$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 9, 2015 Check-out: Mar 10, 2015

Beresford Arms Hotel

3 stars
View map of 701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
146 reviews
vacations

The Hotel is nice. Have a good breakfast and if you are inside of it around 16:30 to 18:00 the have... See full review

  • paula
  • Feb 13, 2015
Great Time

We had a great date night at the Beresford Arms. Location is walking distance from the center of... See full review

  • Katie C.
  • Jan 24, 2015
The Beresford Arms Hotel is a family owned property offering a spacious, elegant lobby and a wide selection of tastefully decorated handsomely furnished rooms and suites. All units are complete with honor bars, direct dial telephones, data ports, writing desks and color television/VCR combos. The suites feature whirlpool baths with shower, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or fully equipped kitchenette. A warm welcome awaits you, and the gracious hospitality of the friendly staff, complimented by the attractive accommodations make the Beresford Arms an ideal choice while visiting the delightful city of San Francisco.

We look forward to being your host for a delightful visit to our exciting City by the Bay. Relax in the comfort of our spacious rooms and suites and enjoy our gracious hospitality in a setting of San Francisco Victorian charm and elegance. All of our suites are complete with whirlpool baths, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or kitchenette.

Only two blocks to Union Square and the Cable Cars running to Telegraph Hill, Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. An easy walk to fine shops, theatres, Chinatown, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and Museum of Modern Art.

At the Beresford Arms Hotel we do accept pets for a $25 fee, per pet, per stay. Please check with the property prior booking a pet acceptable room.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Arms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Beresford Arms Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite w/ Jacuzzi
Jacuzzi junior suite is one large room with 2 queen beds, oversized Jacuzzi whirlpool bathtub with shower, either a kitchen or wet bar, fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR and iron/board.
Standard Room
Standard room with queen bed features a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR, iron/board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Services
Business center
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Arms Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maryandco
Business
Bristol, England
Nov 4, 2012

Homely, comfortable base for shopping and sightseeing

I stayed at the Beresford with my three daughters and we had booked a junior suite but we were upgraded to a large corner suite (307) with a living room which had a pull down double bed and dining area, bedroom with two double beds, a kitchen and bathroom. Beds were so comfortable! The location was perfect, being just a short walk to Union Square with shops, cable cars and tour buses. The staff are lovely and very helpful and made sure that we had everything we needed. Breakfast pastries and fruit were a bonus and the wine and cheese socials were lovely and so nice to come back to in the late afternoon. There was some street noise but this is San Francisco and it was short lived. We couldn't fault this hotel and would return again without hesitation. Highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunshine13
Business
Hunt Valley, Maryland
Oct 10, 2012

Great place to stay.

We stayed on the 6th floor in a junior suite. It was worth the extra money. Breakfast was danish, croissants, muffins and fruit. Wine and cheese and nuts was very good. Lots of wine and plenty of snacks. After a long day out and about is was nice to come back to the hotel and relax. Very clean place to stay. Walking distance to transportation. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a three day pass and ride the trolleys, cable cars and buses everywhere you want to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
group theapy
Business
Canton Ohio
Sep 12, 2012

Close to downtown san fran

Was very clean which is the most important thing. Was told I was going to have two queen beds and they were just full beds. Had a gluten free friend and wasnt much to eat for her at breakfast so had to go out most of the time. No lobby bathrooms to use. Overall the price was good and room clean. I would recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Honey Honey and Sears were great breakfast places short distance from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dinatud
Business
connecticut
Sep 9, 2012

family trip

the hotel is old located in a nosy area furniture old & TV is antique but rooms are clean in the room you can smell the chemical they use it to clean the installation in the bathroom do not work very well The staff very helpful & nice complimentary breakfast was OK We did not have time for wine & cheese in the afternoon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Boulevard restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BirdmanCT
Business
Burlington, CT
Jul 3, 2012

OK Hotel to stay

1st, then is not an efficiency short term stay of more than 4 days. Refrig is small, no stove, only microwave. As for room, the room was only a bedroom with a bathroom and small area for preparing food. Did not bother to eat in as it was not convenient to do so. I was hoping for something like the Grosvenor Suites which is under new management. I would not stay here again except that it did not involve climbing some of those San Fran Nob Hill Hills

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rue La Pic is a great restaurant - small, not much room but the food is great and delicious - a little on the expensive side but tastes great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Heiney
Business
Texas
Jun 18, 2012

OK,, not great

Great location, but old and worn. Rooms not air conditioned and general noise level high. Second night discovered closet in bathroom that had a fan which helped, but still not very comfortable. Staff always seemed that we were interrupting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scottish travellers 2
Business
Scotland
Jun 12, 2012

Great Value

We recently stayed 7 nights at the Beresford Arms Hotel. We could not find fault with it at all. The staff were excellent and extremely helpful. We had an excellent holiday and the wine and cheese late afternoon was an excellent touch. There was no problem with the area if I had to make a critisism it would be that some of the usrrounding areas are less selective so you had to be aware of the route you were takinng but it was ot a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAPT
Business
Harrisburg, PA, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Quaint Hotel - Spacious Room

The room I was in was quite spacious for the price. Clearly a historical building not pretending to be anything else. While I could not hear anyone if the rooms next to me, I could hear all outside activity through the night. That was the only drawback that I experienced. For a heavy sleeper - no problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A great grocery/deli is accross the street - good prices, good food and anything you'll need.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kay Wilhoit
Business
Saratoga, Ca
Mar 2, 2012

A true find in SF

My sister-in-law and I went to SF to celebrate her 80th birthday. We were pleased to find a reasonable priced hotel in the Union Sq. area. We were overjoyed when we got there and found it to be more than we had hoped for. The room was spacious and spotless. We had two queens, a full kitchen, and a large bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub, double sinks and even a bidet! The evening wine with cheese and crackers was a nice touch and the breakfast of fresh fruit, Danish and coffee was more than sufficent. Can't wait for another reason to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
doug a.
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 14, 2012

best of the area for the price

staff was helpful; room was fine; morning continental breakfast and evening drinks ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top