$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Beresford Arms Hotel

3 stars
701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
143 reviews
Nice afternoon tea, but wifi sucks

The hotel offers afternoon tea, together with wine, free! But the wifi signal is really bad! See full review

  • Iris1997
  • Nov 13, 2014
Fantastic family getaway

Good value for the money. Would stay again if in Sfo area. See full review

  • Americandesi
  • Nov 9, 2014
The Beresford Arms Hotel is a family owned property offering a spacious, elegant lobby and a wide selection of tastefully decorated handsomely furnished rooms and suites. All units are complete with honor bars, direct dial telephones, data ports, writing desks and color television/VCR combos. The suites feature whirlpool baths with shower, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or fully equipped kitchenette. A warm welcome awaits you, and the gracious hospitality of the friendly staff, complimented by the attractive accommodations make the Beresford Arms an ideal choice while visiting the delightful city of San Francisco.

We look forward to being your host for a delightful visit to our exciting City by the Bay. Relax in the comfort of our spacious rooms and suites and enjoy our gracious hospitality in a setting of San Francisco Victorian charm and elegance. All of our suites are complete with whirlpool baths, bidets, two queen beds and your choice of wet bar or kitchenette.

Only two blocks to Union Square and the Cable Cars running to Telegraph Hill, Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. An easy walk to fine shops, theatres, Chinatown, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and Museum of Modern Art.

At the Beresford Arms Hotel we do accept pets for a $25 fee, per pet, per stay. Please check with the property prior booking a pet acceptable room.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beresford Arms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Beresford Arms Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite w/ Jacuzzi
Jacuzzi junior suite is one large room with 2 queen beds, oversized Jacuzzi whirlpool bathtub with shower, either a kitchen or wet bar, fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR and iron/board.
Standard Room
Standard room with queen bed features a small refrigerator with fully stocked honor bar, color TV, VCR, iron/board, alarm clock and private bathroom.

Amenities

  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Services
Business center
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.9 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (143)

Ratings and reviews for Beresford Arms Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maryandco
Bristol, England
Nov 4, 2012

Homely, comfortable base for shopping and sightseeing

I stayed at the Beresford with my three daughters and we had booked a junior suite but we were upgraded to a large corner suite (307) with a living room which had a pull down double bed and dining area, bedroom with two double beds, a kitchen and bathroom. Beds were so comfortable! The location was perfect, being just a short walk to Union Square with shops, cable cars and tour buses. The staff are lovely and very helpful and made sure that we had everything we needed. Breakfast pastries and fruit were a bonus and the wine and cheese socials were lovely and so nice to come back to in the late afternoon. There was some street noise but this is San Francisco and it was short lived. We couldn't fault this hotel and would return again without hesitation. Highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iris1997
Business
Chicago
Nov 13, 2014

Nice afternoon tea, but wifi sucks

The hotel offers afternoon tea, together with wine, free! But the wifi signal is really bad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Americandesi
Business
Dallas Tx
Nov 9, 2014

Fantastic family getaway

Good value for the money. Would stay again if in Sfo area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ProfDave
Business
Columbus, OH
May 26, 2014

Satisfied Again at the Beresford Arms

My partner and I have stayed at the Beresford Arms many times over the last 8 years, and it's just as consistent as always. By consistent, I mean in value, cleanliness, friendliness of the staff, and convenience. From the moment we arrived, all the staff members, including the housekeeping staff, made it clear that they were their to make our stay comfortable. The room, a junior suite, was spacious, and included a fully-stocked refrigerator in which the prices for the items were actually reasonable. ($1.25 for soda--that's cheaper than at the stores nearby). Everything was quite clean, although it looks as if the carpeting in the rooms need replacement. The location can't be beat--only 5 blocks or so away from Union Square on Post Street. True, the streets south of the hotel that lead to Union Square aren't the greatest, but Post is just fine. The daily wine and cheese is a great way to meet people from all over the world and to exchange travel ideas, etc. The daily breakfast works the same way--and the coffee they serve is delicious, as is the fresh fruit! We would definitely stay here again--and probably will, for what would be our 10th time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MeniTravel
Business
New York City
Apr 15, 2014

Great getaway or 1 night stay near the Airport

I'd recommend the place to anyone looking to get a B&B feeling or needing a place for 1 night ! Pro The rooms are very clean, and came with a cookies! The room was large Toilet and bathroom were also big and clean Staff was super friendly and very helpful Con breakfast was a joke No air con No safety box in the room Shower had week pressure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket right across the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
porksauce
Business
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Mar 28, 2014

For the money its pretty good

For that proximity to downtown there is not much better for the money than here. The building is a bit older and their is some crazy pigeon stuff going on in the back, but the staff was great and I was certainly surprised by the wine and cheese in the lobby in the early evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaxon1127677
Business
Henderson, NV
Jan 27, 2014

Very good location

We enjoyed our stay, there is no air conditioner and it was unusually hot. We told the front desk and they supplied us a fan and extension cord. We were very comfortable after that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Honey honey

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bemahone
Business
Astoria, New York
Jan 22, 2014

Perfectly Sized Room

The Beresford Arms Hotel was a really nice place to stay for a long weekend in San Francisco. Our Queen room was the perfect size and was a great home away from home for our four night stay. Though it isn't the most modern hotel, everything was clean and comfortable. The common areas were really lovely and welcoming! Breakfast was provided, and was a happy hour with win, cheese, and juice boxes. The staff is very attentive and helpful! We had a little bit of trouble connecting to the wireless, but that could have been the location of our room, as we had no trouble in the lobby. You are just blocks from Union Square and very close to restaurants and amenities in Nob Hill, as well as being very close to lots of Asian inspired restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Olea for brunch in Nob Hill was excellent--get the French Toast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bv14
Business
NYC
Jan 21, 2014

Heat wave in San Francisco

Hotel clean, quiet, but stuffy and hot. There was no air conditioning to cool down room in the heat wave. Air was stale and windows opened on to fire escapes save one. Recommends with reservations about A/C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Food at Kokkari Estiatorio Restaurant is not the old fashioned authentic home made Greek Food. It is more commercial , salty and a disappointment from other years.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
St. Louie traveller
Business
USA
Nov 20, 2013

Very disappointing

Overpriced and disappointing...rooms definitely not sound proof...wifi non existent in room and couldn't even get signal in lobby...mildew smell in hall...overall worn condition...poor breakfast...wine okay in afternoon. Overall disappointing experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beresford Arms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GaryB
Business
Scotland
Sep 16, 2013

Our USA Holiday

San Francisco was the second city in our tour of the USA. Beresford Arms hotel is in a very good central location within walking distance of Powell Street and Union Square. Hotel is a little dated, but the staff were very friendly and the evening complimentary wine was very welcome after a long day. Price was reasonable given the location and that continental breakfast was included. I would return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top