$228 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
495 Jefferson Street, At Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
122 reviews
Ideal base for Bay City explorers

Excellent location for return trip with son (15) and husband (on first trip to sanF). My favourite... See full review

  • SueP50
  • Apr 19, 2014
Great mini vacation

I arrived at the Argonaut before check-in, which is at 3pm. Because I was in San Francisco for a... See full review

  • JayMoe
  • Mar 17, 2014
Nautical-themed luxury in National Park at Fisherman's Wharf

In partnership with the San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park, the Kimpton-owned Argonaut Hotel makes its home in the circa-1907 Haslett Warehouse, next to the historic Cannery building. Decor here is all about a nautical theme -- compasses, sails, rigging and ship wheels. The maritime motif continues in the on-site restaurant, the Blue Mermaid Chowder House & Bar. Many guestrooms also feature views of Fisherman's Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge.

Highlights
  • San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park
  • Walk to Ghirardelli Square or The Presidio
  • Hosted evening wine hour
  • Spectacular views of the Golden Gate Bridge
  • Savory chowder at the on-site restaurant and bar
Rooms

The Argonaut's accommodations truly celebrate history. Many of the 252 rooms and 13 suites include original exposed brick walls, large timbers and warehouse steel doors. Other details, such as whitewashed furniture and Captain's-style desk chairs, pay homage to the waterfront's nautical past. All rooms come standard with coffeemakers, Sony WEGA flat-screen televisions, honor bars, Aveda bath products and laptop-sized safes. Six rooms feature extra-long beds and higher shower heads for taller guests. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Argonaut shares the Haslett Warehouse with the San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park's Visitor Center and Interactive Museum, which is dedicated to West Coast maritime history and the story of Fisherman's Wharf. The museum features a Farallon Island lighthouse lens and a shipwrecked boat. The adjacent Hyde Street Pier features a fleet of national historic landmark ships.

 

Inside the Argonaut itself, the on-site fitness center (open 24 hours) is complimentary. Spa services ranging from massage to facials and nail work are available in-room. The hotel also offers a hosted evening wine hour featuring local wines in the lobby area, known as the "Living Room."

 

The Blue Mermaid Chowder House & Bar -- the on-site restaurant -- serves casual fare and a hearty helping of Gold Era ambiance.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 miles)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 miles)
  • Cable car stops (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (1 mile)
Attractions
  • San Francisco Maritime National Park
  • Ghirardelli Square
  • Golden Gate Bridge
  • The Presidio
  • Alcatraz Island
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • AT&T Park
  • Golden Gate Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 9,000 square feet of meeting space in five flexible rooms
  • The column-free Golden Gate Ballroom, the largest meeting room at Fisherman's Wharf
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply); all hybrid vehicles receive a 25 percent discount.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.8076 -122.4207
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 16.00, MI, S; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 48.00, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 21.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room, one King Bed. 300 square feet, Bigelow bath amenities
King Room
King Room with a King bed, 300 square feet Bigelow bath amenities
Accessible Queen Queen Room
Accessible Queen Queen Room with two Queen beds
Accessible Queen/Queen Deluxe
Accessible Deluxe Room with two Queen beds
Acc QN/QN Bay Vw Roll in Shwr
Acc. QNQN Bay VW Rll Shwr
Queen/Queen Room
Queen/Queen Room 300 Square feet, Bigelow bath amenities
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room, with one king bed. 300 Square feet, Bigelow bath amenities.
QN/QN Deluxe Room
QN QN Deluxe Room with two Queen beds 300 Square feet Bigelow bath amenities
Bay View Queen Queen Room
Quee/Queen Bay View Room 300 Square feet Bigelow bath amenities
Bay View King Suite
Bay View King Suite 900 square feet Bigelow bath amenities
Acc King Deluxe Rm Roll in Showe
1 KG bd Roll in shower communication ftrs avail
Specialty Suite View
Specialty Suite View 900 Square feet Bigelow bath amenities
Acc.Queen Queen Bay View Room
Acc. Bay View Queen Queen Room 300 Square feet Bigelow bath amenities
One Queen Bed
One Queen Bed 200 Square feet Bigelow bath amenities
Accessible King Suite
Acc. King Suite with accessible King bed 650 Square feet Bigelow bath amenities.
King Suite
King Suite with one King bed 650 Square feet Bigelow bath amenities
Bay View King Room
Bay View King Room, one King Bed. 300 square feet, Bigelow bath amenities

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Hyde Street Pier: 0 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.1 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Lands End: 0.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.6 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 0.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.1 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 0.5 mi
  • Lands End: 0.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 0.6 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 0.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Union Square: 1.5 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.6 mi
  • Japantown: 1.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.6 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.9 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 2 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 2 mi

Dining

Blue Mermaid Chowder House and Bar
Located adjacent to the Argonaut Hotel on Fishermans Wharf the Blue Mermaid Chowder House and Bar is a classic San Francisco seafood restaurant serving casual fare and a large helping of Gold Rush Era ambiance Our Fishermans Wharf restaurant offers a menu

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Minnesota Dad
Business
Minneapolis, MInnesota
Apr 4, 2013

Disappointing

Good location, but unfortunately it is currently in the middle of a construction zone making parking and access very difficult. Valet service took from 30 minutes to over an hour to retreive car each time. Price for this "prompt" service is $46 per day. The staff was friendly, but there was just not enough of them to keep things moving. The hotel is unique and the rooms are clean, but just not what I have come to expect from a Kimpton property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Roseburg, OR
Aug 4, 2009

SMALL room, NOISY cable car.

Outside of the tiny, noisy room, we had a great time seeing the sites of San Fran. Ear plugs made the room quiet enough to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Encinitas, CA
May 31, 2011

Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Hotel has an excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans, LA
Oct 18, 2010

First Timers

Overall the hotel is generally nice, but I took the advice of the valet and self parked my car in a garage around the corner only to not have access to my car the next morning when I really needed it. Big Problem. Location is convenient to the tourist traps i.e. Fisherman's Wharf and junk stores but easy to hop on the trolley and see the rest of what San Francisco has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont buy the all day pass for the trolley unless you have a real plan of utilizing, just buy the one way ticket.

Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Encinitas, CA
May 31, 2011

Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Hotel has an excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Roseburg, OR
Aug 4, 2009

SMALL room, NOISY cable car.

Outside of the tiny, noisy room, we had a great time seeing the sites of San Fran. Ear plugs made the room quiet enough to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phoenix Bird
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 5, 2010

Location is not everything

We booked this hotel because of the great location at fisherman's wharf. Thought the theme was cute. However we had a bad check in staff member. We arrived at midnight on Friday. Called the hotel and no one answered and we did not see a valet anywhere in front of the lobby. Had to find parking on our own. The man who checked us in was very rude and was not helpful to us at all. In fact when We came into the hotel lobby another guest was not happy with him. Was charged with extra stuff at the 'honor bar' in the room... Kind of ironic. The cleaning staff checked off more than we took! We also asked for a late check out but the cleaning staff kept on knocking on the door! The water pressure in the showers were weak. And the walls and door were not noise proof at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stieglitz
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Funky hotel, but uneven staff

It's a Kimpton, which means it's post-modern and fun. Great location almost directly across from Fisherman's wharf. We had a long, narrow deluxe room with bricks on the wall, a tiny bathroom and a nautical theme throughout. But when we wanted to have a drink on the restaurant/bar patio at 4 pm, when there were 3 empty tables for two, we were asked to go inside since diners might want the table. That was a first for us! And when we pulled up to check in, the doorman never came to our car until we got out and said "we're checking in". And all this for almost $500 a night?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ghiradelli Square is a few blocks away, but not what it once was. Save yourself the walk.

Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stieglitz
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Funky hotel, but uneven staff

It's a Kimpton, which means it's post-modern and fun. Great location almost directly across from Fisherman's wharf. We had a long, narrow deluxe room with bricks on the wall, a tiny bathroom and a nautical theme throughout. But when we wanted to have a drink on the restaurant/bar patio at 4 pm, when there were 3 empty tables for two, we were asked to go inside since diners might want the table. That was a first for us! And when we pulled up to check in, the doorman never came to our car until we got out and said "we're checking in". And all this for almost $500 a night?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ghiradelli Square is a few blocks away, but not what it once was. Save yourself the walk.

Review of Argonaut, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans, LA
Oct 18, 2010

First Timers

Overall the hotel is generally nice, but I took the advice of the valet and self parked my car in a garage around the corner only to not have access to my car the next morning when I really needed it. Big Problem. Location is convenient to the tourist traps i.e. Fisherman's Wharf and junk stores but easy to hop on the trolley and see the rest of what San Francisco has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont buy the all day pass for the trolley unless you have a real plan of utilizing, just buy the one way ticket.

Back to menu Return to top