$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Andrews Hotel

3 stars
624 Post St., San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
74 reviews
Just What We Wanted

This is a lovely cute hotel which is unlike all of the faceless chain establishments which could be... See full review

  • SylvieH
  • Feb 23, 2014
Nice hotel!

Friendly and great location. Free breakfast and wine. See full review

  • Marybethhhhhh
  • Feb 15, 2014
The Andrews Hotel is a charming, European-style hotel centrally located in San Francisco's renowned theater and shopping districts. Our small size -- just 48 guestrooms -- allows our friendly and courteous front desk staff to give you individual attention. Citysearch Voted the Andrews hotel 'Best hotel staff' 2006.

The building at 624 Post Street was completed in 1905 just before the great earthquake on April 18, 1906. Because it was built as a Class a structure, completely supported by a steel frame, it suffered little damage. However, the fire that engulfed the city after the quake did some damage to the lobby and restaurant.

After being repaired the following November for $38,000, the building assumed its planned role as the Sultan Turkish Baths, a gentlemen's bath and relaxation establishment. The large electric sign on the roof announced its arrival on Post Street. As a full service business, the Sultan Baths featured a restaurant on the ground floor. The next level housed a salt-water plunge, tiled hot room, and a rubbing room. On the third floor one could find a barber, chiropodist, and a bar and lounge. The fourth and fifth floors featured small sleeping rooms and a steam room. Finally, on floors six and seven, one could rent one of several small apartments, each containing a bedroom and a parlor. Rumor has it that, at one time, the establishment had a rather unsavory reputation.

Valet parking is $34 + 15.5% tax for regular and $46 + 15.5% tax for oversized vehicle. Please be advised that valet parking fees will be higher on New Year Eve ( fees to be announced in December). Parking fees are subject to change without notice.

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4123
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport
Area description
The Andrews Hotel is centrally located near Union Square and the theater district; there are six theatres within an easy two block walk, while stores and restaurants abound. Our receptionists know the city well and strive to make your visit to San Francisco memorable. Personal assistance in planning any detail of your stay -- whether it be making restaurant reservations, reserving theater tickets, booking sightseeing tours, car rentals or airport shuttle service -- is always available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Andrews Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Andrews Hotel Rooms

Cozy Double
The bedding option for this room includes 1 double bed with stall shower bathroom, a writing desk, a flat screen LCD television, down comforters, MP3 compatible radio alarm clocks, ceiling fan, fresh flower's and a centrally controlled radiator for our cool San Francisco evenings. The rooms face the back of the building overlooking a parking lot surrounded by apartment building with great sunlight or they reside on the interior of the property, making them very quiet rooms and all rooms are non smoking. Note - rollaway beds are only available for use in suites due to space limitations.
Comfy Queen
The bedding option for this room includes 1 queen bed with stall shower bathroom, a writing desk, a flat screen LCD television, down comforters, MP3 compatible radio alarm clocks, ceiling fan, fresh flower's and a centrally controlled radiator for our cool San Francisco evenings. The rooms face the back of the building overlooking a parking lot surrounded by apartment building with great sunlight or they reside on the interior of the property, making them very quiet rooms and all rooms are non smoking. Note - rollaway beds are only available for use in suites due to space limitations.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi

Dining

Fino Bar & Ristorante
Located adjacent to the lobby, Fino Bar & Ristorante is a popular gathering place among locals and visitors alike. Fino's highly praised menu features many finely prepared Italian classics along with an assortment of innovative weekly specials and nightly fresh fish. Fino also has a very extensive wine list that compliments the menu's variety of entrees.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Andrews Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frequent traveler couple
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Sep 1, 2013

Couple holiday

Too small room and bathroom. A tall person (my husband) doesn't fit the bathroom. The sink all scratched. The price as high as other better hotels. One very gentle man at the reception(Frank), the others not gentle at all. Not comfort for 4 nights stay. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square has a very nice Italian Café, with small meals ( good salads and sandwiches) and good FREE WIFI.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gadgetstan
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 27, 2011

A crime just waiting to happen!

I did not stay...the neighborhood scared me away, a charge for parking...that was in the fine print..my mistake...try to get a refund....that was not going to happen.... the safety of my car was the main problem..the hotel is in the worst part of the city...bums and garbage everywhere...could not get refund because I did not cancel 40 hrs before... well I flew in and picked up rental car, then headed to hotel....Comfort Inn is couple miles away and has secure parking... Im afraid I will not be using Cheaptickets any more either....there are to many other booking agencies that protect the customer from stuff like this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jesyoung
los angeles, california
Aug 2, 2012

GREAT LOCATION, NOT SO GREAT HOTEL

The hotel is located in an area that is walkable to practically anywhere in the city. The hotel also offers a free breakfast of pastries, coffee, fruit, tea, and orange juice which is delicious. However, the bed sheets/pillow cases were stained, and there were other furniture that was sticky or dirty. The bathroom and bedroom was extremely small. Some of the front desk people are very nice and some are borderline rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ILDarrell
Taylorville, IL
Jun 13, 2012

Cozy

The room was quite small and no A/C. I know it's SF but it happened to be hot the weekend we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the public transportation. We purchased 3 day passes and were able to use bus, streetcar, trolley and train.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
california
Jun 13, 2010

I've experienced better

[...]our room was the size of a walk in closet at best, with our neighbors practically in our room. We could hear everything....peeing, flushing, conversation, everything. Then the alleyway gave way to a nice 3am concerto of yelling, swearing, crying, bottles breaking. We didn't get any sleep.The staff is cordial and helped us get a different room. The free continental breakfast is a nice touch, but it didn't make up for our not-so-pleasant experience.The beds are "Euro" size or something because their "full" was an oversized twin, and their "queen" felt like a "full." [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traceylt
Auckland, New Zealand
Feb 19, 2014

Shabby chic or just shabby?

I stayed here for a couple of nights, with my daughter. The location is great ... handy to Union Square & public transport, though the street itself is not particularly attractive. The hotel is rather 'quaint'. The reception area is kind of cute in a shabby-chic-British-B&B-Fawlty-Towers décor kind of way ... there's a couch and (awful) coffee facilities, and the reception staff are personable. The Italian restaurant off reception is busy and engaging staff. Our room was on the 2nd floor at the front of the hotel, but we weren't bothered by street noise, nor were we aware of other guests the lift (elevator) or stairs. The room itself was SMALL! Luckily we had no cat with us, as there wouldn't have been room to swing it. The iron bedstead is - again - chabby chic, but a little disconcerting, nevertheless. (I felt like I was staying in a 19th century hospital bed.) There was a small desk/dressing table and a chair as well as the bed crammed in. Whilst the bathroom was clean and the paint not peeling, it did need freshening up. Given the smallness of the room, it was lucky there was a walk-in closet (beneath the hotel staircase) off the bathroom, where we could not only store our suitcase but actually open it without having to put it on the bed. Happily, the room fee included wifi; it also included continental breakfast, (laid out on a table in the hallway). I'd rate the croissants/brioche/pastries as edible/average - but as expected in US hotels. Despite all this, given the outrageous prices of hotels in San Francisco, the Andrews is still worth a look if you: * want to be close to the centre of the Union Square area (which we found great for getting public transport, especially with a 3-day bus/cable-car/trolley pass), * don't want to pay an arm and a leg for SF accommodation * don't expect space, or décor that's less than 50 years old. I'd describe it as more shabby than chic, but the reception staff were pleasant enough, the breakfast edible, and the room adequate for our needs. If you are on a budget and know what to expect of your accommodation here, it's worth a look...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a travel pass, to allow you unlimited travel on buses, trolleys and cable-cars. A 3-day pass cost us ~$28 each; we bought it at the kiosk on the corner of Market & Powell Streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pikachu19
Champaign, IL, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Great Location, disappointing stay

We picked this hotel because of its great location, however, the stay wasn't at all comfortable. The room for 2 is very small. The bathroom is even smaller. There is no place to even stand straight inside the bathroom, let alone dress. The bed covers seemed like they haven't been washed in quite a while. The carpet was musty and definitely needed cleaning. The room was depressing in general. There was complimentary breakfast which consisted just of inferior quality coffee, pastry and rolls. I would not recommend this place to stay, since I have seen better in the similar price range and in the same location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Gatos, CA
May 9, 2011

Nice, downtown hotel

the place was nice and cozy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beatrice
Business
Ventura County
Aug 27, 2011

Good basic accommodations

This is not a luxury hotel or even a standard modern chain. The rooms are dated, though there have been attempts to update the decor. I spent 4 nights attending a conference in San Francisco. The room was clean, and since it was not on the street, it was very quiet. The bathroom was very tight. The toilet and tub/shower were too close together and the towels practically hung in your face as you used the toilet. I would not recommend the room for 2 people unless you were dedicated to saving money. But for one person, it was fine. The staff at the front desk was very helpful. The continental breakfast buffet was conveniently located on each floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Polevaulter
Chicago
Jun 12, 2013

Great for SF's CBD

Breakfast fruit, coffee and juice and scrumptious pastries are in your hall to be taken into your (small) room) BUT it works well. Mary and Niles are helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Italian restaurant PLUS Le Colonial next door: both tops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search