$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 26, 2015 Check-out: Jan 28, 2015

Beresford Arms Hotel

3 stars
701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
144 reviews
Great SF Date Night

We flew in to San Francisco and were staying in the city for a date night before visiting family in... See full review

  • Katie C.
  • Jan 21, 2015
Nice afternoon tea, but wifi sucks

The hotel offers afternoon tea, together with wine, free! But the wifi signal is really bad! See full review

  • Iris1997
  • Nov 13, 2014
The Beresford Arms Hotel is a family owned property offering a spacious, elegant lobby and a wide selection of tastefully decorated handsomely furnished rooms and suites. All units are complete with honor bars, direct dial telephones, data ports, writing desks and color television/VCR combos. The suites feature whirlpool baths with shower, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or fully equipped kitchenette. A warm welcome awaits you, and the gracious hospitality of the friendly staff, complimented by the attractive accommodations make the Beresford Arms an ideal choice while visiting the delightful city of San Francisco.

We look forward to being your host for a delightful visit to our exciting City by the Bay. Relax in the comfort of our spacious rooms and suites and enjoy our gracious hospitality in a setting of San Francisco Victorian charm and elegance. All of our suites are complete with whirlpool baths, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or kitchenette.

Only two blocks to Union Square and the Cable Cars running to Telegraph Hill, Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. An easy walk to fine shops, theatres, Chinatown, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and Museum of Modern Art.

At the Beresford Arms Hotel we do accept pets for a $25 fee, per pet, per stay. Please check with the property prior booking a pet acceptable room.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Arms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Beresford Arms Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite w/ Jacuzzi
Jacuzzi junior suite is one large room with 2 queen beds, oversized Jacuzzi whirlpool bathtub with shower, either a kitchen or wet bar, fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR and iron/board.
Standard Room
Standard room with queen bed features a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR, iron/board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Services
Business center
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Arms Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Sep 23, 2007

My review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Need better tv viewing channels and clearer. Noise from outside can be heared very easy. Vening machines were out for the week we stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

walk down post street,right two blocks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester, NH
Sep 22, 2007

My review of Beresford Arms Hotel

The main disadvantage for staying here was the hotel did not have a restaurant nor was there a 3 meals type restaurant near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karolyn
Business
USA
Sep 21, 2007

Very Clean but outdated

We checked in late (2:00am) based on our flight schedule and was checked into our room very quickly. The room was very clean but also very old and outdated. We had four people in a room with two queen beds so it was pretty tight. The bathroom is quite large and clean. We kept looking for the thermostat to cool our extremely warm room but were informed air conditioning consisted of a plug in fan we received at the front desk. The location is excellent - very close to many of the main attractions or close to public transportation sites. I would recommend this hotel only if you plan on using it for a clean place to sleep as there are no amenities and it is in dire need of updates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to lots of shopping and restaurants in Union Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 17, 2007

Excellent value for a quaint hotel

This hotel was very comfortable in an excellent location in San Francisco. It was a very reasonable price and very clean. The room size was very accommodating and if you had to stay for an extended visit the kitchen was a nice addition. I would definitely recommend this property to friend and relatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is right in Union Square. Very close to shopping and restaurants. Very close to trolley car which can be taken to the Wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 15, 2007

Good location for the price

The room and bathroom were both very spacious especially for the location in the heart of San Francisco near Union Square and the price point. Water pressure was great in the shower and plenty of hot water -- always a plus! The decor is a bit dated, but it was still very clean. There is no air conditioning (older hotel) and it was a rare couple of days on the hotter side in San Francisco. But the windows open and there were handy fans in the closet that made it plenty comfortable by bed time (being from Seattle fans are prefered anyway). Parking is relatively reasonable $24/day by valet with in and out privledges -- other hotels researched wanted $50/day or more. Only issue we had was our room was next to the elevator on the 8th (top) floor. Did not have noise from the regular elevator use, but for some reason at about 6:20am each morning there was a loud pinging noise that went on for about 5 - 10 minutes, which we were informed was the elevator generator. Fortunately the hotel made up for the inconvience by comping us the daily valet parking charges -- a very reasonable response.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
Sep 7, 2007

My review of Beresford Arms Hotel

The Beresford Arms was quiet and comfortable. Check in was excellent. The young lady was personable and professional. The continental breakfast was excellent and the dining in the area was also excellent. Walking distance to Union square and China Town was easy. I am sure we will stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Almost across the street is a great Italian restaurant and Union Square is an easy four block walk with Macys and many surrounding shops. another two blocks puts you into China Town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aldona
Business
Traverse City, MI
Aug 27, 2007

user friendly

The Beresford Arms Hotel was in a great location, a small, elegant, and cozy hotel that still uses keys in a secluded corner of the city with easy access to shopping, and cable cars. This hotel was in walking distance to the museums, the Ferry building, Chinatown and North beach. Rooms were big, with side bar amenities as well as large bathroom facilities. Continental breakfast with fruit and afternoon tea, wine and cheese was a bonus. Will stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 19, 2007

Good hotel, good location

Large room for a family with a small kitchenette, perfect for family with children. Rooms are spacious, building is charming, clean baths with jacuzzi. Well located close to shopping and dining. Fresh coffee and fruit with complementary breakfast, very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 28, 2007

Old Charm for a Good Price

The Beresford Arms was a lovely older hotel, in a great location, walking distance from Union Square. Our room was comfortable, with 2 chairs for relaxing, a desk and chair, and a comfortable bed. There was a narrow closet with mirrored doors, and 3 huge bay windows overlooking the main street The bathroom was good size, a combo tub/shower, large mirror and vanity.They gave me a hairdryer upon request. We really enjoyed the afternoon tea/cookies and wine/cheese from 4:30-5:30. The complementary coffee/tea, fruit, and pastries were in the lobby every morning. There were also 2 computers that were available for no charge, and one you could print from for .50 per sheet. We loved the palladium windows, and the early 1900s decor. Our only criticism would be that the rug in our room was visibly very dirty. One surprise was the price to park our car - $24 per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many stores within a 5-10 minute walk. The category ranged from Saks,Tiffanys and Barneys of New York to Macys and Ross

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Edwena
Business
USA
Jul 26, 2007

My review of Beresford Arms Hotel

I took my 9 and 12 year old grandsons to San Francisco for 4 days. We rode Bart from the airport and got off at Powel Street Station. We walked the few blocks to the Beresford Arms at about 6:00 pm. They were a bit put off by the neighborhood. A couple days later they were comfortable. It isn't really a bad neighborhood, just a bit strange for kids. The breakfast was ok. The room was comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We all loved Union Square. A real plus to be close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top