$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 495 Jefferson Street, At Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Darcinda24
Business
Tampa FL
Jun 21, 2010

Wonderful!

We were welcomed right off the street. This was a very friendly hotel. The restaurant had a wonderful award winning soup...with dungenus crab and corn chowder which was incredible! Breakfast was great too, but as in all of S.F the food is wonderful but expensive. Wish there was a pool, but the beds were very comfortable with down pillows and comforter. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have never done it, take the sunset cruise with the red and white fleet. It was $52 pp, and they feed you a light supper buffet which was nice.Also, ride the cable car to the cable car museum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 21, 2010

Argonaut Hotel- San Franicsco

Had a GREAT experience at this hotel. Made our SF trip even better. First class service our entire time we were there. Our flight was delayed by 6 hrs, didn't get to hotel till 3am, was given an upgrade to a deluxe room. Rooms are spotless and very nicely decorated. Staff also very helpful with directions, recommendations, etc. Everyone had an upbeat positive attitude. Great location on the wharf. The fitness room is one of the better ones I have seen traveling. Would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Biking the Golden Gate Bridge is a must. Bike rental place is right next door to hotel. Also, seeing a SF Giants baseball game at AT&T park is a must. Best stadium in baseball.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sydney, Australia
Jun 1, 2010

Highly recommended

Our stay at this hotel was great. The staff were helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, and in a fantastic location. Would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mo Traveler
Business
Seal Beach, CA
May 21, 2010

Classic San Francisco

Hotel has the vintage feel with it's original wood beams but has been currently renovated with a fresh, nautical feel. It is located near the Trolley Station which made it easy to get to downtown, or the F-train to get down to Pier 39. It's got local pick up stations for bus tours and the Golden Gate Bridge is just right outside the hotel's door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is located at the end of the "F" train line at Fisherman's Wharf, in a fantastic location near Ghirardelli Square, Trolley station and many great restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phoenix Bird
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 5, 2010

Location is not everything

We booked this hotel because of the great location at fisherman's wharf. Thought the theme was cute. However we had a bad check in staff member. We arrived at midnight on Friday. Called the hotel and no one answered and we did not see a valet anywhere in front of the lobby. Had to find parking on our own. The man who checked us in was very rude and was not helpful to us at all. In fact when We came into the hotel lobby another guest was not happy with him. Was charged with extra stuff at the 'honor bar' in the room... Kind of ironic. The cleaning staff checked off more than we took! We also asked for a late check out but the cleaning staff kept on knocking on the door! The water pressure in the showers were weak. And the walls and door were not noise proof at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, Ca
Apr 1, 2010

You can hear..

First off, the location is fantastic, and offered for a reasonable price if booked with time. Right on the wharf, minutes away from all the main attractions. The trolley starts right behind the hotel, which is very nice. Upon arrival I noticed one thing, how snobbish people were, so be aware. The staff was very friendly however. Another thing is the walls were paper thin as in most cases. I woke up to some moaning at 4 am. Not cool. But overall the stay was nice and I reccomend the hotel. By the way we are a young couple in our early 20's maybe that's why they were so snobbish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Haight Street. You'll find some cool spots and shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ada, OH
Mar 27, 2010

Excellence on the Bay

An excellent value steps away from the cable car service and the buzz of the wharf district. Traveled daily to Union Square via bus and cable car...25 minutes away +-. Staff is professional and the hotel itself is warm and modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pollock Pines, Ca
Mar 11, 2010

Great location- excellent service!

Having grown up near SF we had a ball playing tourist. This hotel is so conveniently located to fun on the wharf, walking distance to Pier 39, cable cars and great restaurants. Kids loved hot chocolate in lobby too! Restful sleep and comfy beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Mar 8, 2010

"Excellent choice"

Everything was ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try the clam chowder anywere!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Liz from Miami
Business
Miami, Florida
Feb 18, 2010

Fantastic Birthday Trip!

I traveled for my birthday getaway. This is the second time I stay at the Argonaut. Fantastic service, spacious rooms and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top