$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Andrews Hotel

3 stars
624 Post St., San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
113 reviews
Just What We Wanted

This is a lovely cute hotel which is unlike all of the faceless chain establishments which could be... See full review

  • SylvieH
  • Feb 23, 2014
Nice hotel!

Friendly and great location. Free breakfast and wine. See full review

  • Marybethhhhhh
  • Feb 15, 2014
The Andrews Hotel is a charming, European-style hotel centrally located in San Francisco's renowned theater and shopping districts. Our small size -- just 48 guestrooms -- allows our friendly and courteous front desk staff to give you individual attention. Citysearch Voted the Andrews hotel 'Best hotel staff' 2006.

The building at 624 Post Street was completed in 1905 just before the great earthquake on April 18, 1906. Because it was built as a Class a structure, completely supported by a steel frame, it suffered little damage. However, the fire that engulfed the city after the quake did some damage to the lobby and restaurant.

After being repaired the following November for $38,000, the building assumed its planned role as the Sultan Turkish Baths, a gentlemen's bath and relaxation establishment. The large electric sign on the roof announced its arrival on Post Street. As a full service business, the Sultan Baths featured a restaurant on the ground floor. The next level housed a salt-water plunge, tiled hot room, and a rubbing room. On the third floor one could find a barber, chiropodist, and a bar and lounge. The fourth and fifth floors featured small sleeping rooms and a steam room. Finally, on floors six and seven, one could rent one of several small apartments, each containing a bedroom and a parlor. Rumor has it that, at one time, the establishment had a rather unsavory reputation.

Valet parking is $34 + 15.5% tax for regular and $46 + 15.5% tax for oversized vehicle. Please be advised that valet parking fees will be higher on New Year Eve ( fees to be announced in December). Parking fees are subject to change without notice.

Andrews Hotel Rooms

Cozy Double
The bedding option for this room includes 1 double bed with stall shower bathroom, a writing desk, a flat screen LCD television, down comforters, MP3 compatible radio alarm clocks, ceiling fan, fresh flower's and a centrally controlled radiator for our cool San Francisco evenings. The rooms face the back of the building overlooking a parking lot surrounded by apartment building with great sunlight or they reside on the interior of the property, making them very quiet rooms and all rooms are non smoking. Note - rollaway beds are only available for use in suites due to space limitations.
Comfy Queen
The bedding option for this room includes 1 queen bed with stall shower bathroom, a writing desk, a flat screen LCD television, down comforters, MP3 compatible radio alarm clocks, ceiling fan, fresh flower's and a centrally controlled radiator for our cool San Francisco evenings. The rooms face the back of the building overlooking a parking lot surrounded by apartment building with great sunlight or they reside on the interior of the property, making them very quiet rooms and all rooms are non smoking. Note - rollaway beds are only available for use in suites due to space limitations.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Andrews Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4123
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport
Area description
The Andrews Hotel is centrally located near Union Square and the theater district; there are six theatres within an easy two block walk, while stores and restaurants abound. Our receptionists know the city well and strive to make your visit to San Francisco memorable. Personal assistance in planning any detail of your stay -- whether it be making restaurant reservations, reserving theater tickets, booking sightseeing tours, car rentals or airport shuttle service -- is always available.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi

Dining

Fino Bar & Ristorante
Located adjacent to the lobby, Fino Bar & Ristorante is a popular gathering place among locals and visitors alike. Fino's highly praised menu features many finely prepared Italian classics along with an assortment of innovative weekly specials and nightly fresh fish. Fino also has a very extensive wine list that compliments the menu's variety of entrees.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Andrews Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 113
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
4.5

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marybethhhhhh
San Jose, California
Feb 15, 2014

Nice hotel!

Friendly and great location. Free breakfast and wine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tassie Devil
ex Perth, Australia
Dec 4, 2013

Andrews Hotel

Excellent Boutique Hotel. Only criticism is that the shower volume and height could be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David of Hawaii
Honolulu, Hawaii
Oct 29, 2012

Awesome Place to Stay, Love it

Great Place to stay, The whole staff made it even better. Breakfast in the hallway everymoring on every floor. The cleaning staff was like family, easy to talk too and they smiled alot too. I would go back again soon. My favorite place as of my last stay. Anytime I wanted to go somewhere I ask them and they would tell me how to get there, and even what bus to take.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Few Blocks from Union Square and all shopping.

Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
French tourist
Paris
Aug 27, 2012

That's ok

Had a very enjoyable stay at Andrews hotel. Great location, room was very clean and the front staff was very friendly. Slightly overpriced for my taste, but I guess proximity from Union Square is a premium. Will definetly consider coming on my next trip to SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MAGICJ
San Francisco, CA, USA
Nov 21, 2011

The Truth

I was close to choosing some other hotels I had never been to or had confidence in their services. The Andrews came up as a last choice but the reviews were good. I hope this synopsis of my queen comfy room will help you. Let me start by saying that I would stay here again. Price Versus Comfort are excellent. 1. you will get a clean room, bath / shower, small flat screen television, dvd player, alarm clock, iron and hair dryer and ceiling fan. 2. The room is clean 3. The location is good for Union Square 4. THe complimentary Breakfast is good ( fresh fruit, breads, coffee and juice) 5. THe Fino Restaurant is great food and great staff 6. THe elevator is small and older with a retracting gate but it works and is quaint 7. THe stairwell from floor to floor is tight and steep so if you are older or physically challenged the elevator is your way 8. Easy to find off of Post street 9. Neighborhood is just fine THe one negative I had was an unexpected 50.00 a day deposit for the room charged upon arrival. I had not known about this and at a four day stay, this was 200.00 extra dollars I had to spend up front. You are credited during checkout but knowing about this earlier would have helped me prepare. If I come into a great amount of money then I would stay at the JW Marriott, Hyatt or Westin, but for a good price, in a good location you won't beat the Andrews. I will stay here again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
operalover
New Jersey
Jun 27, 2011

Great value for the money!

Excellent and very helpful staff. Great continental breakfast available on the floor where you're staying. Convenient location but neighborhood is sinking fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lori's and Sears are both closeby for wonderful breakfast. Hotel restaurant Fino is very good Italian and Thai across the street is excellent.

Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ask09
Seattle, WA
Apr 12, 2011

Quaint

Downtown location, within short walking distance from Grace Cathedral. Clean room, very comfortable bed, unique feel of an old building. Others have commented that it is great value for the price. Although, I am not sure I would agree. My room didn't have any windows that you could actually see out of and was very small, you can hear everything next room or outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ask09
Seattle, WA
Apr 12, 2011

Quaint

Downtown location, within short walking distance from Grace Cathedral. Clean room, very comfortable bed, unique feel of an old building. Others have commented that it is great value for the price. Although, I am not sure I would agree. My room didn't have any windows that you could actually see out of and was very small, you can hear everything next room or outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grannie, Miss Daisy
Santa Barbara, CA
Dec 29, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price.

The Staff was very friendly. The hotel is very old and needs some updating. I was gone most of the time during the day. The complimentary wine hour was a nice feature. I probably won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Union Square.

Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grannie, Miss Daisy
Santa Barbara, CA
Dec 29, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price.

The Staff was very friendly. The hotel is very old and needs some updating. I was gone most of the time during the day. The complimentary wine hour was a nice feature. I probably won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Union Square.

Back to menu Return to top