$245 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 495 Jefferson Street, At Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kcald3
Placerville, California
Aug 6, 2012

Great Place to Stay in Fisherman's Wharf

This is a fabulous hotel. I always stay here when I come to the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hmmmmmm
Business
Reno, NV
Apr 11, 2011

Nice room, bad view.....

Check-in was nice and fast, room was nice, bed was comfy, the view was horrible, wine happy hour was a nice touch, great location, wish it was a doggie friendly hotel....with all that considered I'd stay there again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Mar 21, 2011

Perfect Hotel

The Argonaut Hotel is always a perfect place to stay, quiet, a competent staff, there are just no negatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rufus's Dad
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Mar 18, 2011

Outstanding stay!

This was a wonderful stay for our vacation. The hotel is beautiful and rooms are quiet. The location is easily accessible to everything. We were walking distance to some great restaurants in North Beach. We hope to return to the Argonaut!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the Fisherman's Wharf traps and head to North Beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rufus's Dad
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Mar 18, 2011

Outstanding stay!

This was a wonderful stay for our vacation. The hotel is beautiful and rooms are quiet. The location is easily accessible to everything. We were walking distance to some great restaurants in North Beach. We hope to return to the Argonaut!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the Fisherman's Wharf traps and head to North Beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 13, 2011

nice hotel in a very good location

The hotel is in a good location. We walked along the street to pier 39 and got on the ferries to Alcatraz and Sausalito on the two different days. The hotel is very nice with queen size beds. We're really enjoy the Fisherman Wharf. It's one of the best place in USA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Think of seafood -- Scoma's for old-fashioned restaurant. Kara's cupcakes is a must try, it's at Ghirardelli square (five minutes from the hotel).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 2, 2011

Anniversary trip

The Argonaut was a great hotel with excellent service. We chose the upgraded room with view. Review on website said "bay view" not even a glimpse of the bay - it overlooked a courtyard that was very pretty but that was disappointing. Room was very clean with plenty of space. Security seemed very good and we felt safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of dining close to the hotel with good food - when you get tired of seafood there are lots of other options or get a MUNI pass and go anywhere in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Sailor
Business
Seattle WA.
Dec 9, 2010

Wonderful Place

Wonderful place. Loved the nautical theme. Great location. Will go back at the first opportunity. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 5, 2010

The Argonaut

We saw a show, took some tours and visited wine country. No, it was a great hotel. The hotel was better than most hotels we've stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Oct 18, 2010

First Timers

Overall the hotel is generally nice, but I took the advice of the valet and self parked my car in a garage around the corner only to not have access to my car the next morning when I really needed it. Big Problem. Location is convenient to the tourist traps i.e. Fisherman's Wharf and junk stores but easy to hop on the trolley and see the rest of what San Francisco has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont buy the all day pass for the trolley unless you have a real plan of utilizing, just buy the one way ticket.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ventura, CA
Jul 30, 2010

great place for a family vacation

Really fun place to vacation with teen and preteen kids. The hotel service was terrific. We arrived early and they checked us in and stored our luggage. The staff was very helpful in telling us how to get tickets to Alcatraz (it is usually sold out days or weeks in advance). The cable cars were a lot of fun, as was exploring Chinatown and the Bay cruise. The Hop on Hop Off tour is terrific. We got to drive over Golden Gate Bridge and go to other places in San Francisco that we wouldn't have known how to get to. We just jumped off the bus explored the area and waited for the next bus (a bus goes by approx. every 20 minutes).I would highly recommend the Hop on Hop off tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase your Alcatraz tickets online before you go. Through the assistance of a hotel employee, we got lucky and were able to buy tickets. But you might not be so lucky.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top