$258 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Beresford Arms Hotel

3 stars
View map of 701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Arms Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Heiney
Couples
Texas
Jun 18, 2012

OK,, not great

Great location, but old and worn. Rooms not air conditioned and general noise level high. Second night discovered closet in bathroom that had a fan which helped, but still not very comfortable. Staff always seemed that we were interrupting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scottish travellers 2
Couples
Scotland
Jun 12, 2012

Great Value

We recently stayed 7 nights at the Beresford Arms Hotel. We could not find fault with it at all. The staff were excellent and extremely helpful. We had an excellent holiday and the wine and cheese late afternoon was an excellent touch. There was no problem with the area if I had to make a critisism it would be that some of the usrrounding areas are less selective so you had to be aware of the route you were takinng but it was ot a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAPT
Business
Harrisburg, PA, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Quaint Hotel - Spacious Room

The room I was in was quite spacious for the price. Clearly a historical building not pretending to be anything else. While I could not hear anyone if the rooms next to me, I could hear all outside activity through the night. That was the only drawback that I experienced. For a heavy sleeper - no problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A great grocery/deli is accross the street - good prices, good food and anything you'll need.

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kay Wilhoit
Friends
Saratoga, Ca
Mar 2, 2012

A true find in SF

My sister-in-law and I went to SF to celebrate her 80th birthday. We were pleased to find a reasonable priced hotel in the Union Sq. area. We were overjoyed when we got there and found it to be more than we had hoped for. The room was spacious and spotless. We had two queens, a full kitchen, and a large bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub, double sinks and even a bidet! The evening wine with cheese and crackers was a nice touch and the breakfast of fresh fruit, Danish and coffee was more than sufficent. Can't wait for another reason to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
doug a.
Family
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 14, 2012

best of the area for the price

staff was helpful; room was fine; morning continental breakfast and evening drinks ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ChineseNewYearTourist
Family
Hanford, Ca
Feb 13, 2012

Building Showing Its Age

The building is in need of a renovation. The view from our window was of an even more dilapidated building than this one. Be careful not get a room that ends with 15, because it is literally right next to the elevator. The room does have a little kitchen though, with a full size refrigerator, stove, sink, etc. The location is fairly close to Union Square, but unfortunately also pretty close to the Tenderloin district too (not a good neighborhood). The staff was pleasant enough. One nice perk is the tea and wine hour every evening in the lobby. Valet parking was $27 and some change, after tax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you will using public transportation to get around the city (including cable cars) , buy a Muni Passport which is $14 for an unlimited numbers of uses in one day. Otherwise the cable cars are $6 per ride with no transfers. There is a grocery store nearby that you can buy them, Sutter Fine Foods, on the corner of Hyde and Sutter.

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
funtimers
Couples
Stallion Springs, California
Jan 23, 2012

Disappointing

This was a return visit, our first being very nice. And comfortable. However, our room this time was a fraction of the size of the one on our first visit and the smallest we have ever seen qualifying as a hotel room. The bed was exceedingly uncomfortable and the furnishings very weathered, looking like the room had not been refurbished in decades. What a disappointment! Add to that the $24/day valet fee for parking our car, we will look for a better deal next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M n K
Couples
Scotland
Jan 22, 2012

Central, cozy and comfortable

Overall we enjoyed this hotel. The location was good, easy walking from Union Square and plenty good eating places right across the street as well as a friendly laundrette and mini market. We had a junior suite on the 8th floor which was comfortable, cozy and clean. Perhaps an upgrade of carpet and bed covers would make it feel newer and not so dated but apart from that no complaints. Staff helpful when asked. Nice touch was the breakfast and especially the complimentary cheese and wine betwen 430 and 530pm daily in the lobby. Would recommend as good base for touring San Francisco for 3-4 days. M and K, Scotland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the hop on hop off bus tour, the one that goes over the Golden Gate Bridge, to get your bearings and see main sights of San Francisco. It is a big place and too much to walk around and watch those many steep up and down hills

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elvin C
Family
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 18, 2012

Roomy value - but may be a little noisy

Our suites had two double beds and included a desk, bath with jacuzzi, bidet, and double sinks. Kitchen was included with a small table with two chairs. (full oven, microwave, refrigerator). One of our suites had two comfy chairs near the window with a coffee table in between, while the other had a table with two chairs. The neighborhood has nearby grocery and convenience stores along with restaurants. Two blocks away from a variety of car rental shops. One drawback was that the weekend evenings had club/bar music going to about midnight, and then rowdy crowds that go about 'til 1 a.m. This might be minimized by which side of the hotel you're on, but you might ask at the hotel desk. (this will probably mean trading a view for quiet) Breakfast with pastries, fruit, and good coffee and tea are matched with wine, cheese, and snacks at the end of the day. Large comfortable lounge on the first floor includes two computer stations with printing. Free wi-fi in rooms may be a little spotty, but it generally got the job done. They did provide a portable crib which appeared new and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimbo87
Friends
Sydney, NSW, Australia
Jan 12, 2012

Very pleasant

Friendly and helpful staff, a few blocks from the cable car and all the sights! Would definately return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top