacious rooms and suites and enjoy our gracious hospitality in a setting of San Francisco Victorian charm and elegance. All of our suites are complete with whirlpool baths, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or kitchenette.

Only two blocks to Union Square and the Cable Cars running to Telegraph Hill, Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. An easy walk to fine shops, theatres, Chinatown, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and Museum of Modern Art.

At the Beresford Arms Hotel we do accept pets for a $25 fee, per pet, per stay. Please check with the property prior booking a pet acceptable room.

Beresford Arms Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite w/ Jacuzzi
Jacuzzi junior suite is one large room with 2 queen beds, oversized Jacuzzi whirlpool bathtub with shower, either a kitchen or wet bar, fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR and iron/board.
Standard Room
Standard room with queen bed features a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR, iron/board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Services
Business center
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

37.7874 -122.4135
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International and (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
At the corner of Post and Jones Streets, just three blocks from Union Square and Cable Cars which run to Fisherman's Wharf, Telegraph Hill, Ghiradelli Square and Pier 39. Near the theatre district and San Francisco's Fine Shops. Within walking distance to Chinatown and Convention Centres. Convenient to the financial district and public transportation.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (241)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Arms Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
241 out of 241
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Business Traveling Woman
Santa Barbara, CA
Jun 19, 2011

Not a luxury hotel for sure

There is no self parking offered at the hotel. When you pull up to the curb IF there are not other cars at the curb, you can actually get out and unload your luggage. Then you give your keys to the front desk clerk so he can call the valet who is 20 minutes away to come get your car. So be prepared to wait 20-30 minutes when you are ready to leave to get your car back. The rooms are not newly decorated. I would say the last time the decor and bed coverings were changed was in the 1980's. I'm sure at one time this was a nice hotel, but for now I would compare it to a Super 8 or Motel 6. It was clean enough, but just the bare necessities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want to eat in China Town, go to House of Nanking. The food was really good there!

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Business Traveling Woman
Santa Barbara, CA
Jun 19, 2011

Not a luxury hotel for sure

There is no self parking offered at the hotel. When you pull up to the curb IF there are not other cars at the curb, you can actually get out and unload your luggage. Then you give your keys to the front desk clerk so he can call the valet who is 20 minutes away to come get your car. So be prepared to wait 20-30 minutes when you are ready to leave to get your car back. The rooms are not newly decorated. I would say the last time the decor and bed coverings were changed was in the 1980's. I'm sure at one time this was a nice hotel, but for now I would compare it to a Super 8 or Motel 6. It was clean enough, but just the bare necessities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want to eat in China Town, go to House of Nanking. The food was really good there!

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Immunology Grad Student
Birmingham, AL
May 20, 2011

Very Hospitable

Everyone at the hotel was very hospitable and we were treated well. The room itself was a little old but it fit the historical aspect of the building. The hotel is only a few blocks from Union Square, and not in a terrible area. It kind of felt like spending the night in Grandma's house with the feel of the room but that was oddly comforting. All in all it was a very good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square and the cable car pickups are only 4 short blocks from the hotel.

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Immunology Grad Student
Birmingham, AL
May 20, 2011

Very Hospitable

Everyone at the hotel was very hospitable and we were treated well. The room itself was a little old but it fit the historical aspect of the building. The hotel is only a few blocks from Union Square, and not in a terrible area. It kind of felt like spending the night in Grandma's house with the feel of the room but that was oddly comforting. All in all it was a very good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square and the cable car pickups are only 4 short blocks from the hotel.

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
delmar ny
May 16, 2011

unbeatable location and price!!!

we went on a 5 hour tour around the city that was awesome. we rode on the cable cars. went on a cruise in the bay- golden gate bridge, alcatrase, and bay city bridge. also went to sf giants baseball game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
delmar ny
May 16, 2011

unbeatable location and price!!!

we went on a 5 hour tour around the city that was awesome. we rode on the cable cars. went on a cruise in the bay- golden gate bridge, alcatrase, and bay city bridge. also went to sf giants baseball game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
May 3, 2011

Great deal at an awesome location

After reading the reviews about the Beresford Arms Hotel and needing a last minute hotel room in SF for one night, I decided to try it out. I found a great deal for the night ($105 plus tax) and was very pleased with the spacious suite I stayed in. I requested a high floor to avoid the noise of the city and was upgraded to a large suite with a jacuzzi tub - more than I expected given the low cost. The bedroom had two double beds and the living room a murphy bed. It would have been comfy for a whole family. I found the staff pleasant, the rooms clean and the building charming. It's not modern and trendy but an old classic. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
May 3, 2011

Great deal at an awesome location

After reading the reviews about the Beresford Arms Hotel and needing a last minute hotel room in SF for one night, I decided to try it out. I found a great deal for the night ($105 plus tax) and was very pleased with the spacious suite I stayed in. I requested a high floor to avoid the noise of the city and was upgraded to a large suite with a jacuzzi tub - more than I expected given the low cost. The bedroom had two double beds and the living room a murphy bed. It would have been comfy for a whole family. I found the staff pleasant, the rooms clean and the building charming. It's not modern and trendy but an old classic. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Apr 30, 2011

Good value

Location- this place has it! Think older European hotel...very clean room. Very close to the main downtown of SF; which overall is kind of seedy. But vibrant! If you strongly want the feel of a Hilton or a Best Western this hotel is not for you. It was very quiet, supplied the modest breakfast and wine hour as promised; had the basics and a few pluses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Apr 30, 2011

Good value

Location- this place has it! Think older European hotel...very clean room. Very close to the main downtown of SF; which overall is kind of seedy. But vibrant! If you strongly want the feel of a Hilton or a Best Western this hotel is not for you. It was very quiet, supplied the modest breakfast and wine hour as promised; had the basics and a few pluses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top