Beresford Arms Hotel

3 stars
701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
241 reviews
Perfect and Quaint

The staff at this hotel were the sweetest and most helpful people you could ever ask for. The wine... See full review

  • UltraBrit
  • May 1, 2013
Beresford Arms Hotel

A good place, big rooms (mine had a full kitchen inside), free breakfast (limited choice) , good... See full review

  • fabriziovlp
  • Feb 18, 2013
The Beresford Arms Hotel is a family owned property offering a spacious, elegant lobby and a wide selection of tastefully decorated handsomely furnished rooms and suites. All units are complete with honor bars, direct dial telephones, data ports, writing desks and color television/VCR combos. The suites feature whirlpool baths with shower, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or fully equipped kitchenette. A warm welcome awaits you, and the gracious hospitality of the friendly staff, complimented by the attractive accommodations make the Beresford Arms an ideal choice while visiting the delightful city of San Francisco.

We look forward to being your host for a delightful visit to our exciting City by the Bay. Relax in the comfort of our spacious rooms and suites and enjoy our gracious hospitality in a setting of San Francisco Victorian charm and elegance. All of our suites are complete with whirlpool baths, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or kitchenette.

Only two blocks to Union Square and the Cable Cars running to Telegraph Hill, Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. An easy walk to fine shops, theatres, Chinatown, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and Museum of Modern Art.

At the Beresford Arms Hotel we do accept pets for a $25 fee, per pet, per stay. Please check with the property prior booking a pet acceptable room.

Hotel Map

37.7874 -122.4135
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International and (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
At the corner of Post and Jones Streets, just three blocks from Union Square and Cable Cars which run to Fisherman's Wharf, Telegraph Hill, Ghiradelli Square and Pier 39. Near the theatre district and San Francisco's Fine Shops. Within walking distance to Chinatown and Convention Centres. Convenient to the financial district and public transportation.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Arms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Beresford Arms Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite w/ Jacuzzi
Jacuzzi junior suite is one large room with 2 queen beds, oversized Jacuzzi whirlpool bathtub with shower, either a kitchen or wet bar, fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR and iron/board.
Standard Room
Standard room with queen bed features a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR, iron/board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Services
Business center
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (241)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Arms Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
241 out of 241
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Healdsburg, CA
Nov 4, 2010

Perfect location/Good service

We had a lovely stay at the Beresford Arms on one of the warmest days in San Francisco history. It was convenient to walk to Union Square and shopping, as well as to the Theatre District where we saw a play in the evening. Restaurants and cocktail rooms abound in the area, which made this a great location to be without the need of a car. We took advantage of the wine and cheese that is served in the evening in the well seated and inviting lobby of the hotel, as well as the coffee, tea, biscuits and fruit served there in the morning. All this was included in the reasonable price of the room. This is the perfect spot to stay for holiday shopping. We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Healdsburg, CA
Nov 4, 2010

Perfect location/Good service

We had a lovely stay at the Beresford Arms on one of the warmest days in San Francisco history. It was convenient to walk to Union Square and shopping, as well as to the Theatre District where we saw a play in the evening. Restaurants and cocktail rooms abound in the area, which made this a great location to be without the need of a car. We took advantage of the wine and cheese that is served in the evening in the well seated and inviting lobby of the hotel, as well as the coffee, tea, biscuits and fruit served there in the morning. All this was included in the reasonable price of the room. This is the perfect spot to stay for holiday shopping. We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
close to Union Square in San Francisco
Sep 22, 2010

beresford arms hotel

We missed the social hour a couple of times, but the desk clerk learned that and sent someone to get us a glass of wine anyway! Always nice, attentive service for directions, restaurant advice, everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book all activities you can on line ahead of time.

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
close to Union Square in San Francisco
Sep 22, 2010

beresford arms hotel

We missed the social hour a couple of times, but the desk clerk learned that and sent someone to get us a glass of wine anyway! Always nice, attentive service for directions, restaurant advice, everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book all activities you can on line ahead of time.

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bill4bikn
san diego
Sep 6, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price in SF

It is a very clean hotel with a pleasant acommodating staff. Continental breakfast in the morning and an afternoon serving of wine and cheese. Nice sized junior suite with a small kitchenette, refrigerator and a two sink bathroom with jacuzzi tub . The sounds of the city are heard at night making it difficult to sleep without ear plugs. It is centrally located and the price is reasonable .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining and shopping are close by . A short walk to the only remaining streetcar trolley . Union Square is close by

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bill4bikn
san diego
Sep 6, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price in SF

It is a very clean hotel with a pleasant acommodating staff. Continental breakfast in the morning and an afternoon serving of wine and cheese. Nice sized junior suite with a small kitchenette, refrigerator and a two sink bathroom with jacuzzi tub . The sounds of the city are heard at night making it difficult to sleep without ear plugs. It is centrally located and the price is reasonable .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining and shopping are close by . A short walk to the only remaining streetcar trolley . Union Square is close by

Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Folsom
Aug 23, 2010

Very good experience

We visited the museums, checked out some shops in Union Square & had dinner a couple blocks away. There was an ad on the hotel's [...] webstie for 50% off on the hotel parking, but I wasn't able to request it online so I called [...] and spoke to a customer service rep. She put me on hold for a few minutes and then came back saying that was a special being offered by the hotel as part of their promotion and we'd be able to park in the white zone in front of the hotel. When we checked in they said there was no such offer available.I asked if we could request a quieter room not facing the street. They have us an upgraded room on the 7th floor with two queen beds & a jacuzzi tub.it had a small TV with poor reception. Also, the ironing board was an old countertop style-would have liked a regular ironing board to use. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was very frendly and helpful. They had a wine reception in the afternoon in the lobby and pastries w/melon in the morning. We plan on coming back in a couple months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Folsom
Aug 23, 2010

Very good experience

We visited the museums, checked out some shops in Union Square & had dinner a couple blocks away. There was an ad on the hotel's [...] webstie for 50% off on the hotel parking, but I wasn't able to request it online so I called [...] and spoke to a customer service rep. She put me on hold for a few minutes and then came back saying that was a special being offered by the hotel as part of their promotion and we'd be able to park in the white zone in front of the hotel. When we checked in they said there was no such offer available.I asked if we could request a quieter room not facing the street. They have us an upgraded room on the 7th floor with two queen beds & a jacuzzi tub.it had a small TV with poor reception. Also, the ironing board was an old countertop style-would have liked a regular ironing board to use. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was very frendly and helpful. They had a wine reception in the afternoon in the lobby and pastries w/melon in the morning. We plan on coming back in a couple months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Valencia CA
Aug 15, 2010

Great location with plenty of restaurant

Great experience. Very Helpful and friendly staff. Gave directions and suggestions for places to go and visit as well as restaurants to try out.Our visit was short (we were visiting a sick friend undergoing chemo tx) however, we were still able to manage and visit sites such as the Fisherman's wharf,coite tower,Golden Gate bridge, China town and Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Valencia CA
Aug 15, 2010

Great location with plenty of restaurant

Great experience. Very Helpful and friendly staff. Gave directions and suggestions for places to go and visit as well as restaurants to try out.Our visit was short (we were visiting a sick friend undergoing chemo tx) however, we were still able to manage and visit sites such as the Fisherman's wharf,coite tower,Golden Gate bridge, China town and Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top