$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

3 stars
580 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
86 reviews
Location

Cannot find better location than this hotel.The front desk agents Kyle&Tim made us stay perfect... See full review

  • guide13
  • Feb 1, 2013
Weekend Getaway

Decent Stay in Union Square. Enjoyed our stay in San Francisco! See full review

  • Jamari
  • Jun 25, 2014
Named in 2006 "one of the best affordable hotels in San Francisco" by the New York Times, The Hotel California is in the center of the theater and shopping districts. * Two blocks off Union Square * Classic 1913 architecture * Newly renovated rooms * New workout facility * New Beautyrest mattresses * 300 thread count cotton linens * Award - winning restaurant * Friendly wine bar * Free lobby internet terminals

The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality Rooms

Guestrooms
In addition to the normal hotel amenities, our newly-renovated rooms feature: *Beautyrest mattresses *300 thread count linens *Hardwood floors *Free in-rooom safes *Free Wi Fi Standard rooms feature all the above amenities. Deluxe rooms are somewhat larger, and have bay windows.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

37.7868 -122.4129
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport
Area description
The Hotel California is located in the heart of the theater and shopping districts. Two blocks off historic Union Square, the Cable Car line, and the city's largest live theaters. Walking distance to the Moscone Convention Center.

Dining

Millennium Restaurant
Millennium Restaurant is dedicated to supporting the essential earthly concepts of organic food production, small farms, and sustainable agriculture. We cook with fresh produce delivered every day, and choose organic whenever possible. *Best vegan restaurant in North America: 2004 *Friendly wine bar *Original 1913 architecture

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maine
May 11, 2011

Adequate for our needs

Our experience was fine. The location was good for our needs. The room was very small...very little room to put things. No desk. There was a fair amount of night time noise on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We were able to walk to the cable cars and trolleys to get to Fisherman's Wharf. Not within walking distance of anything sighnificant.

Review of The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maine
May 11, 2011

Adequate for our needs

Our experience was fine. The location was good for our needs. The room was very small...very little room to put things. No desk. There was a fair amount of night time noise on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We were able to walk to the cable cars and trolleys to get to Fisherman's Wharf. Not within walking distance of anything sighnificant.

Review of The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fl
Feb 18, 2011

Small rooms

Small rooms and beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fl
Feb 18, 2011

Small rooms

Small rooms and beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arizona
Dec 13, 2010

Great Location

It was a fun hotel to stay at....Older building but all the modern needs. It was a great location, close to all the shopping in Union Sq. as we walked everywhere! Only downside it was a bit of a treck form the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square!

Review of The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arizona
Dec 13, 2010

Great Location

It was a fun hotel to stay at....Older building but all the modern needs. It was a great location, close to all the shopping in Union Sq. as we walked everywhere! Only downside it was a bit of a treck form the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square!

Review of The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Say
Knoxville, TN
Nov 27, 2010

Nice stay

The room was small, but charming. Nice hardwood floors, pretty view, and comfortable bed. Only 10-15 channels, but we did have great free wi-fi. There was a nice music theme, without being overstated or "touristy." We had a delicious complimentary breakfast with fresh bagels and belgian waffles, cereal, and coffee. The hotel was close to good shopping and eateries, and a 20 minute drive from the airpot. We will probably stay here again on our next trip to San Fran!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fino's Italian Restaurant was delicious and had mid-priced dishes that didn't bust our budget. Try the pancetta and fungi pasta, with a delicious vodka marinara sauce.

Review of The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Say
Knoxville, TN
Nov 27, 2010

Nice stay

The room was small, but charming. Nice hardwood floors, pretty view, and comfortable bed. Only 10-15 channels, but we did have great free wi-fi. There was a nice music theme, without being overstated or "touristy." We had a delicious complimentary breakfast with fresh bagels and belgian waffles, cereal, and coffee. The hotel was close to good shopping and eateries, and a 20 minute drive from the airpot. We will probably stay here again on our next trip to San Fran!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fino's Italian Restaurant was delicious and had mid-priced dishes that didn't bust our budget. Try the pancetta and fungi pasta, with a delicious vodka marinara sauce.

Review of The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manchester, CT
Jun 27, 2010

Hotel California Review

We vacationed in San Francisco for a week and decided on this hotel. It was clean, in a nice location, and the staff were friendly enough. The rooms are somewhat small, but that is really the only complaint I have. For the price, the Hotel California did the job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manchester, CT
Jun 27, 2010

Hotel California Review

We vacationed in San Francisco for a week and decided on this hotel. It was clean, in a nice location, and the staff were friendly enough. The rooms are somewhat small, but that is really the only complaint I have. For the price, the Hotel California did the job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top