$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 17, 2014 Check-out: Nov 20, 2014

Andrews Hotel

3 stars
624 Post St., San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
75 reviews
Just What We Wanted

This is a lovely cute hotel which is unlike all of the faceless chain establishments which could be... See full review

  • SylvieH
  • Feb 23, 2014
Nice hotel!

Friendly and great location. Free breakfast and wine. See full review

  • Marybethhhhhh
  • Feb 15, 2014
The Andrews Hotel is a charming, European-style hotel centrally located in San Francisco's renowned theater and shopping districts. Our small size -- just 48 guestrooms -- allows our friendly and courteous front desk staff to give you individual attention. Citysearch Voted the Andrews hotel 'Best hotel staff' 2006.

The building at 624 Post Street was completed in 1905 just before the great earthquake on April 18, 1906. Because it was built as a Class a structure, completely supported by a steel frame, it suffered little damage. However, the fire that engulfed the city after the quake did some damage to the lobby and restaurant.

After being repaired the following November for $38,000, the building assumed its planned role as the Sultan Turkish Baths, a gentlemen's bath and relaxation establishment. The large electric sign on the roof announced its arrival on Post Street. As a full service business, the Sultan Baths featured a restaurant on the ground floor. The next level housed a salt-water plunge, tiled hot room, and a rubbing room. On the third floor one could find a barber, chiropodist, and a bar and lounge. The fourth and fifth floors featured small sleeping rooms and a steam room. Finally, on floors six and seven, one could rent one of several small apartments, each containing a bedroom and a parlor. Rumor has it that, at one time, the establishment had a rather unsavory reputation.

Valet parking is $34 + 15.5% tax for regular and $46 + 15.5% tax for oversized vehicle. Please be advised that valet parking fees will be higher on New Year Eve ( fees to be announced in December). Parking fees are subject to change without notice.

Hotel Map

37.788 -122.4123
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport
Area description
The Andrews Hotel is centrally located near Union Square and the theater district; there are six theatres within an easy two block walk, while stores and restaurants abound. Our receptionists know the city well and strive to make your visit to San Francisco memorable. Personal assistance in planning any detail of your stay -- whether it be making restaurant reservations, reserving theater tickets, booking sightseeing tours, car rentals or airport shuttle service -- is always available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Andrews Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Andrews Hotel Rooms

Cozy Double
The bedding option for this room includes 1 double bed with stall shower bathroom, a writing desk, a flat screen LCD television, down comforters, MP3 compatible radio alarm clocks, ceiling fan, fresh flower's and a centrally controlled radiator for our cool San Francisco evenings. The rooms face the back of the building overlooking a parking lot surrounded by apartment building with great sunlight or they reside on the interior of the property, making them very quiet rooms and all rooms are non smoking. Note - rollaway beds are only available for use in suites due to space limitations.
Comfy Queen
The bedding option for this room includes 1 queen bed with stall shower bathroom, a writing desk, a flat screen LCD television, down comforters, MP3 compatible radio alarm clocks, ceiling fan, fresh flower's and a centrally controlled radiator for our cool San Francisco evenings. The rooms face the back of the building overlooking a parking lot surrounded by apartment building with great sunlight or they reside on the interior of the property, making them very quiet rooms and all rooms are non smoking. Note - rollaway beds are only available for use in suites due to space limitations.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi

Dining

Fino Bar & Ristorante
Located adjacent to the lobby, Fino Bar & Ristorante is a popular gathering place among locals and visitors alike. Fino's highly praised menu features many finely prepared Italian classics along with an assortment of innovative weekly specials and nightly fresh fish. Fino also has a very extensive wine list that compliments the menu's variety of entrees.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Andrews Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Nov 20, 2009

understated, wonderfully located hotel

We took the stairs every day even though the historic, charming elevator was available. Charming hotel. There is something reassuring about a building that withstood the 1906 Earthquake and Fire - rumored to be the only building on that street to do so. Fabulous location near Potrio and Le Colonial restaurants. Take advantage of the Happy Hour specials at great restaurants like Morton's and have quality puu puus. We enjoyed a corner room with five windows, two of which are bay windows. Small but adequate rooms. Friendly staff. Only wish the cream pot was refilled more often during the gratis breakfast buffet on each floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The in hotel Italian restaurant El Fino is wonderful. Great Zabaglione!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bonfire Queen
Business
Berks County, PA
Oct 29, 2009

Great little hotel

Continental breakfast provided in hallway just outside our room. Wonderful idea, so convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Our First Lady, Michelle Obama and some family members recently dined at the hotel's restaurant, Fino.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Sep 7, 2009

Get What You Pay For

Room size was sufficient but bathroom was way too small and not clean. Shower was extremely small and water did not drain well. Linen was very nice. TV,dvd, and refrigerator were available. Location was very great. Room was good for overnight or short stay. Staff was friendly and accommodating. All considered, I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cable Car connection was just 2 blocks east and no hilly streets to climb to get there. If you are going to change cable cars get an all day ticket-it's more economical.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
RENO, NV
Sep 2, 2009

COMFORTABLE ROOM & GREAT LOCATION

THE HOTEL WAS VERY RELAXING.QUAINT ROOM AND COMFORTABLE BED. COFFEE & DANISHES OUTSIDEYOUR ROOM IN THE MORNING.VERY GOOD LOCATION.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
May 25, 2009

What happened?

I'd love to be able to tell you, but can't. Our reservation was "lost" somewhere between Orbitz and Andrews Hotel staff. The Andrews and Orbitz staff members we worked with after the fact were very helpful, but we had to book at a more expensive location. We did receive a credit for the cost difference which was very helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Don't eat in the hotels...there's great food, much less costly around every corner in San Francisco!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix,AZ
May 20, 2009

What a charming hotel!

This was a charming hotel. The people were very friendly,efficient and helpful. It was a Victorian style building with small rooms, but had all the amenities! The continental breakfast was set up in the hall and had fresh fruit, coffee, and pastries to be carried to your room on wooden trays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Centennial
Oct 18, 2008

Great Boutique Hotel

The Andrews Hotel is a nice small boutique hotel in the Union Square area. The location is great and near a variety of transportation. It is also near many theaters and a variety of restaurants from expensive to good hole in the wall. Our room was on the street side which made it fairly noisy. It was also quite warm and we were there in very warm weather. There was a ceiling fan and you could open windows. The bed was too soft for our taste. The room was nicely decorated and roomy with extra chairs in front of the bay windows. The bathroom was small but the closest area was nice and roomy. The complimentary water and sodas were appreciated. I would recommend this to any one visiting San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A variety of restaurants are within a few blocks. The Farallon is an upscale seafood restaurant. The Fino is an Italian restaurant that is part of the hotel. Th Shalamar is a good hole in the wall Indian restaurant. Dottie's is good for breakfast and Punzu is an Asian Fusion restaurant. All are good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh
Sep 20, 2008

Enjoyable

We found the location good, the restaurant very nice, the mini suite a good size,the breakfast pasteries tasty. We used valet parking, very reasonable and efficient. The street noise is very loud (louder than my husbands snoring!)if you are in the front of the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grafton, WI
Jul 24, 2008

Old World coziness

My daughter and I found our room very cozy. The bed was so comfortable with a very fluffy coverlet. After a long day of sightseeing it was wonderful to collapse in that soft bed. A Continental breakfast was set up on each floor. It consisted of sweet rolls, bagels, muffins, fruit, very good coffee, and juice. I really liked it being on each floor so I could slip out of my room, in my P.J.s, grab my breakfast and be back in my room without seeing anyone. The location of the Andrews Hotel was perfect for sight seeing. It was quite close to Knob Hill and Chinatown. My daughter and I walked everywhere, even Fisherman's Wharf,which was about a 40 minute walk. If you are not up to walking buses,Trollies and, the subway are all conveniently located. On the first floor of the Andrews there is a nice Italian resturant. Many other resturants, in a variety of cuisines, can be found near by. We loved our stay and would recommend it to anyone. If I ever have the opportunity to go back to San Francisco I will definitly stay at the Andrews Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

We took a bus tour which picked us up and dropped us off at the Andrews Hotel. It included the Golden Gate Bridge, the small seaside town of Salsalito, and Muir Woods. Muir Woods was a beautiful, peaceful walk through a forest of giant redwood trees.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Andrews Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stockhoolm
Jul 18, 2008

Great friendly small hotel

The Andrews hotell was a great small hotel with a friendly staff and a nice restaurant. Every day we could enjoy a complimentary glas of wine in the bar of the restaurant. We liked the fact that it was close to Union Square and all public transport. Just a short walk to China town and a litle longer but OK walk to North Beach and Fishermans wharf. It was easy to reach the hotel both by car and public transport and there was a convinient valet parking sevice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a couple of blocks away there were all the shops you would need.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top