$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Beresford Arms Hotel

3 stars
701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
143 reviews
Nice afternoon tea, but wifi sucks

The hotel offers afternoon tea, together with wine, free! But the wifi signal is really bad! See full review

  • Iris1997
  • Nov 13, 2014
Fantastic family getaway

Good value for the money. Would stay again if in Sfo area. See full review

  • Americandesi
  • Nov 9, 2014
The Beresford Arms Hotel is a family owned property offering a spacious, elegant lobby and a wide selection of tastefully decorated handsomely furnished rooms and suites. All units are complete with honor bars, direct dial telephones, data ports, writing desks and color television/VCR combos. The suites feature whirlpool baths with shower, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or fully equipped kitchenette. A warm welcome awaits you, and the gracious hospitality of the friendly staff, complimented by the attractive accommodations make the Beresford Arms an ideal choice while visiting the delightful city of San Francisco.

We look forward to being your host for a delightful visit to our exciting City by the Bay. Relax in the comfort of our spacious rooms and suites and enjoy our gracious hospitality in a setting of San Francisco Victorian charm and elegance. All of our suites are complete with whirlpool baths, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or kitchenette.

Only two blocks to Union Square and the Cable Cars running to Telegraph Hill, Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. An easy walk to fine shops, theatres, Chinatown, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and Museum of Modern Art.

At the Beresford Arms Hotel we do accept pets for a $25 fee, per pet, per stay. Please check with the property prior booking a pet acceptable room.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Arms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Beresford Arms Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite w/ Jacuzzi
Jacuzzi junior suite is one large room with 2 queen beds, oversized Jacuzzi whirlpool bathtub with shower, either a kitchen or wet bar, fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR and iron/board.
Standard Room
Standard room with queen bed features a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR, iron/board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Services
Business center
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (143)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Arms Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carmel, CA
Apr 26, 2011

Good for youngs

Very good. Good Location. Very clean room, good bathroom. I recomend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 23, 2011

ok, but won't go back

Perfect location, short walk to Union Square. Very nice staff, room was clean and bed was comfortable. Wine each evening and continental breakfast were nice touches. Only complaint is the street noise. People yelling at 3:00am very night. Walls were pretty thin and could hear other guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Clanky Pipes
Business
Seattle, Wa.
Feb 16, 2011

Clanky Pipes

While the Hotel was generally clean. It reminded me of a boarding house - comfortable beds, no controls for hot or cold air. At 4:45am the pipes started growling as if someone was beating them in submission - this went on for 10 minutes. Needless to say I was awake for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teddifish
Business
Clemson, SC
Feb 7, 2011

Lovely Old Hotel (but noisy!)

I wanted a place with personality and atmosphere, and the Beresford Arms has both, plus a convenient location--not far from Union Square, public transportation, and places to eat. The hotel is old, but that is its charm. The people, especially the young man who served breakfast and wine, were friendly and helpful. The only problem, as other reviewers have noted, is the noise from the radiators. The first night I arrived late, went to sleep about 2:00 and was promptly startled back awake by what sounded like someone banging pipes together in my room. I called the front desk and was told maintenance would look at it the next day. Night two, no noise! I thought the problem had been corrected, but night three, the clanging returned. Another call to the front desk resulted in a room change and a promise to reduce the price of the room for the inconvenience. Night four I spent in another room, where it was a little quieter, but still audible, making me a sad, tired, Panda by the time I left. :-( No reduction was given at checkout. :-( If it weren't for the noise, I'd give this hotel an A. As it is, it would be perfect for deaf travelers, but a little less than perfect for the rest of us. Still a good value--just be ready for the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girls Birthday
Business
Seattle WA
Jan 24, 2011

Spacious and elegant

There were four adult women in the room celebrataing a 50th birthday. We were pleased with the size of the room. Pipes were noisy, but we were on the 6th floor so street noise was tolerable. Breakfast was fruit and pastries. The afternoon wine and cheese service was a nice bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bearfish
Business
Hawaii
Dec 25, 2010

The best from west nevermind the rest.

That's the one boo. Definitly will Hana hou. Service was greatduece.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is everywhere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJ Women
Business
Princeton, NJ
Dec 22, 2010

Great Older Hotel

This wonderful hotel is just a few blocks from Union Square and an easy walk. Also a perfect location to access a variety of public transportion options. Our room with a small kitchenette, made the food store across the street especially useful and area restaurants offered a variety of options. Our room was clean, beds comfortable, and helpful staff all add up to a place to stay again. A bit of street noise but not out of the ordinary since San Francisco is a busy place. Complimentary breakfast included plenty of fresh fruit and danishes, etc. along with and hot coffee (decaf and regular) and choice of teas was good every morning. Wine and cheese in the afternoon also a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shops in Union Square! Easy to walk to and intereting people watching opportunities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brunswick, Ohio
Dec 15, 2010

A quaint older hotel with a good locatio

The hotel was located just a short walk from Union Station. It is an older hotel with charm. A decent continental breakfast was provided with a lot of fresh fruit. Between five and six each evening wine and cheese was available in the lobby gratis. It created a nice opportunity to converse with other guests. When we arrivewd for our five day stay we were given an upgrade on the room to a suite that included a full kitchen. The additional space provided enhanced the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Many of the tours can be booked right from the hotel and the tour buses will pick you up and drop you off at the hotel which saves on transportation costs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Gatos, CA
Dec 7, 2010

Reasonable for the Price and Location

The rooms have been refurbished since last time I was there, which is always nice. I stayed in a two queen sized bed junior suite - and it wasn't expensive - it was great to have a small fridge, microwave, plates, utensils, etc. The room was very clean. I'm always a little nervous after watching all those news shows that put a black light on areas of the room and show you what's really there. That said, in this room the bathroom was pristine, the little kitchenette, and the bed (even the bed covers) were very clean. Not so sure about the throw pillows, I usually toss those on a chair somewhere anyway, just to be safe. Beds were okay. Whatever they wash the sheets in they need to put in a fabric conditioner because they were itchy. Usually if they put a lot of bleach in the wash it starts to destroy the fabric - and makes it harsh and itchy. The pillows were more like stones with pillow cases on - could definitely do with an upgrade there. It seems as though they have improved the windows - as there is less noise than before. However in a city, you will always have street noise - it's part of the charm. No air conditioning, which in winter is fine - however in the summer, these rooms could get pretty hot. They do have two large fans in the closet. They had a small heater that made all sort of noises during the night but after you got used to them they didn't really disturb that much - only problem, I couldn't find out where to turn the darn thing on. It wasn't that cold, so I didn't bother calling down to the front desk. The happy hour is a little stingy - from 4:30 to 5:30 pm - most other hotels are 4:00 to 6:00 pm. The complimentary breakfast hours are more reasonable 7:00 am to 10:00 am. The front desk was a little gruff, not very interested or helpful. The guy when I arrived seemed like he wanted to be somewhere else. The lady in the morning however was very officious but at least helpful and a little nicer. The nicest person there was the housekeeper who was very pleasant and helpful. I actually would have expected better service given it's supposed to be a family hotel. Given that you are probably going to be out of the room most of the day - the location is great. However do get them to point out the tenderloin district and the "not so safe areas" because you are staying right on the edge of it. And I did see a panhandler harass some tourists while I was there, which is illegal. If you're looking for a great location at a reasonable price, and are not so fussy about service this is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kyokos Japanese Restaurant - a hole in the wall restaurant on the outside, full of ambience and great sushi inside - fresh sushi, flown in from Japan. Located at 619 Taylor St (between Cosmo Pl & Post St) -A little hard to find - look for the Japanese awning and go down the stairs. Serves food until 2:00 am. (415) 775-1028 www.ryokos.com

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Taso
Business
Healdburg, CA
Nov 25, 2010

Nice Choice

The Beresford Arms is a bit of a walk from Union Square but it's worth it and there are excellent bus connections. Obviously an older hotel that has been redone, it's clean and bright and even a little classy. Extras included a (very basic) breakfast and a wine and cheese table every night. Friendly staff. The rooms are comfortable and our bathtubs had a Jacuzzi feature. Only drawback: old windows don't seal out typical city noise, and there was no sign of air conditioning (we were there in November), but window fans were in the closets. All in all, a good choice for visiting "The City by the Bay."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The 3-day Muni pass is a great deal- unlimited travel on all forms of city transport- including cable cars- for $20.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top