$238 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 495 Jefferson Street, At Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SueP50
Business
Hampshire UK
Apr 19, 2014

Ideal base for Bay City explorers

Excellent location for return trip with son (15) and husband (on first trip to sanF). My favourite Kimpton of several - it really is an ideal spot to walk Pier 39, reach Alcatraz Landing (the night tour is truly awesome, we did this instead of day tour this time) and' bike the bridge'. With CityPasses we made the most of all types of transport, the fab De Young and CA Acaedemy of Science. 10 days (due to the long flight from UK) allowed us plenty of time to explore a district each day. The Argonaut has a spacious lobby and v well attended wine reception each day! Waterfront location with the bleachers and beach is a great reading spot when all walked out. Staff are excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You must book Alcatraz in advance... but do the night tour. Really eerie/atmospheric and the hospital was fascinating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JayMoe
Business
Seattle, Washington
Mar 17, 2014

Great mini vacation

I arrived at the Argonaut before check-in, which is at 3pm. Because I was in San Francisco for a short weekend trip, I was sad to waste even an hour of the time I had to explore the city. The hotel staff was very accommodating and held onto all my luggage so I could leave the hotel, and offered to bring it up to my room when I got back. I appreciated this so much! Waiting wouldn't have been all that bad, because the lounge area is nice and has self-serve cucumber water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cioppino's, which is across the street and down one block, is great for a close dinner! I was able to make reservations just 30 minutes in advance through Open Table and was seated right away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wanderer510
Business
California
Jan 27, 2014

Nice place

The only ding is the parking but it really is kind of expected due to the location so not a big deal. The rooms are nice and the location is great. The staff is friendly and helpful so no real complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Expected better
Business
Lemoore, CA 93245, USA
Jan 11, 2014

Great location!

Located within walking distance of the shops etc on the wharf. Comfortable room and nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great place to see and photograph the golden gate is Fort Point. There is a little pier there you can walk out on and have an unobstructed view of the Golden Gate Bridge. Great photo op.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sants Barbara Wildcat
Business
SB CA
Dec 26, 2013

Our Annual Christmas time visit for a couple days.

It would be nice to have Coffee service in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Achan254
Business
Arcadia, CA
Dec 19, 2013

Awesome quick getaway

This was an unplanned trip and a last min booking, the staff at the front desk was great and provided some last min late night dinning. Looking forward to our next stay here soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Road Warrior Chick
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 26, 2013

great location, atmosphere, and value

I was looking for a change of scenery after staying in Union Square for business all week, and while normally I stay away from the more touristy areas near Fisherman's Wharf, the Argonaut was perfect. Close to the best possible route for a run along Marina Green with a view of the Golden Gate bridge, lounging at the park at Fort Mason, sipping Irish Coffee at the Buena Vista, or catching a great meal across the street. The hotel has a lot of personality; rooms are nicely decorated, comfortable and clean, main lobby is a nice place to relax, and staff was very friendly and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yippee adventures
Business
California
Nov 20, 2013

Fisherman's wharf, Exploratorium, great restaurants, yippeeee

We love staying here with the kids! There's so much to do and there's a park right next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lulu super wife
Business
Ireland
Sep 22, 2013

Couples retreat

Really enjoyed our stay here,! Staff so helpful, friendly & efficient! Hotel was very comfortable & clean, with a lovely warm atmosphere! Superb location & in walking distance from all amenities. Overall we had a fantastic stay & can't wait for our next visit !! :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Numerous attractions like Alcatraz, Bay Cruises, Bus tours, and night bus tours, all highly recommended

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annie Tierra
Business
Columbus, OH
May 20, 2013

Comfort, Quality and great Location all in one

The Argonaut is a unique hotel, in the perfect location on fisherman's wharf, close to so many wonderful sights. Staff were always helpful, professional and courteous. King room was very comfortable and spacious enough but not huge. Complementary Happy Hour wine and beer were a nice touch. While our stay was so very short, we were so very glad we selected the Argonaut. Wish we could have had more time to enjoy some of the other amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the attached restaurant is great and I would recommend sitting out on the patio on a lovely sunny day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top