$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Beresford Arms Hotel

3 stars
View map of 701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Arms Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shopping mom
Business
sanfransisco
Sep 1, 2014

Needs something more

It was a clean environment, but there was no air conditioner in our room and the valet parking took 30 minutes. We were really hoping for something more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ProfDave
Business
Columbus, OH
May 26, 2014

Satisfied Again at the Beresford Arms

My partner and I have stayed at the Beresford Arms many times over the last 8 years, and it's just as consistent as always. By consistent, I mean in value, cleanliness, friendliness of the staff, and convenience. From the moment we arrived, all the staff members, including the housekeeping staff, made it clear that they were their to make our stay comfortable. The room, a junior suite, was spacious, and included a fully-stocked refrigerator in which the prices for the items were actually reasonable. ($1.25 for soda--that's cheaper than at the stores nearby). Everything was quite clean, although it looks as if the carpeting in the rooms need replacement. The location can't be beat--only 5 blocks or so away from Union Square on Post Street. True, the streets south of the hotel that lead to Union Square aren't the greatest, but Post is just fine. The daily wine and cheese is a great way to meet people from all over the world and to exchange travel ideas, etc. The daily breakfast works the same way--and the coffee they serve is delicious, as is the fresh fruit! We would definitely stay here again--and probably will, for what would be our 10th time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MeniTravel
Business
New York City
Apr 15, 2014

Great getaway or 1 night stay near the Airport

I'd recommend the place to anyone looking to get a B&B feeling or needing a place for 1 night ! Pro The rooms are very clean, and came with a cookies! The room was large Toilet and bathroom were also big and clean Staff was super friendly and very helpful Con breakfast was a joke No air con No safety box in the room Shower had week pressure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket right across the street!

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
porksauce
Business
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Mar 28, 2014

For the money its pretty good

For that proximity to downtown there is not much better for the money than here. The building is a bit older and their is some crazy pigeon stuff going on in the back, but the staff was great and I was certainly surprised by the wine and cheese in the lobby in the early evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaxon1127677
Business
Henderson, NV
Jan 27, 2014

Very good location

We enjoyed our stay, there is no air conditioner and it was unusually hot. We told the front desk and they supplied us a fan and extension cord. We were very comfortable after that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Honey honey

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bemahone
Business
Astoria, New York
Jan 22, 2014

Perfectly Sized Room

The Beresford Arms Hotel was a really nice place to stay for a long weekend in San Francisco. Our Queen room was the perfect size and was a great home away from home for our four night stay. Though it isn't the most modern hotel, everything was clean and comfortable. The common areas were really lovely and welcoming! Breakfast was provided, and was a happy hour with win, cheese, and juice boxes. The staff is very attentive and helpful! We had a little bit of trouble connecting to the wireless, but that could have been the location of our room, as we had no trouble in the lobby. You are just blocks from Union Square and very close to restaurants and amenities in Nob Hill, as well as being very close to lots of Asian inspired restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Olea for brunch in Nob Hill was excellent--get the French Toast!

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bv14
Business
NYC
Jan 21, 2014

Heat wave in San Francisco

Hotel clean, quiet, but stuffy and hot. There was no air conditioning to cool down room in the heat wave. Air was stale and windows opened on to fire escapes save one. Recommends with reservations about A/C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Food at Kokkari Estiatorio Restaurant is not the old fashioned authentic home made Greek Food. It is more commercial , salty and a disappointment from other years.

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
St. Louie traveller
Business
USA
Nov 20, 2013

Very disappointing

Overpriced and disappointing...rooms definitely not sound proof...wifi non existent in room and couldn't even get signal in lobby...mildew smell in hall...overall worn condition...poor breakfast...wine okay in afternoon. Overall disappointing experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GaryB
Business
Scotland
Sep 16, 2013

Our USA Holiday

San Francisco was the second city in our tour of the USA. Beresford Arms hotel is in a very good central location within walking distance of Powell Street and Union Square. Hotel is a little dated, but the staff were very friendly and the evening complimentary wine was very welcome after a long day. Price was reasonable given the location and that continental breakfast was included. I would return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gospatric
Business
Cumbria, UK
Aug 4, 2013

Nice location - friendly staff

Only a few blocks up from Union Square. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. It's an old hotel and that shows at times but the staff were great. Liked the big lobby too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top