$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Beresford Arms Hotel

3 stars
701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
241 reviews
Perfect and Quaint

The staff at this hotel were the sweetest and most helpful people you could ever ask for. The wine... See full review

  • UltraBrit
  • May 1, 2013
Beresford Arms Hotel

A good place, big rooms (mine had a full kitchen inside), free breakfast (limited choice) , good... See full review

  • fabriziovlp
  • Feb 18, 2013
The Beresford Arms Hotel is a family owned property offering a spacious, elegant lobby and a wide selection of tastefully decorated handsomely furnished rooms and suites. All units are complete with honor bars, direct dial telephones, data ports, writing desks and color television/VCR combos. The suites feature whirlpool baths with shower, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or fully equipped kitchenette. A warm welcome awaits you, and the gracious hospitality of the friendly staff, complimented by the attractive accommodations make the Beresford Arms an ideal choice while visiting the delightful city of San Francisco.

We look forward to being your host for a delightful visit to our exciting City by the Bay. Relax in the comfort of our spacious rooms and suites and enjoy our gracious hospitality in a setting of San Francisco Victorian charm and elegance. All of our suites are complete with whirlpool baths, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or kitchenette.

Only two blocks to Union Square and the Cable Cars running to Telegraph Hill, Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. An easy walk to fine shops, theatres, Chinatown, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and Museum of Modern Art.

At the Beresford Arms Hotel we do accept pets for a $25 fee, per pet, per stay. Please check with the property prior booking a pet acceptable room.

Beresford Arms Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite w/ Jacuzzi
Jacuzzi junior suite is one large room with 2 queen beds, oversized Jacuzzi whirlpool bathtub with shower, either a kitchen or wet bar, fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR and iron/board.
Standard Room
Standard room with queen bed features a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR, iron/board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Services
Business center
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Arms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7874 -122.4135
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International and (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
At the corner of Post and Jones Streets, just three blocks from Union Square and Cable Cars which run to Fisherman's Wharf, Telegraph Hill, Ghiradelli Square and Pier 39. Near the theatre district and San Francisco's Fine Shops. Within walking distance to Chinatown and Convention Centres. Convenient to the financial district and public transportation.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (241)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Arms Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
241 out of 241
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clayton the skipper
phoenix
Jul 8, 2013

First timer in city

Hotel was the cleanest, and the old time architecture was awesome. Never tired of looking around lobby etc.The staff was also very accomodating.You could also walk to many attractictions from its location. Would recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UltraBrit
Norwalk, CT
May 1, 2013

Perfect and Quaint

The staff at this hotel were the sweetest and most helpful people you could ever ask for. The wine and cheese hour and the breakfast being setup in a living room style area by the main lobby was a very nice touch. The location was very convenient to Union Square. We just wish we could have stayed another night or two. Would most certainly go back there next time we are in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy sightseers
San Francisco
Apr 8, 2013

fairly nice location, very pleasant and helpful staff

This hotel was certainly within walking distance to Union Square. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the complimentary wine and cheese hour was very pleasant- a chance to meet new people and relax after sightseeing. The breakfast included pastries and fresh fruit. The level of room cleanliness was not what we hoped for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fabriziovlp
Business
Rome, Italy
Feb 18, 2013

Beresford Arms Hotel

A good place, big rooms (mine had a full kitchen inside), free breakfast (limited choice) , good position in the city (not far from Union Square) and good, free Internet connection, The building and the rooms are old, but that is part of the hotel fashion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bruce D.
Beaufort, SC
Nov 13, 2012

Hotel was fine

The hotel has probably seen better days but it has a certain charm--the lobby is pretty, there lots of nooks and crannies, our room was below the lobby, owing to the major hill the hotel is built on. Our room Internet did not work, but it worked fine in the lobby. Our room was quiet but a bit dark. It was spacious enough and the kitchen ammenities would be great for those needed them. The location was good to the cable cars and other attractions and given this is SF, the value for price paid was approaching good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Had my wife not insisted we ride the cable cars, I would have dismissed them as too touristy. Do it! We had a blast hanging the side up and down and down and up. What fun! Be sure to go the market on Embarcdero--tons of shops with artisanal goodies.

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maryandco
Bristol, England
Nov 4, 2012

Homely, comfortable base for shopping and sightseeing

I stayed at the Beresford with my three daughters and we had booked a junior suite but we were upgraded to a large corner suite (307) with a living room which had a pull down double bed and dining area, bedroom with two double beds, a kitchen and bathroom. Beds were so comfortable! The location was perfect, being just a short walk to Union Square with shops, cable cars and tour buses. The staff are lovely and very helpful and made sure that we had everything we needed. Breakfast pastries and fruit were a bonus and the wine and cheese socials were lovely and so nice to come back to in the late afternoon. There was some street noise but this is San Francisco and it was short lived. We couldn't fault this hotel and would return again without hesitation. Highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunshine13
Hunt Valley, Maryland
Oct 10, 2012

Great place to stay.

We stayed on the 6th floor in a junior suite. It was worth the extra money. Breakfast was danish, croissants, muffins and fruit. Wine and cheese and nuts was very good. Lots of wine and plenty of snacks. After a long day out and about is was nice to come back to the hotel and relax. Very clean place to stay. Walking distance to transportation. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a three day pass and ride the trolleys, cable cars and buses everywhere you want to go.

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
group theapy
Canton Ohio
Sep 12, 2012

Close to downtown san fran

Was very clean which is the most important thing. Was told I was going to have two queen beds and they were just full beds. Had a gluten free friend and wasnt much to eat for her at breakfast so had to go out most of the time. No lobby bathrooms to use. Overall the price was good and room clean. I would recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Honey Honey and Sears were great breakfast places short distance from hotel.

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dinatud
connecticut
Sep 9, 2012

family trip

the hotel is old located in a nosy area furniture old & TV is antique but rooms are clean in the room you can smell the chemical they use it to clean the installation in the bathroom do not work very well The staff very helpful & nice complimentary breakfast was OK We did not have time for wine & cheese in the afternoon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Boulevard restaurant

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BirdmanCT
Burlington, CT
Jul 3, 2012

OK Hotel to stay

1st, then is not an efficiency short term stay of more than 4 days. Refrig is small, no stove, only microwave. As for room, the room was only a bedroom with a bathroom and small area for preparing food. Did not bother to eat in as it was not convenient to do so. I was hoping for something like the Grosvenor Suites which is under new management. I would not stay here again except that it did not involve climbing some of those San Fran Nob Hill Hills

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rue La Pic is a great restaurant - small, not much room but the food is great and delicious - a little on the expensive side but tastes great!

Back to menu Return to top