$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
495 Jefferson Street, At Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
123 reviews
Amazing

From the ment we stepped into valet to the front desk we loved every minute of it. The staff are... See full review

  • Shanesgirl
  • Jul 9, 2014
Ideal base for Bay City explorers

Excellent location for return trip with son (15) and husband (on first trip to sanF). My favourite... See full review

  • SueP50
  • Apr 19, 2014
Nautical-themed luxury in National Park at Fisherman's Wharf

In partnership with the San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park, the Kimpton-owned Argonaut Hotel makes its home in the circa-1907 Haslett Warehouse, next to the historic Cannery building. Decor here is all about a nautical theme -- compasses, sails, rigging and ship wheels. The maritime motif continues in the on-site restaurant, the Blue Mermaid Chowder House & Bar. Many guestrooms also feature views of Fisherman's Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge.

Highlights
  • San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park
  • Walk to Ghirardelli Square or The Presidio
  • Hosted evening wine hour
  • Spectacular views of the Golden Gate Bridge
  • Savory chowder at the on-site restaurant and bar
Rooms

The Argonaut's accommodations truly celebrate history. Many of the 252 rooms and 13 suites include original exposed brick walls, large timbers and warehouse steel doors. Other details, such as whitewashed furniture and Captain's-style desk chairs, pay homage to the waterfront's nautical past. All rooms come standard with coffeemakers, Sony WEGA flat-screen televisions, honor bars, Aveda bath products and laptop-sized safes. Six rooms feature extra-long beds and higher shower heads for taller guests. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Argonaut shares the Haslett Warehouse with the San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park's Visitor Center and Interactive Museum, which is dedicated to West Coast maritime history and the story of Fisherman's Wharf. The museum features a Farallon Island lighthouse lens and a shipwrecked boat. The adjacent Hyde Street Pier features a fleet of national historic landmark ships.

 

Inside the Argonaut itself, the on-site fitness center (open 24 hours) is complimentary. Spa services ranging from massage to facials and nail work are available in-room. The hotel also offers a hosted evening wine hour featuring local wines in the lobby area, known as the "Living Room."

 

The Blue Mermaid Chowder House & Bar -- the on-site restaurant -- serves casual fare and a hearty helping of Gold Era ambiance.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 miles)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 miles)
  • Cable car stops (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (1 mile)
Attractions
  • San Francisco Maritime National Park
  • Ghirardelli Square
  • Golden Gate Bridge
  • The Presidio
  • Alcatraz Island
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • AT&T Park
  • Golden Gate Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 9,000 square feet of meeting space in five flexible rooms
  • The column-free Golden Gate Ballroom, the largest meeting room at Fisherman's Wharf
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply); all hybrid vehicles receive a 25 percent discount.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room, one King Bed. 300 square feet, Bigelow bath amenities
King Room
King Room with a King bed, 300 square feet Bigelow bath amenities
Accessible Queen Queen Room
Accessible Queen Queen Room with two Queen beds
Accessible Queen/Queen Deluxe
Accessible Deluxe Room with two Queen beds
Acc QN/QN Bay Vw Roll in Shwr
Acc. QNQN Bay VW Rll Shwr
Queen/Queen Room
Queen/Queen Room 300 Square feet, Bigelow bath amenities
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room, with one king bed. 300 Square feet, Bigelow bath amenities.
QN/QN Deluxe Room
QN QN Deluxe Room with two Queen beds 300 Square feet Bigelow bath amenities
Bay View Queen Queen Room
Quee/Queen Bay View Room 300 Square feet Bigelow bath amenities
Bay View King Suite
Bay View King Suite 900 square feet Bigelow bath amenities
Acc King Deluxe Rm Roll in Showe
1 KG bd Roll in shower communication ftrs avail
Specialty Suite View
Specialty Suite View 900 Square feet Bigelow bath amenities
Acc.Queen Queen Bay View Room
Acc. Bay View Queen Queen Room 300 Square feet Bigelow bath amenities
One Queen Bed
One Queen Bed 200 Square feet Bigelow bath amenities
Accessible King Suite
Acc. King Suite with accessible King bed 650 Square feet Bigelow bath amenities.
King Suite
King Suite with one King bed 650 Square feet Bigelow bath amenities
Bay View King Room
Bay View King Room, one King Bed. 300 square feet, Bigelow bath amenities

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.8076 -122.4207
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 16.00, MI, S; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 48.00, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 21.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Hyde Street Pier: 0 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.1 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Lands End: 0.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.6 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 0.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.1 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Lands End: 0.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.6 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 0.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Union Square: 1.5 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.6 mi
  • Japantown: 1.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.6 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 2 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 2 mi

Dining

Blue Mermaid Chowder House and Bar
Located adjacent to the Argonaut Hotel on Fishermans Wharf the Blue Mermaid Chowder House and Bar is a classic San Francisco seafood restaurant serving casual fare and a large helping of Gold Rush Era ambiance Our Fishermans Wharf restaurant offers a menu

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (123)

Ratings and reviews for Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 21, 2010

Argonaut Hotel- San Franicsco

Had a GREAT experience at this hotel. Made our SF trip even better. First class service our entire time we were there. Our flight was delayed by 6 hrs, didn't get to hotel till 3am, was given an upgrade to a deluxe room. Rooms are spotless and very nicely decorated. Staff also very helpful with directions, recommendations, etc. Everyone had an upbeat positive attitude. Great location on the wharf. The fitness room is one of the better ones I have seen traveling. Would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Biking the Golden Gate Bridge is a must. Bike rental place is right next door to hotel. Also, seeing a SF Giants baseball game at AT&T park is a must. Best stadium in baseball.

Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sydney, Australia
Jun 1, 2010

Highly recommended

Our stay at this hotel was great. The staff were helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, and in a fantastic location. Would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sydney, Australia
Jun 1, 2010

Highly recommended

Our stay at this hotel was great. The staff were helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, and in a fantastic location. Would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mo Traveler
Seal Beach, CA
May 21, 2010

Classic San Francisco

Hotel has the vintage feel with it's original wood beams but has been currently renovated with a fresh, nautical feel. It is located near the Trolley Station which made it easy to get to downtown, or the F-train to get down to Pier 39. It's got local pick up stations for bus tours and the Golden Gate Bridge is just right outside the hotel's door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is located at the end of the "F" train line at Fisherman's Wharf, in a fantastic location near Ghirardelli Square, Trolley station and many great restaurants.

Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phoenix Bird
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 5, 2010

Location is not everything

We booked this hotel because of the great location at fisherman's wharf. Thought the theme was cute. However we had a bad check in staff member. We arrived at midnight on Friday. Called the hotel and no one answered and we did not see a valet anywhere in front of the lobby. Had to find parking on our own. The man who checked us in was very rude and was not helpful to us at all. In fact when We came into the hotel lobby another guest was not happy with him. Was charged with extra stuff at the 'honor bar' in the room... Kind of ironic. The cleaning staff checked off more than we took! We also asked for a late check out but the cleaning staff kept on knocking on the door! The water pressure in the showers were weak. And the walls and door were not noise proof at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phoenix Bird
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 5, 2010

Location is not everything

We booked this hotel because of the great location at fisherman's wharf. Thought the theme was cute. However we had a bad check in staff member. We arrived at midnight on Friday. Called the hotel and no one answered and we did not see a valet anywhere in front of the lobby. Had to find parking on our own. The man who checked us in was very rude and was not helpful to us at all. In fact when We came into the hotel lobby another guest was not happy with him. Was charged with extra stuff at the 'honor bar' in the room... Kind of ironic. The cleaning staff checked off more than we took! We also asked for a late check out but the cleaning staff kept on knocking on the door! The water pressure in the showers were weak. And the walls and door were not noise proof at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Riverside, Ca
Apr 1, 2010

You can hear..

First off, the location is fantastic, and offered for a reasonable price if booked with time. Right on the wharf, minutes away from all the main attractions. The trolley starts right behind the hotel, which is very nice. Upon arrival I noticed one thing, how snobbish people were, so be aware. The staff was very friendly however. Another thing is the walls were paper thin as in most cases. I woke up to some moaning at 4 am. Not cool. But overall the stay was nice and I reccomend the hotel. By the way we are a young couple in our early 20's maybe that's why they were so snobbish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Haight Street. You'll find some cool spots and shops.

Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Riverside, Ca
Apr 1, 2010

You can hear..

First off, the location is fantastic, and offered for a reasonable price if booked with time. Right on the wharf, minutes away from all the main attractions. The trolley starts right behind the hotel, which is very nice. Upon arrival I noticed one thing, how snobbish people were, so be aware. The staff was very friendly however. Another thing is the walls were paper thin as in most cases. I woke up to some moaning at 4 am. Not cool. But overall the stay was nice and I reccomend the hotel. By the way we are a young couple in our early 20's maybe that's why they were so snobbish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Haight Street. You'll find some cool spots and shops.

Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ada, OH
Mar 27, 2010

Excellence on the Bay

An excellent value steps away from the cable car service and the buzz of the wharf district. Traveled daily to Union Square via bus and cable car...25 minutes away +-. Staff is professional and the hotel itself is warm and modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ada, OH
Mar 27, 2010

Excellence on the Bay

An excellent value steps away from the cable car service and the buzz of the wharf district. Traveled daily to Union Square via bus and cable car...25 minutes away +-. Staff is professional and the hotel itself is warm and modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top