$271 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 495 Jefferson Street, At Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Metairie, Louisiana
Nov 23, 2009

Wonderful Anniversary Getaway

Very convenient to Fisherman's Wharf. All the staff were courteous and willing to assist. The doormen were excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mexican restaurant next to the hotel courtyard.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 17, 2009

Argonaut San Francisco

Beautiful hotel, excellent location. Walking distance to everything, cable car at the corner and you are right on the Warf!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dj Benny
Business
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Nov 16, 2009

Awesome location and great rooms

Very close to all restaurants in Fishermans wharf, ferry piers for cruises to Alcatraz and cable car transport. Hired a go car, which is a 3 wheeled car and did some sightseeing. The go car office was walking distance from the hotel. Walked down to pier 33 and got on a ferry to Alcatraz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Joe's Crab shack. A must for seafood lovers. About a 3 minute walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elvis37
Business
Chicago,IL
Nov 4, 2009

great location

Great hotel in the fisherman's wharf. We are nap people so it was really noisy because our room faced a courtyard where bands play in the afternoon. :( Is not luxurious but confortable and clean. great choice. I was expecting to have a flat screen tv in the room instead of a 1980 tv set.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gary Danko, great place for luxury dinning. Also city rentacar we rented a Mercedez SLK convertible they delivered to our hotel at no charge. Really fun drive to go to Monterrey and Carmel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
savvytrav
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 1, 2009

"Great location"

The hotel is in a great location at the end of Fisherman's Wharf. It is close to many major attractions and restaurants. Many tour companies are very close as well. The Argonaut has a nautical theme throughout which maybe over the top for some, but it is nicely done. The rooms are spacious, clean and modern. The hotel chain also makes a genuine effort to be earth friendly. Our minor criticisms are that the noise level in the rooms can be high as we could hear conversations in the adjoining rooms very clearly and that the TV always had a grainy picture, despite asking the staff to fix the problem. Otherwise, the staff is very courteous and helpful. The evening wine tastings were a very nice touch. The hotel is family and pet friendly as well. We would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tour companies to Sausalito and Muir woods are right around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Castro Valley, CA
Oct 19, 2009

Fabulous location for the price..

We were confronted by a very rude guest at check in, he had cut in front of us, in line. When the hotel staff realized how we were being treated, they upgraded us to a suite, which was nearly as large as our home. Very clean. Very nice. We live in the Bay Area and this was quite a treat for us to stay the night in San Francisco. We will stay here again but next time with the children in tow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to three different restaurants, all a very short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay WI
Oct 12, 2009

Very nice!

Everything was wonderful. One of the friendliest staffs I have ever dealt with. Will definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mayor Sutle
Business
Omaha NE
Sep 22, 2009

You Get What You Pay For

Fair price in an expensive city. Nothing spectacular. Good location and a nice, quiet room for being in such a crowded area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LoveSF
Business
Richmond, Va.
Sep 14, 2009

Amazing!

The hotel was absolutely perfect for us. It sits right by Fisherman's Wharf and is near TONS restaurants and activities. The service was excellent and every request we had was met. We were even allowed to check in early. The complimentary wine bar was also quite a nice way to meet some of the other guests staying at the hotel. Also, the bed at the Argonaut was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to book a trip to Alcatrez! The pier the cruise leaves from is so close, you can walk. Also check out the Winery Collective next door to the hotel if wine is your thing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Mill, SC
Sep 8, 2009

Location - Location - Location

This hotel was located in a perfect spot. The Service was good. The wine tasting in the afternoon was alot of fun. The only problem we had was with the noise...could not sleep at night with all the road noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top