$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Andrews Hotel

3 stars
624 Post St., San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
77 reviews
Just What We Wanted

This is a lovely cute hotel which is unlike all of the faceless chain establishments which could be... See full review

  • SylvieH
  • Feb 23, 2014
Nice hotel!

Friendly and great location. Free breakfast and wine. See full review

  • Marybethhhhhh
  • Feb 15, 2014
The Andrews Hotel is a charming, European-style hotel centrally located in San Francisco's renowned theater and shopping districts. Our small size -- just 48 guestrooms -- allows our friendly and courteous front desk staff to give you individual attention. Citysearch Voted the Andrews hotel 'Best hotel staff' 2006.

The building at 624 Post Street was completed in 1905 just before the great earthquake on April 18, 1906. Because it was built as a Class a structure, completely supported by a steel frame, it suffered little damage. However, the fire that engulfed the city after the quake did some damage to the lobby and restaurant.

After being repaired the following November for $38,000, the building assumed its planned role as the Sultan Turkish Baths, a gentlemen's bath and relaxation establishment. The large electric sign on the roof announced its arrival on Post Street. As a full service business, the Sultan Baths featured a restaurant on the ground floor. The next level housed a salt-water plunge, tiled hot room, and a rubbing room. On the third floor one could find a barber, chiropodist, and a bar and lounge. The fourth and fifth floors featured small sleeping rooms and a steam room. Finally, on floors six and seven, one could rent one of several small apartments, each containing a bedroom and a parlor. Rumor has it that, at one time, the establishment had a rather unsavory reputation.

Valet parking is $34 + 15.5% tax for regular and $46 + 15.5% tax for oversized vehicle. Please be advised that valet parking fees will be higher on New Year Eve ( fees to be announced in December). Parking fees are subject to change without notice.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Andrews Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Andrews Hotel Rooms

Cozy Double
The bedding option for this room includes 1 double bed with stall shower bathroom, a writing desk, a flat screen LCD television, down comforters, MP3 compatible radio alarm clocks, ceiling fan, fresh flower's and a centrally controlled radiator for our cool San Francisco evenings. The rooms face the back of the building overlooking a parking lot surrounded by apartment building with great sunlight or they reside on the interior of the property, making them very quiet rooms and all rooms are non smoking. Note - rollaway beds are only available for use in suites due to space limitations.
Comfy Queen
The bedding option for this room includes 1 queen bed with stall shower bathroom, a writing desk, a flat screen LCD television, down comforters, MP3 compatible radio alarm clocks, ceiling fan, fresh flower's and a centrally controlled radiator for our cool San Francisco evenings. The rooms face the back of the building overlooking a parking lot surrounded by apartment building with great sunlight or they reside on the interior of the property, making them very quiet rooms and all rooms are non smoking. Note - rollaway beds are only available for use in suites due to space limitations.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.9 mi

Dining

Fino Bar & Ristorante
Located adjacent to the lobby, Fino Bar & Ristorante is a popular gathering place among locals and visitors alike. Fino's highly praised menu features many finely prepared Italian classics along with an assortment of innovative weekly specials and nightly fresh fish. Fino also has a very extensive wine list that compliments the menu's variety of entrees.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Andrews Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 77
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fabiana12
Business
mexico city
Jul 22, 2014

Great Holiday!

Andrews hotel location was excellent; near cable car, union square where you can take sightseeing buses. Excellent restaurantes around including El Fino which is part of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cable car

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GiulianaM
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 23, 2014

Very good

Good location, easy to get public transportation. Clean room. Worth the price! The only thing I didn't like: they have water, but the bottle has broken and they did not replace it. Please.... In general, very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traceylt
Business
Auckland, New Zealand
Feb 19, 2014

Shabby chic or just shabby?

I stayed here for a couple of nights, with my daughter. The location is great ... handy to Union Square & public transport, though the street itself is not particularly attractive. The hotel is rather 'quaint'. The reception area is kind of cute in a shabby-chic-British-B&B-Fawlty-Towers décor kind of way ... there's a couch and (awful) coffee facilities, and the reception staff are personable. The Italian restaurant off reception is busy and engaging staff. Our room was on the 2nd floor at the front of the hotel, but we weren't bothered by street noise, nor were we aware of other guests the lift (elevator) or stairs. The room itself was SMALL! Luckily we had no cat with us, as there wouldn't have been room to swing it. The iron bedstead is - again - chabby chic, but a little disconcerting, nevertheless. (I felt like I was staying in a 19th century hospital bed.) There was a small desk/dressing table and a chair as well as the bed crammed in. Whilst the bathroom was clean and the paint not peeling, it did need freshening up. Given the smallness of the room, it was lucky there was a walk-in closet (beneath the hotel staircase) off the bathroom, where we could not only store our suitcase but actually open it without having to put it on the bed. Happily, the room fee included wifi; it also included continental breakfast, (laid out on a table in the hallway). I'd rate the croissants/brioche/pastries as edible/average - but as expected in US hotels. Despite all this, given the outrageous prices of hotels in San Francisco, the Andrews is still worth a look if you: * want to be close to the centre of the Union Square area (which we found great for getting public transport, especially with a 3-day bus/cable-car/trolley pass), * don't want to pay an arm and a leg for SF accommodation * don't expect space, or décor that's less than 50 years old. I'd describe it as more shabby than chic, but the reception staff were pleasant enough, the breakfast edible, and the room adequate for our needs. If you are on a budget and know what to expect of your accommodation here, it's worth a look...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a travel pass, to allow you unlimited travel on buses, trolleys and cable-cars. A 3-day pass cost us ~$28 each; we bought it at the kiosk on the corner of Market & Powell Streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Israel
May 10, 2010

recommended

Nice hotel near Union. Best value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grafton, WI
Jul 24, 2008

Old World coziness

My daughter and I found our room very cozy. The bed was so comfortable with a very fluffy coverlet. After a long day of sightseeing it was wonderful to collapse in that soft bed. A Continental breakfast was set up on each floor. It consisted of sweet rolls, bagels, muffins, fruit, very good coffee, and juice. I really liked it being on each floor so I could slip out of my room, in my P.J.s, grab my breakfast and be back in my room without seeing anyone. The location of the Andrews Hotel was perfect for sight seeing. It was quite close to Knob Hill and Chinatown. My daughter and I walked everywhere, even Fisherman's Wharf,which was about a 40 minute walk. If you are not up to walking buses,Trollies and, the subway are all conveniently located. On the first floor of the Andrews there is a nice Italian resturant. Many other resturants, in a variety of cuisines, can be found near by. We loved our stay and would recommend it to anyone. If I ever have the opportunity to go back to San Francisco I will definitly stay at the Andrews Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

We took a bus tour which picked us up and dropped us off at the Andrews Hotel. It included the Golden Gate Bridge, the small seaside town of Salsalito, and Muir Woods. Muir Woods was a beautiful, peaceful walk through a forest of giant redwood trees.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top